We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is cheap.”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Allegro review

I'm very disappointed if I could I would give it No Stars.

- Customer service is not good. Everyone doesn't seem happy and approachable. When it came to service unless you had dollar bills they would be nice.

We arrived 3 hours early from our check in time during the week and the place didn't seem crowded. We took an overnight flight and arrived very tired. They weren't friendly as soon as we arrived and didn't bother to give us any room that was available. We had to wait the three hours.

- If you're a nacho, French fries, hot dog and burger person well you will enjoy this place. The buffet was not that great. They served hot dogs, nachos and burger daily. Sometime they would have pastas, macaroni and cheese and chicken fajitas. I was not content.

- They only had 2 ( Mexican & Asian) different dinning restaurants and reservations is required. The food was ok.

We were told to come the next day between 9am-12:00pm to make reservations. My boyfriend arrived exactly at 9am and was told everything was booked. Of course he complain and was able to make a reservation. During or dinner the place was more than half empty. Also they always seem to not have something on the menu.

- The pool and jacuzzi were not clean. In particular the jacuzzi. They don't seem to clean the pool daily. The kids pool seemed fun and clean but I'm not sure I just pass by.

- The rooms were decent. The resort is decent it has a few things that are sketchy. The sink water was salty and smelly.

- When we needed extra water bottles we ask a worker and they denied us. They said they couldn't because the boss is keeping tract of the bottles. We had to go up front and ask the receptionist. Only one bottle was given.

- The beach is very beautiful. I recommend going snorkeling and renting a jeep and check out the town specially other local beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nlomeli1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Nlomeli1981,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards. We sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,465 - 1,471 of 4,577 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We choose this resort specifically to be South of town and close the the dive reefs. We found the accommodations to be good, grounds clean, bed a little firm and the staff willing to help. I agree with other reviews that the food is average but it is an economical resort so that has to be considered. We choose the Ultimate Dive Experience (UDX) package which included one dive with PRO DIVE MEXICO per day (Great Dive Operation), rooms close to the beach/dive area, special morning continental breakfast and afternoon snacks in reserved divers lounge (enclosed and AC at the beach). The UDX also includes free computer use and internet access from 8am to 5pm does not include WIFI. Allegro should include free WIFI for the UDX package, currently cost is $11 per hour, or $21 per day or $75? per week. Most all properties include WIFI, even the budget hotels. Allegro has large sand beach and many water activities for all ages each day. Having Pro Dive MX on site makes diving easy and convenient. Excellent shop with knowledgeable guides and great staff/management.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear B B,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Allegro Cozumel and enjoyed our new UDE! We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay of diving and relaxation.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent the first week of May 2014 at the Allegro Cozumel in building 56. We had two rooms on the 2nd floor, with the thatch roof. I had read complaints about the thatch roof, but we had no complaints at all. Even with the high ceiling, our room stayed a comfortably cool temperature. We had no "visitors" (of the reptile or insect type) through the thatch. The fabulous beach view from our balcony meant we spent quite a bit of time there. My husband particularly enjoyed relaxing in the hammock. Since we are First Club members, we enjoyed being very near the First Club, where we were served a tasty breakfast of warm scrambled eggs, meat, and potatoes, as well as pastries, cereal, toast, fresh fruit, juices, milk, and coffee. Lunch was served in the open air restaurant between the pools. The buffet style lunch, though not outstanding, was quite good, with many choices, both Mexican and American. The only problem with the open air lunch is the steady stream of blackbirds swooping in to grab a bite of food. Since we are country folks, they didn't bother us. However, I can see how some people might not like having birds flying around in the dining room. Since May is considered "low season", they did not offer lunch in the main indoor dining room. Breakfast and dinner were served there. We went to the reservations only Mexican restaurant twice, and it was absolutely delicious! The entire resort is kept immaculately clean. My husband was very impressed with the dive company and went on 6 dives during our 7 day stay. He had nothing but praise for them. I thoroughly enjoyed painting ceramics on the beach, while he went diving. They took my artwork home at night to fire them and brought them back the next day. They offer a large selection of ceramics in all sizes, mostly priced from $10 to $15 each. Although we did not have children with us, we noticed the many family friendly aspects of this resort, including a covered play area and very large water park type pool. All of the staff were friendly, especially Jason, at the First Club. We can't wait to back to the Allegro. It is our new home away from home! I should add that on our previous trip to Cozumel, we stayed at the Occidental Grand, which is the next property down the beach. We liked everything about the Allegro better than we did the Grand, even though we did enjoy the Grand!

Room Tip: Most buildings do not have an ocean view. Buildings in the 50's are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamahen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mamahen53,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Allegro Cozumel and the First Club. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I will start with the bad and work my way up. The food is just okay. Its the same meal daily for lunch and dinner and there is no variation. Seems they just pass the leftovers on to the next meal. I wish the hotel would serve more Mexican dishes as that is obviously one reason people traveled to Mexico! Stick to the omelet for breakfast and be sure to add habanero sauce if you want any flavor. The hotel is old so the walls are thin. You are probably going to wake up when your neighbors wake up because you can hear almost everything. Each room has a hammock and its a fantastic place to lounge; I ended buying one in the town.

Beware! At the airport, just take a taxi to the hotel. The Occidental (who owns Allegro)timeshare people are not trustworthy. We had an bad experience with them, HOWEVER, in the end, the timeshare people AT ALLEGRO (specifially, Oscar) made things right and gave us our money back.

The beach itself is beautiful! If they would put in some artificial reefs, there would be many more fish to see while snorkeling. The staff is very polite and the nightly entertainment is great. We didnt have kids with us but the kid are looked great; nice and clean and there were hardly any kids there. Be sure to go in the city to eat locally but walk a few block deep into the city to avoid the cruise ship tourist places. Negotiate well on souvenirs to get your money's worth and tip well. The Islanders main income is due to tourism and we had great service everywhere we went.

Some people will always have things to complain about but if you are looking to stay within a budget and aren't a picky person, this hotel will suit you fine. If you read thru other reviews, you will notice they are all pretty consistent with the same complaints so if you are prepared for that, you can still enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: We were in building 62 (room 6224) which is a halfway point between the front of the hotel and the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 82Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear 82Lo,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Allegro Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We appreciate as well your comments about food, be certain we will look into it in order to guarantee our guests' satisfaction.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We just returned from a 5 night family vacation to this resort. The thing I enjoyed the most about the resort is that we were a family ranging in age from 2 to 64. There were things for all to enjoy. The small children loved the pirate pool. And the whole family loved the beautiful beach. We would come out early and stay until sunset. The snorkeling from the beach was great, we saw small and large stingrays, barracuda, angel fish, and many we couldn't identify.

As to the food..I was not expecting 5 star food, and did not get it. But each one of us found something to eat every meal, and the food was not a priority for us. If you want a few better meals there are many places close by.

The grounds are beautiful! There is always a lot of work going on by very hard working and very friendly staff. And the staff all over the resort were enough to warrant another visit as far as we are all concerned. Never have I seen harder working, and friendlier people. I would like to mention that I was appalled at we way we saw a few people treat the staff. I was embarrassed for these people. And we can't imagine coming to any resort with the idea of not tipping, although it's not required. I understand these people earn very little per hour, and work very hard to provide a wonderful stay. And a little kindness goes a long way. I will try to learn more of the language before I visit again. It is Mexico, and Mexican is the language spoken. It's courteous to speak the some of the language when visiting another country, rather than expecting them to speak yours.

If you deduct the price of your airfare you will discover that you have stayed at this resort for dirt cheap. Our family would have spent more for 2 days lodging all food and drinks anywhere in this country, than we did for 5 here. And we would have not had the beautiful beach. So you get much more than you pay for here. Be reasonable, smile, tip, don't complain, and you will have a wonderful time here.

The beds, the small rooms, who cares?

Room Tip: Our room looked out on the kids playground. Perfect for us as we had kids playing there, would not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Donna F,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Allegro Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you and your family again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay of relaxation and fun on the beach! We thank you too, for the kind comments towards our very hard working employees.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Let me first start off by saying that we have traveled to Mexico many times in the past 3 years and we know what to expect from all-inclusive resorts. This trip made us truly appreciate the other resorts we have stayed at. Luckily I read the reviews before arriving at Allegro Cozumel and knew not to expect much.

Check-in: Good- we arrived early in the afternoon and they were ready for us which was nice, but as soon as you walk through the lobby doors to get to your room they feed you to the "vacation club" timeshare sharks. These men are salesmen trying to get you to take a tour of the Occidental Grand next door. They offer to give you discounts for jeep, scooters, taxis, massage, and excursions. We actually ended up going on a tour because we got so bored at the Allegro (minimum activities offered sadly) -- also note that upon check-in we were not offered any special drink or hot towel as we have enjoyed at other resorts. We also had to find our own room and carry our luggage after a long day of travel. No bell hop avail to guide or assist us.

Room: BAD!- We had a pool view room with a hammock which was nice, but the bed *even with a foam mattress topper* was a hard as laying on the floor. I am normally not one to complain about these things, but this was by far the worst bed I have ever had to sleep on. We were tempted to sleep on our towels and rafts for extra cushion. Also the bugs were awful! Coming out of vents, the shower and seen some in the toilet too.

Beach: GREAT! The water is warm, the sand is soft and white. The best part of the entire resort is looking out at sea.

Pools: BAD! The resort as I hear is 28yrs old and it shows all those years in the pool and no one to take care of them. Not once during our stay did we see anyone clean the pool. The water bugs were alive, there was trash, pieces of food and palm leaves in each pool, even at the Grand next door. ** they told us it was because of the rain** well it was actually because they never cleaned it the entire week! A few of us ladies even asked for a skimmer to clean it ourselves and was never brought to us to do or ever done.

Food: THE WORST!- We have never gone hungry at any resort we have stayed in the past, but there was mornings and dinners that we could barely find bread and butter to eat. Items were not stocked, food was cold, and same food repeated each day. Again we don't expect much at an all inclusive but this was by far the worst food we have had any resort. The Mexican al la carte was a nice meal, but in the dark and we were ate alive by mosquitoes! --pack that bug spray if you already booked!

Service: Bad! - We were supposed to be VIP "per our wrist band color" and we didn't have any privileges like we have in the past at other resorts. No special seating or priority. We are big tippers every where we travel as that is what we are custom to at home, but service was so terrible at Allegro I didn't tip nearly as often as normal. The hardest workers are Fernando and Alberto at the beach bar, they go unassisted all day long at the only bar in use, but when they need more cups or supplies the have to leave the bar unattended and the lines back up.

Activities: Great for snorkel and scuba to take tours, but activities at the resort are pretty bad for all ages. Best thing we did all week was make friendship bracelets and play giant beach chess. Kayaking to nowhere is not fun as there is no abundance of fish close to the beach since the reef is down a ways from the resort.


Overall: Allegro Cozumel resort is not for us or for most all the people we visited with while there. We don't expect a cheap all-inclusive resort to be 5 star but some things just can't be overlooked liked the service, dirty pools, rock hard beds and terrible food. We will not return. We definitely appreciated the other resorts we have visited in the past few years and will opt to go there instead.

Room Tip: Nearest the beach is quieter, but far from lobby and disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Megan N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards.
We sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Ok, let's get started: we loved our trip to Cozumel! Really! There were some rough spots in our visit, but overall it was great when the cost was considered. Let's go over some of the issues we encountered:

- We got our tickets from GroupOn at a bargain (under $150 per night for our family of 3).
- We went in the off-season.
- With the above in mind... we encountered a very disconcerting issue in regards to whether or not we owed more money in order to stay there (beyond what we had already paid) during our check-in. This worried us a lot because here we are, hat in hand... and we are being told we must pay more. Yikes! I will spare you the next hour, but we worked it out, talked it over with mgmt and got checked in and no more money was exchanged. But it is worth mentioning the snafu.
- We stayed for 3 days and 4 nights and enjoyed every minute!
- For reference, I am 40-ish, male, and in decent shape (no gut, don't eat much junk food). The food was great! It was very fresh vegetables, great combo dishes, crazy assortment of mult-national selections, great drinks (not watered down at all). There was the pathetic burgers and pizza, but if you go to Mexico and eat that kind of food... well, what can I say? Expand your horizons, you will be better off.
- The staff was fantastic... I repeat, fantastic! there were reasonable, friendly, helpful, honest. We were nothing but pleased with the whole crew. The nighttime festivities is run by funny, energetic people who seem to like to make people have fun and laugh: even in the off-season, the crowd at the nighttime activities grew quickly as all of the laughter would serve as a huge draw for passers-by.
- The beach access was clean with a bar right nearby.
- The kid's pirate ship was a big hit with our kids but it had many features that were simply not working at all. Probably 75 - 80% of the water guns, pumps, etc. were NOT working while we were there. Did it matter to my 3.5 year old... not really, he still had a blast. But, it would have been nice to have it working.
- There is another climbing attraction that has been closed for at least the last 6 months (I kinda wished it had also been working because I love that stuff).
- Rooms were decent, nothing crazy awesome at this price point, but we spent little time there anyway. You will not be getting a $300+/night room, just so you know. The hot water wasn't working at one point, but they got it back up and running. The hammocks were a nice touch.
- The wildlife and city nightlife were fun and made the whole experience enjoyable.

If I could, I would rate this at 3.5, but considering the price we were paying and the great staff and food we experienced, it deserves a 4. Let me know if you need any more information.

Room Tip: We recommend a top floor room that included the vaulted ceilings and a little privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear CJ G,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Allegro Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you and your family again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay of relaxation and fun in the sun!

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
9.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
5,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
4,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £104 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing