We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Cozumel memorable Vacations”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Ottawa Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love Cozumel memorable Vacations”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We visited the Allegro 2 times this year. My Husband and I alone and then with a group of 26 family and friends. We had a great time both times. The staff was always pleasant and worked hard to make everyone happy. The food was very good for a 4* AI resort. We had the tastes of Mexico at every meal and snacked on chips and guacamole between meals. I must mention it as did many other reviewers, the beds are hard and need to be replaced. They hang a hammock on your porch and that may have been a better choice for a good nights sleep.
For a fun time away from the resort we walked up the beach to Mr.Sancho's for $12 the kids played on the inflatables in the ocean and for $40 us ladies took the cooking lessons. We had a blast cooking and mixing our own margaritas. Well worth the price the meal was great and we had enough to take back to the guys. The mango margaritas we tasty and we drank our fill.
I tried to plan a group snorkeling trip in advance and I was disappointed that the resort or the Nolitour rep were not very accommodating. We didn't even get to travel in the same boat.
The reason I would not visit this resort again would be the lack of entertainment at night. There is no lounge/piano bar or bands at night. I quite enjoy that during the supper hours at other resorts. We went to the shows and then to the disco but there was a need for more entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyMom3275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    1,494
    831
    460
    361
See reviews for
1,574
1,349
110
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

wasnt what i expected but this was only my 2nd vacation ever.not much going on but i was there during the low season(mid-september).dive shop was great,staff was very nice,food was ok,my room was smaller than i anticipated but it was only me so it did the job.more guests showed up later in the week and i had a great time and mae many new friends.i went on 8 dives and they were all spectacular.i am willing to give them a 2nd try during the high season.

Room Tip: sorry cant help
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff are extremely nice and accomadating. Close to dive shop and awesome Dive instructors/Masters. We have been here as a family four (4) times. Priced right for the vacation you long. Kids stuff is plentiful and neat things going on all the time. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay extra to be away from entertainment if possible. It gets loud and rightfully so when the shows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Egypt, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was our first time at Allegro, we traveled mid August with our family of 5. We stayed in a two bedroom, 2 bath right on the beach. It was absolutely beautiful and spacious. Bedrooms were large with built in closets and plenty of drawer space.
Bathrooms were very clean and double sink was nice. Think our rooms must have been renovated not too long ago. Air conditioner was more than adequate. We had 2nd floor thatched roof, bird noise was minimal and it only rained one hour one day so I cant speak of any water coming thru the roof. We loved the rooms. Maid service was exceptional.
Beach was great, no drink service on beach but beach bar was steps away with Sergio or Alberto happy to make us whatever we wanted.
Resorts was probably 10% at capacity.
Watersports included kayaks and windsurfers. My boys would have like to try paddle boards but they were not available although they were mentioned in hotel advertisement.
We did not use the pools, main pool looked ok, kiddie pool looked rather dirty. Small pool near the beach was like 95 degrees but we were there for the beach so we did not care about pools.
Rope course was closed, again my boys were disappointed.
Due to low number of guests we were told ala carte restaurants were closed and that buffet would be ala carter. The food was ok, nothing to get excited about but the five of us always found something and never went hungry. There were times during the day when no food was available, 1030-12, 4-6, and after 930. We would have liked to be able to get snacks then as we were traveling with teenage boys who are always hungry! We did enjoy our time away from resorts ordering fresh, made to order mexican food.
Have Padi dive shop on resort was great. Our three kids got scuba certified. Everyone at shop was extremely helpful and took such good care of us. Lee was awesome!
We did not do any excursions thru resort, we were not bothered about time shares...weird but true!
We had some snacks and drinks in the first club, very nice. Think it is overpriced since that was all that first club offered, no other resorts or perks that we could find except one computer for first club members to use free.
Food staff was exceptional, very friendly and helpful. Drink staff was amazing, and I already mentioned how happy we were with housekeeping.
My family intends to return to the Allegro, it was a wonderful week. We did spent a lot of time with diving and plan to do that again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Old filthy place with discusting food an staff that demand a tip no matter if they deserve it or not.
Do a little research and pick a hotel that is NOT AI.
There are very good places to eat and free beaches with far better snorkling.
Also don't waste you money on group scuba/snorkling trips, they just rush everyone an you barly see anything.

Room Tip: Downstairs ONLY, upstairs are open to weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krusty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Social Media Coordinator at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Krusty K,

Thank you for your comments. We truly value guest feedback. I am so sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing stay with us. Please know that our housekeeping and maintenance teams work hard to keep the resort fresh and clean. I will share your comment about the food with our Executive Chef who always appreciates guest feedback. It does surprise me to read your comments about our staff as they are dedicated to serving guests and usually receive great feedback. I have met with them to share your comments.

I truly apologize for the experience you had with the scuba/snorkeling trip. These trips are offered by a thirdy party agency, with whom I have shared your feedback. We are world-famous for our beautiful coral reefs and marine scenery. So, I am so sorry to hear that your did not get to immerse yourself in this underwater world. I sincerely apologize that your stay with us fell so short of your expectations. I hope you will stay with us again so you can experience the service, hospitality and aquatic beauty we are known for. Sincerely,
Sandra Alcázar- Social Media Coordinator for Occidental Hotels & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Warrenville, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have been going to Allegro Cozumel since 1994. Many things have changed over the years. Some for the good some not so good. The quality of the drinks in the common areas has gone down over the years as they have added their FIRST CLUB where the liquor is of higher quality for a high upgrade fee. The grounds, beach and surroundings are great and the staff members are all very attentive. The shows at night are not as good as years ago but they do have something happening every evening. I just wish there was a bit bigger budget to restore the evening entertainment to the fun nights it used to be. If you are looking for a GREAT place for the family or for a couple this place is very affordable and if you are a diver or love snorkeling, you cannot beat it. We will come back every year til we can no longer travel! Would recommend it to anyone looking for a laid back vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We've been coming to Allegro Cozumel for years and it feels like our second home as we're greeting by staff who recognize us and welcome us back. We continue to see updates and improvements in the rooms and grounds. It's laid back and relaxing. The food in the specialty restaurants is very good, buffets are plentiful but just OK...I think I'm not a buffet kind of person though. Of course the hotel is not the newest and sometimes things don't work quite well...what is impressive is the speed and efficiency that they are fixed when you bring something to their attention. They want you to be satisfied with your stay and it shows. The pier is convenient for divers and snorkelers to launch their day of adventure. The beach is so relaxing and we sleep like babies in the comfortable rooms. So it corny to have a towel animal on your bed left by the pleasant housekeeping staff but for some reason its still makes me smile. Writing this review makes me want to go back now!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a peaked thatched roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
9.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
7.7 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
12.9 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Property: Allegro Cozumel
Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Barcelo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing