We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit as Good as the First”

Pescaderia San Carlos
Ranked #26 of 369 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A true hidden gem, with friendly owners, live music, and fresh fish. Excellent hosts, reasonable prices and delicious food.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Second Visit as Good as the First”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We "discovered" this place on a Cozumel Chef's tour and ordered exactly the same thing that we had with Chef Emily. We started with the ceviche, if you go there, you must get this. It's simple, fresh and delicious. We then when to the cooler and picked a nice grouper that is flash fried and brought to the table with a delicious cole slaw, pico de gayo & tortillas to make fish tacos. While there, the owner, Carlos serenaded us with song. We got to know him a little and find him to be an interesting person with a business philosophy of keeping it simple and staying within yourself. He's carved out a nice living with this family run business. The only negative comment I have is they don't make a good margarita. If you are in Cozumel, seek out this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    53
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fish lovers unite!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place is a must if you like fresh fish. It is a small restaurant with a limited menu that is amazing. They greet you with homemade ceviche and a smile. They have fresh fish fillets offered up usually as fried, garlic, butter or just natural. The rest of the menu contains several types of ceviche and fish soup. They have expanded the menu to include chicken now for people who are not fish lovers. I tried the garlic shrimp this time and fell in love. Best meal I had all week and we ended up having lunch here three times during a ten day stay. The owner is usually there and makes the rounds to get to know everyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifth Ward, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moe Joes anniversary”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Picked out fish they were going to cook. Great friendly and prompt service. Authentic Mexican seafood. Cold beer and personal service from the owner. Family friendly but a little warm. Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We tried to go for an early lunch since the pictures of the building showed that they opened at 7am, but only the fish market was open (the restaurant didn't open until 11am). We came back later and had a great lunch. The complimentary civiche was excellent, as was the whole fried grouper, which was served with warm tortillas, a lime-flavored slaw and rice. A large lunch for two, including drinks, was under $30. The waiter was very attentive and spoke enough English (his English was better than my Spanish). The seating is outdoors but covered, and was surprisingly cool given how hot it was outside. A cab ride from Punta Langosta is only about $6 USD, and it's definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zhecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We like to get out of the tourist zones when we travel. Without TA we'd have never found this spot! It is not an impossible walk from downtown but it was a hot day so we opted for a cab ride, about $5 each way. The restaurant is on the rustic side but very clean. everyone was extremely friendly. The service was prompt and food was fresh, cheap and well prepared. We had heard the ceviche was good but opted to split a bowl of the seafood soup instead. Luckily a small dish of ceviche came out in lieu of the more normal salsa, so we got the best of both worlds. The ceviche was great and the soup was out of this world, chock full of shrimp and nice chunks of fish. For our meals I had a spicy shrimp dish (8 large shrimp) and my wife had a very large fish fillet in garlic sauce. Both were delicious, and at 120 pesos (about $10) each, a bargain. It was one of my favorite meals of the trip and it is a sure bet if I return to Cozumel I will go back to Pescadaria San Carlos.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pescaderia San Carlos also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pescaderia San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing