We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodation in Cozumel!”
Review of Hostelito Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostelito Cozumel
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Cozumel is an expensive city that caters to cruise ship passengers and weathy (mainly American) tourists. That's why I was so happy to find Hostelito, conveniently located in the center of town near the port and all the action. They have several very cheap dorm options, but as they weren't air-conditioned I opted for a double room on my own. It had A/C, small TV, a fridge and hot shower. I booked on-line in advance and paid $25 per night (I was on my own, but the rate might be the same for two people). Normally they charge $35 per night, but perhaps because it was in July, which isn't there high season, they discounted the room. I think it's a cute place, with a shady area to relax, tables, hammocks, a common cooking area which can be used by everyone. Lots of young people were staying in the large dorm for a very cheap price and seemed quite satisfied. The staff was friendly and helpful. I asked about the reported bedbug problem and they told me that they have never had any problems with bugs in their regular rooms, only in the dorms and they said they fumigate regularly. I would recommend this place to any budget traveler. Their website is www.hostelito.com.mx and phone number is 987.869.8157.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, take the private room instead of the dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelitoCozumel, Gerente at Hostelito Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

hello janet . we are glad to here about you , Hostelito is specialized to meet their needs in shelter and comfortable rest, so we are grateful for your time and trust. thank you very much for staying with us and we hope in the future with the same services and much better, for future travel. thank you very much for your visit to and for you staying in Hostelito

hostelito staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

I go to Cozumel every 4 weeks to work Friday and Saturday and keep Sunday for pleasure. I already stated two times at the Hostelito first time one night and second two nights; and from my experience it is an excellent place to stay either for work ( least probable ) or for vacation. I get the private apartment with fridge, small stove, kitchen utensils so I can go to the supermarket and cut on the restaurant bills to spend it in snorkeling and scuba diving. The place is clean, front desk guy is very friendly, at night there's a mister that does his rounds and checks everything is ok. What I pay for the apartment in Hostelito gets my money's worth. Cable TV, air conditioner and a balcony ( at least in the one I usually stay in). Oh almost forgot to tell. It is practically two blocks away from the ferry dock and the main street where the stores, bars and restaurants are which is very convenient for me. If you're on a budget and look for some place clean and comfortable give it a try. PS I already booked for next month so if you don't get the apartment with balcony probably is because I'm stayin in it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angiologo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed in a private room because I had spent the past 2 months in dorm rooms and needed some quality sleep. I was upgraded to a junior suite for a lesser price that had A/C, cable TV, and a kitchen. The general hostel had a pretty cool setup with the kitchen outside but covered. The desk staff and owner were very nice to me and helped me when asked. Like where and how much to pay for a scooter rental. They also let me practice my Spanish a bit on them and never asked for the payment that I was paying per day. All in all a good place that I highly recommend to travelers to stay. Cheers!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_lover087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I just stayed at Hostelito from June 20-23 2012. Major bed bug problem, got hundreds of bites and my clothes and bag were infested. I had no problems before arriving to this hostel. The hostel is very dirty which is surprising because there is nearly no one staying there. I had to pay over $80 for a doctors visit and meds. When I asked the manager for a refund, he said the owner will not refund my money, he will only upgrade me to one of the private rooms (no thanks!). Apparently everyone in town knows this place has bed bugs - the dive shops, pharmacies, other hostels etc. I can't understand how it is legal for them to continue to operate in this condition.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

CigarSteve:


We would like to respond your bed bug issue comment. We have 2 kinds of services in "Hostelito" (Hotel + Hostal) and the bed bug issue is occured time by time just in the Hostal (main dorm) which has been remodelated. We also are certificated by exterminator expert that comes to Hostelito at least once a week.

Bed Bugs do not naturally occur on the island, as you are aware there is a growing problem in the turism hospitality industry of any category. It could be that another guest introduces the bugs into the room unknowingly in their luggage or clothes. Either way the rest of the guests had no complains.

About the main doorm, it was in low occupation because of the season.

We regret any inconvenience that we have may caused you moreover the last day which was the triggered of the protest. But as a guest you have been for consecutive years deserve to know that the room you stayed is a common area with 26 beds, that service includes a locker with pathlock so you can get your luggage safe, linens, showers, common kitchen with amenities, Wi-Fi, sundeck, hammacs, safe-box and security guard by nights. You definitely get what you pay for and the product and services for your 12 dlls per night did get your money worth.

Thanks for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This place was horrible. Five of us stayed in a 6-person dorm, and at first we were very pleased with the room, which had a tv, ensuite, and kitchen, and seemed more like a hotel room than a hostel. However, we soon noticed how absolutely disgusting it was and were completely turned off. There was dirt all over the floor, the kitchen was awful, and there was so much hair and muck in the shower drain (which we complained about to the manager, who didn't care at all). The bedsheets were ripped and of questionable cleanliness, and to top it all off they were infested with bed bugs! This place is NOT worth it, no matter how cheap it is. I'd recommend spending a little extra and staying somewhere half-way decent!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaquinrivero, Gerente at Hostelito Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Hello Heather

We are just updating or profile on Trip Advisor to take care of our clients reviews, your opinion is very important to us and we are gratfull for you to take time to let us know about your experience...

We asure you this was one time mistake on house keeping matter, and we currently do sanitary inspections and work on keep the best standard profile our clients in Hostelito cozumel deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Quite a decent hostel here, but I stayed in a 3 person room - The dorm looked questionable, with 26 beds & 1 bathroom, but I didn't stay there so I have no right to comment I suppose.

The location is very central to town, there is a good kitchen to cook in & the staff were decent.

All in all, not a bad hostel at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here! I got feasted upon by bed bugs...totalling around 40 bites (also requiring an expensive trip to the hospital/pharmacy) This has really ruined my trip as I now look (and feel) like a leper so I hope this post will help save someone else the misfortune. What's more, we were required to pay for this hell......

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndoccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joaquinrivero, General Manager at Hostelito Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear ndoccy

All the Hospitality industry in Cozumel and all over the world are exposed to this kind of matters, Bed bugs are really a situation that concern us and we definitlly work constantly to take action about any issue we may have.

The reactions to bed bugs are presented according to the type of travelers often by the skin type , some people are very sencibles and are more likely to be bitten.

Customers came at any time and the may carri on this bugs by not showering or keep dirty clothes, carry old books and bugs even get into luggage bags, shoes and basicly anything that travels with them. That has nothing to do with cleanliness or quality of service provided to them.

We carried out regular inspections and fumigation on the premises,
In the most respectful manner appreciate your comments and it's have been taken in the matter because our principles and ethics is to satisfied our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beds Friends Hostel
Beds Friends Hostel
#1 of 47 in Cozumel
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amigos Hostel Cozumel
Amigos Hostel Cozumel
#6 of 47 in Cozumel
148 reviews
0 mi away
2Tank Dive Hostel Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelito Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelito Cozumel

Address: #42 10 Th. Avenue between Juarez and 2 nd. Street, Cozumel 0.777, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range: £7 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelito Cozumel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostelito is located in downtown Cozumel, only two blocks away from the ocean and the main entrance to the Island, the local pier. From our affordable and clean hostel, it's only a short walk to San Miguel Historical Church and the Main Plaza where most of the restaurants, bars, banks, dive shops, and all kind of services are located.Información GeneralOur hostel is ideal for the budget conscious traveler, who is looking for comfortable, clean, spacious, and well located accommodations. Hostelito has 26 beds in a dorm, with separate showers and hot water all day. Each bed has its own extra big locker with its own padlock, in the dorm which is an open space area with plenty of ventilation.We provide 24 hours front desk service, and luggage storage room. All of our new orthopedic beds come with clean linens, sheets, and pillows. In our lobby you will find books for reading, wireless internet, cable TV. We have common kitchen totally full equipped, sundeck roof, hammocks where you can relaxing and chill out. For our guests looking for privacy, we offer a group room, for groups from 4 to 9 people, with their own locker, private bathroom, fridge and A/C. We also offer private single or double rooms with two beds, closet, private bathroom, fridge, A/C and cable TV. Jr.suite room with 1 double bed, interior kitchen, cable TV, A/C and private shower. Suite whit a bedroom, private shower, living room, interior kitchen, A/C and private balcony. . Safety box service at reception.Cozumel heaven on earth gives you a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostelito Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing