We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average. They need some WOW factors.”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very average. They need some WOW factors.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If there were half points, I would give this resort a 2.5. It's not quite a 3 and a 2 would be too harsh. There were a two things that did impress me. The bellman delivered our bag very quickly to the room. And, when we were able to get our first room changed, a service man appeared very quickly to check out the toilet and hot water issues that we had reported. Our first room had some nasty stains on the bathroom sink and countertop and the toilet would not flush properly and the shower did not have hot water. When we asked for a new room, we were told the property was sold out and that they couldn't move us. When we didn't leave and kept insisting that a working toilet and hot water were non-negotiables, the front desk clerk finally conferred with someone else and discovered a new room for us.
The second room had working necessities and was cleaner and fresher than the first one.
The food at the buffets had a limited selections and tended to be the same every day. As a vegan, I did not starve but I did have the same food every day. On Thursday, we requested a reservation at the a la carte restaurants but were told they were booked until Saturday, so we accepted the 8:30 pm Saturday reservation at the Mexican restaurant. When we showed up, we were told that we had missed our Friday night reservation. Once again by being insistent, we were able to get seated but were left feeling annoyed.
The water sports people were excellent. We enjoyed ocean kayaking. The staff were helpful and eager and had some useful tips on the currents. They offered to give us free hobie cat sailing lessons or windsurfing lessons as well.
The beach was lovely. The pools were also very nice. We felt that the value for the money paid was fair. The problem was that everything was fair to average to just below average. Don't expect to be wow-ed, delighted or surprised. Keep your expectations low and they will be met.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 1500 block will have have the sound from the evening shows and from the kiddie pool. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PromoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    1,458
    813
    449
    344
See reviews for
1,486
1,325
105
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Worst place in Mexico yet.... Full day with no water at all, never enough food in the buffets, dinners you can only reserve for two days, rooms very old and smell musty, nasty European guests, etc The one and only good thing was the staff, they were great?..apparently the timeshare for sale up the road is nicer but we didn't see it

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tesmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Tesmarie,

We sincerely apologize that your recent stay at Allegro Cozumel fell below your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing guests with the highest quality product and service, and we regret that this is not what you experienced. Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with our management team, and is being addressed accordingly with our staff.

It is our hope that when returning to Cozumel you will allow us to host you during your stay so we may show you the true Allegro experience.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spend a week at this resort. The primary reason for choosing this hotel was for the quality of diving, and the beach. The resort was very nice (pools, houses, vegetation). The staff working there was very kind and gave a very good service. The ''a la carte'' restaurants were very good. Breakfast and lunchs were excellent, but the dinner buffet could could have been better. Everything was very clean. Diving was excellent, and the dive shop on site is very practical. The bar service is efficient and the drinks are good. A good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Eve_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Allegro Cozumel from Nov 20 to 27th. Our arrival was quick and organized. We were met immediately at the airport by the mini vans. The resort is only 20 mins away.
Check in was quick and our room was ready. We were advised there was no fridge in our room but Ivan would see what he could do for us as we had our little guy with us. We also asked for bed toppers, room close to our friends and close to then quiet pool. All these requests were honored.
Our room was nice - small but nice and very clean.
We went for a walk around the resort and when we came back a fridge had been delivered to our room and our bed toppers were installed. We were given a case of 12 water by the maid every couple of days.
The beach is beautiful. My 7 year old was able to snorkel right there as the water was so warm and calm. The beach drops off quite quickly but is all sand so no beach shoes needed.
The kids pool was lots of fun for all. We saw it cleaned and vacuumed daily. Some of the play equipment was not working on the pirate ship but the kids didn't seem to mind. It is a great place for kids to meet one another. My daughter had lots of friends by the time the vacation was over.
All staff were very accommodating and helpful. My daughter made bracelets by the beach each day with a great couple of entertainment staff.
The couples we went with went in the breakfast time share next door to receive a discount on the car rental. We rented two cars for $35 for the day - plus insurance of $35. We went into the market in tow which is great for shopping. All the cruise ships come in so it is very safe and busy with people. Best time for deals is between 2-4 pm before they close. We also went and did the free tequila tour at El Cehdral, shopped at Mr Snachos and went to the eco park Punta Sur. We would not go back to Punta Sur as not much there other than a pot hole road to a beach. But the tequila tour is quite interesting.
The food is okay. Always something to eat and always hot. The hotel was not full so the a la cartes were not open when we arrived and only 1/3 if the dinner buffet was open compared to our last trip there. Really need more variety especially for the children on the dinner buffet. The breakfast and lunch were always good.
If you ask for a Spanish coffee after dinner they out on a nice show for you and the coffees are great. As the resort got busier as the week went on they really needed more staff as the Spanish coffees were harder to get.
There were no evening shows except for one fire show on the beach which was very good.I expect this was because the hotel wasn't busy enough. My daughter was disappointed there was no mini disco - however we did see one on the schedule for the night we were leaving.
The bartenders were good and made some excellent tasting drinks. The bar has cold bottled water right there for you to help yourself which is nice.
All in all the vacation was wonderful. The resort is small enough that it is great to walk with kids. The pools, oceans, drinks and staff are wonderful and the food was always hot and good - just very repetitive. I think if you visited at high time like the last time we attended in February you would find all bars and restaurants open and a greater selection of food.
We traveled in a group of 8 and we will definitely return. Hopefully soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muskoka101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent 4 days at this resort and had a wonderful time! The hotel was recently renovated and everything was very nice and clean. The pools and beach were stunning, my kids loved the water park. Lots of activities to keep you busy if you want, but also quiet and relaxing. We noticed a very international crowd of people from all over the world! All of the staff was really friendly and accomodating! The food was so/so.With that said, we rented a jeep and had some drinks and shrimp ceviche on the beach for $50. So, the hotel in comparison was a bargain! I think if the food was just hotter, as in temperature hot, it would make a big difference. They offered some really delicious salsas. We loved the thatched roofs, and our room was very basic, but clean and cool. We did get the mattress toppers on the second night, and that was helpful. You can snorkel right at the hotel and see a lot. We took a snorkel tour and it was amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelOnMyMind07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We just got back from a 1 week stay at this resort. First & foremost are the personel here. The only word to completely say for all of them from the maids, bartenders, waiters, everyone is AWESOME. They make this resort.
the room we had 5713 was very comfortable and as someone else said the outside hammock is a very nice feature. The beach is one of the prettiest we have been to.
The food was a big disappointmet for sure. none of the "specialty" resturants were open so we had buffet all the time. I'll just leave it as a disappointment. I know its not a 5 star hotel but i did expect better food.
If you can get by the food issue the resort is one of the better ones that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: First Club rooms are very nice. try & get into building 57
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcGNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Spent a total of 3+ weeks in Allegro Cozumel the past 3 years, once a summer. Stayed there about 10 years ago also when the hotel was the Allegro Diamond Resort. ProDive, the current in-house dive shop is safety-conscious (if a little bit on the rigid side), with friendly and conscientious dive masters and instructors. Diving the Palanccar Reef system is reliably enjoyable and fun.

The food is good but not anything to brag about. About one week is all I think most people will enjoy the menu as an all-inclusive guest. A great place for families!

We especially enjoyed using our RCI membership to enjoy the First Club rooms. Karina and Mario and their team are wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Air con has to work harder in the upstairs rooms since they have very high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Springjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
9.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,041 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
7.7 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
12.9 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Property: Allegro Cozumel
Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing