We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay~”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent 9 days in Allegro. I would choose this again over all the multitude of places we have stayed in Cozumel. I was a little worried reading past reviews but my complaints are very few.
I thought the food was quite good. I managed to gain 3 pounds in 9 days. It speaks for itself. The morning omelets are a masterpiece and the lady that makes them incredible . It is fun just watching her. The fish and chicken offered daily were always incredible. The waiters are a class of their own. They knew our likes and dislikes and even catered to my daughters American Girl doll. It appears they truly love their job and it shows. One of the most memorable experiences was when I shared we were celebrating our anniversary and asked only for a Red tablecloth that evening (they celebrate many things and many birthdays for guests).To my delight, I arrived to the most amazing romantic table for our family and the chef prepared for us a 5 course culinary delight at no cost. The service was unmatched anywhere I have been.
The beds are quite hard but they supply mattress toppers free of charge.
I think this is an incredible place for family's and family reunions. The family friendly opportunities the best I have seen on the island. We saw lion fish, eel, octopus and stingray just snorkeling off the beach. Although our kids are 11, we all had a riot in the kids pool. There are iguana and Crabs living under the rooms and watching them a delight for all. We dove with "Dive with Martin" everyday as I feel they are the best but there was a multitude of family friendly activities every evening. I have only two complaints. It feels like you are extremely isolated there as it is quite expensive to have contact outside the resort. Internet is $25/day and $84/week. The only transportation in and out (other than boat dives) is taxi and the cost is $16 just to the international pier (one way). If the hotel had bus service to the Airport and into town a few times/day it would really boost tourism in town and I suspect get them more clients. Reasonable rates for internet would also help. Car rental has become quite expensive as they now demand you purchase their insurance. I believe a small car ran about $500/week with insurance.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for Mattress toppers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,799 - 1,805 of 4,710 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

they have a large complex with a gym, spa, restaurants, and many pools. the staff is truly five star. they are fun, and welcoming, and overall just awesome. the rooms are comfortable and the hammock outside is the best part. they have daily activities like beach volleyball and miniature golf which were coordinated by an awesome dude with a great personality. this is a family resort so if you don't like kids or have them, head over to their sister resort which is adults only.
the only problem i found were the sales staff who invite you to the sister hotel for a tour and really it's a sales pitch. they don't tell you that up front but offer you a beach bag, towel, and a bottle of tequila.
the beach and pools are clean and pristine. the food is diverse and tasty and the bartenders are always eager to please. they have many watersports too like scuba, snorkeling, and kayaking.
the highlight for me not only was the scenery, but the staff. they definitely make you feel welcome and are fun. i'm glad i chose this hotel ;)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stay at the Allegro for a lot of reasons but first and foremost the staff is the primary reason to go to Allegro. They understand giving the customer the Wow Experience. The daily and nightly activities are a definite highlight and you cannot find a nicer beach in Cozumel than the Allegro.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nternetguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We found this hotel and beach through google earth. We were looking for something low-key and beautiful, and found our paradise at the Allegro Cozumel. The staff is wonderful, especially Carolina at the front desk, Osman in the restaurant, and Raul the Manager. We have been here 3 consecutive summers so far, and are counting down the days until summer of 2014! We are bringing a group of friends from Los Angeles this time!

Room Tip: The rooms nearest the entrance are best for the restaurants, and the rooms in the middle of the reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I have been to Cozumel before and this time we brought our grandson with us. He had a blast with all the kid friendly activities. We never got bored. He played in the pool and kids water park and loved the beach. The swimming area at the beach is roped off to make it safe. This is a family resort, so remember that when reading comments about not much to do for singles. I will admit that the beds are hard as a rock so do yourself a favor and ask for a foam pillow top for the bed on your first day. As far as the food, it was acceptable for a 3 star resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have been visiting Cozumel since 1988 before there was a hotel at this location. I truly believe this is by far the best beach of any hotel.
I also must say this is the best value hotel as well. My family does not come here for the beds or the food. We come here to relax and make new friends while enjoying the beautiful seascape.
We have made so many local friends and they are the most sincere and appreciative staff out of any place we have ever visited.
If you want a 5 star restaurant or 5 star rooms stay elsewhere But if you want a comfortable relaxing vacation with the best and most friendly staff give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fatboy_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent most of our holiday on the beach and on excursions. Yes, its dated. Its clean,and staff are polite, funny and friendly. They really made our stay worthwhile. The food is good. If you want excellent food spend the extra and go to a 5 star. Take a walk down the beach to Mr. Sanchos, its worth it. Its a restaurant and bar situated directly on the beach with a market.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are not as sound proof as the main floor rooms. The couple we went with found that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadatravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
9 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
5,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 53 in Cozumel
5,114 reviews
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
1.7 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 53 in Cozumel
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £107 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing