We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Villas El Encanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas El Encanto
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in the luxury suite with private pool, which was screened by plants and the building to provide privacy from the other villas. Everything about the villas was rustic and homey, whilst having all the mod-cons that you would expect. However, what really set it apart was the service - from sorting out very good deals for snorkelling etc, to free bikes, to great local knowledge it seemed like nothing was to much trouble. The location is great, five minutes walk from town centre, and it makes a fantastic base for exporing/diving etc, especially as you have a kitchen and bbq so you can save money by not eating out every night (there are two large supermarkets within 5 minutes walk as well).

Although we had a private pool (great for cooling off) the bigger shared pool was also really nice, as were the other communal areas.

Cant really think of any negatives about the place - the mosquitos were annoying (we went after a week of storms, so apparently worse than usual outside of the wet season), but all the doors/windows of the villa were netted so a little care (and a can of bug-spray) kept them at bay.

If i am ever in Cozumel again this is where i will stay without a doubt! Thanks Ana!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavInnLightbulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    20
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
60
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Perfect location, across the Street from the main square Where all the best restaurants are located.
2 blocks from the beach, Very reasonable price. Makes You feel at home, No shoes,No shirts, No Problem.

thank You for a wonderful Weekend.
p.s. learned how To sing across the street at the Awesome Karaoke!
Try the Lobster Pizza at Edelyns.

Room Tip: Flamingo Room, or in the back by the Patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonny_boy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Villas are great- the hosts and employees are super. Really great people. The first floor apartment was ours for about 11 days. The kitchen area is small, but we found it to be sufficient for us. We cooked many of our meals there. As has been said- the peacocks and dogs (at times) can be noisy for people who are light sleepers (me- my wife had less issues with it). I think the rooms further from the main house would be much quieter, but they don't have kitchens either. The owners are so nice in fact they let us use their brick, wood-fired oven for cooking the tuna and mahi-mahi we caught while fishing. They have good local connections for diving and fishing trips as well as transportation and all things Cozumel really. One downside was the beds were not very comfortable (one in the bedroom one in the living area). We ended up sleeping in the living room on the smaller of the beds and we purchased an 'egg crate" foam mattress pad at the store and all was fine. That was the only downside to the whole place. The pool and common area is wonderful and the people are the best. We would consider staying there if we hit Cozumel again (so many places so little money!).

Room Tip: earplugs. and pre-checking the room prior to settling on it might be a good idea (bed check).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nosh1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at the Villas El Encanto with our two sons for two nights at the end of April. We stayed in the upper apartment, which had two rooms, one with a double bed and the other with two single beds. When we first arrived, I was a little apprehensive about what the quality of the accommodation would be like as the garden area appeared a bit ramshackle, but our apartment was modern, clean and spacious. Plus there was a lovely hammock on the balcony. The owner and her nephew, who greeted us when we arrived, were very friendly and helpful, sharing information on local grocery stores, recommendations for beaches, etc. There was a lovely little pool in the garden that was perfect for our boys, As with the rooms, it was modern and clean. Some of the downsides: 1) the kitchen area is immediately inside the door to the apartment and has limited counter and storage space. Also, the only table in the apartment is on the balcony and only has two chairs. There is however a larger table with 4+ chairs on the patio area next to the pool. As we were only there for two days, this arrangement was fine for us but might be problematic for a group of 4 people who intend to cook three meals a day there. 2) the peacocks. Despite being absolutely beautiful, totally enthralling to our boys, and adding to the quirky allure of the place, they were also pretty loud, particularly early in the morning. Being a heavy sleeper, I didn't hear them at all, but my husband, who is a light sleeper, was awoken by them both days.

Room Tip: I would advise anyone with young children (5 or under) not stay in the upper apartment. The railing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cspindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We enjoyed so much our stay at Villas El Encanto.
Staff is very friendly and diligent. Apartments are spacious, charming and clean. The tropical garden is wonderful including two beautiful peacocks. Even though the villa is in the city, the place is very quiet and not too far from supermarkets, restaurants, dive centers, etc. Down side is that they don’t have a private beach for the people who care for that (we don’t) If you are looking for a real local experience, with friendly people in a place with character, you will enjoy it very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjyatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We just returned from spending 4 days and 3 nights at Villas El Encanto Cozumel. We where looking forward to spending time away for the noise of a resort and were not disappointed. We arrived at the and where greeted like family. No rush to check in and no worries about having to supply a credit card. When we got there we where taken on a short tour of the resort and everything was explained so we felt like we where at home.

Communication as great before arriving as we did everything online Alvaro made sure that all my questions where answered.

Ana was around a few times a day just to check on things and to make sure that we where comfortable. The staff at the hotel where also great, with the rooms always clean

We had the honeymoon suit with a private pool, that was fantastic, there is nothing better than taking a dip in the pool during the day or a late night dip.

The morning of day 1 we awoke to the sound of birds and not the noise of a resort of 2000 people it was totally relaxing. The shared kitchen as also good we could have something on hand for breakfast or a shack, before heading off to town on foot. Your only a couple blocks from the grocery store and a short walk from restaurants and shopping.

The morning we left both Ana and Alvaro where there to see us off and offered great advice about transportation on the mainland. They made sure that we had a great vacation and Ana gave my spouse a gift of earnings out of her shop.

If your looking for a vacation away from the noise and congestion of a resort this is the place to stay.

Will be back again.

Room Tip: If you can get the honeymoon suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJMikla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent 9 days at El Encanto. Our experience was better than we could have imagined. Ana and Alvaro are fantastic hosts, very helpful when you need them but very respectful of everyone's privacy. The room was beautiful, clean and the housekeeper fantastic. The garden is a lush jungle and the common areas are wonderful. Would recommend to anyone. A very private, romantic place.

Room Tip: The buildings are laid out for maximum privacy. You can't go wrong with any room. The shared k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.8 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Encanto

Property: Villas El Encanto
Address: Calle 21 sur no. 44 | corner Av. 5, Cozumel 77663, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Encanto 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villas “El Encanto”, a new concept of lodging, the ideal place to relax and feel like at home. Villas “El Encanto” is a family business, personally attended by the owners. Inspired by the Mexican minimalist architecture, surrounded by tropical gardens and jungle, only one block from the Caribbean Sea, three blocks from the commercial area of the island of Cozumel and 5 minutes from de International Airport. An ideal refuge to harmonize, rest, and relax your mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Villas El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing