We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice snorkeling beach!”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Got a great last minute deal! So I took my mom for Mother's Day vacation! BUT first impression was not good, as soon as I saw the lobby and the upstairs restaurant/bar area I was in doubt about staying here 8 days... Well, everything was paid for so we just tried to enjoy as much as we could. Food at the buffet was edible, not much to choose from that's all I can say, Oriental and Mexican were actually very tasty! Great service and drinks at the bars and restaurants special thanks to Ignacio and Santos who were very helpful! I would say this resort is good for families as there is a playground and pool just for kids. Everything in the room worked just fine, they should clean up after the iguanas more often. Beach, finally the beach was the reason of me and my mom being here! It is beautiful! Perfect snorkeling spot and gorgeous blue water! Thanks Jose (lifeguard) for all the info about the island!

Stayed: May 2014
9  Thank MaryLOVESRivieraMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear MaryLOVESRivieraMaya,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Allegro Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We appreciate your other remarks as well in order to continue to improve our services.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,353 - 1,359 of 4,577 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late due to delayed flight..got there at 230am
Our rooms were terrible right beside waste (septic ) went back down said they could not do anything till morning ...rough night with the smell!!!!
Helpful in the morning ,changed our rooms much better! Hotel grounds very beautiful , hotel is just to far from town 20.00us cab ride each way ...staff were helpful and friendly ...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cynthua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Cynthua,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards regarding the sewage smell.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Last month my family stayed here and had such a wonderful time. The people everywhere, which covers everyone we met, out of the hotel as well, where so nice, helpful and made our trip so memorable.
The hotel is setup like individual huts with thatched roofs, which to me is simply beautiful Mexico. The foliage around the resort is simply amazing! The hibiscus, palm trees and other floral and fauna is breath taking and we have not even gotten to the beach yet. Each room has a hammock to add to the island feel. The rooms are very comfortable, roomy and the air conditioning was actually cold at times which we had to turn it up after our maid left.
They have 4 pools, one for kids with a water playground, the quiet pool, activities pool with of course a swim up bar, and then a beautiful pool by the divers area. There is also hot tub in front of the beach...now did I say beach? I cant say enough, all the photo's you see are 100% accurate. The water crystal clear and warm, they provide snorkel gear for an hour each day or you can rent very cheaply for longer. Just off the beach we saw a stingray, baby octopus and so many colorful fish. They are also off a reef for snorkeling and scuba that they take you to by boat which is a very short trip.
For food you have a wonderful buffet (breakfast and dinner) and 2 specialty restaurants, one Mexican and the other Oriental which you should make reservations once you arrive. These are smaller more intimate so the book quick. My fav was the Mexican, we had such a wonderful time and the food was perfect! No worries for lunch, it is between the activities pool and quiet pool and if you have kids they have hamburgers which my son (9 yrs) loved and snacks like chips and salsa. Oh and did I mention their ceviche....loved and still missing it right now!
There are so many activities and fun things to do....we can't wait to go back and would recommend this Resort to everyone. Oh and no we never left the island...sorry Playacar!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Bakker_Vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Bakker_Vacations,


Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Allegro Cozumel. We are glad your family and you enjoyed our food and beach. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Horrible service, horrible food, and they do not wash the cups well at the bar. Just flat out disgusting. My wife and son brought home a throat infection for a souvnir and had to got to the doctor as soon as we got home. Ants and spiders in the room. Hot rooms with water cooler type of a/c. be prepared to take cold showers to cool off and then lay there and sweat in the bed. Save your money. We tried to get a flight home early. Absolutely the worst resort I have ever stayed and i have been to many. Also, i have never been one to take the time out of my extremely busy day to write a review but i felt i needed to warn anyone who has booked at this place. Seriously, very bad.

Room Tip: If you have to make one choice at this hotel, the choice would be to have the taxi to take you somew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Stevothepopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Stevothepopo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards. We apologize for not having been up to your overall expectations.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is our second time here and is such a nice experience. The staff is so very friendly. The drinks are great. The beach here is the beach on the island. The was is good, but is not always hot. My wife's quote was great: "Even the ice is room temperature!"
Had a great time. Will definitely go back. Love to snorkel here. Chankanaab is not far. A short taxi ride.

Room Tip: Not really any bad rooms. I prefer the upper floor. The walls are thin and sometimes if there are ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Katmandu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Katmandu69,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Allegro Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel is exactly what you pay for! The beds are very hard (ask for a mattress topper) the buffet food is horrible but...the rooms are great to go get cleaned up in and sleep at night! We got all the request we put in for...adjoining rooms, a refrigerator and close to the beach. We left our maid a couple dollars on the bed everyday and our rooms were clean and nice and cool at night! The best part of this resort is the beach! we have stayed at several resorts and this place by far has a great beach! The staff is hit and miss the pools don't seem very clean but we spent all our time in the ocean! Its very close to all the dive spots so its a short ride which is nice. I would come here again just for the beach! There are so many good places to eat in town!

Room Tip: get a lower level room and close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Tiffany D,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards. We are most glad you throughly enjoyed our beautiful beach. We apologize for not having been up to your expectations regarding food services.

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The beach here is one of the best - felt like we were in a Corona add. Nice sandy beach and few rocks in the water. The water was super clear!

We were in the First Cub which made the rest of the resort tolerable. The service in the First Club was great and they had top shelft drinks. The First Club also had a seperate breakfast and evening appitizers. The drinks and food here were better than what was available at the non-First Club spots.

We had a studio room in a building classificed as First Club. It was small and needed updating. As others have reported the bed was very firm, but we didn't mind. The draperies were thin, so the room was bright as soon as the sun came up. As others reported, the door didn't fit completely, so we did have some ants...it felt more like camping that a hotel, although the maid service was prompt and the towels were fresh every day. Every room has an outdoor patio or deck with a hammock; it was our favorite part of the room.

We only ate at the Mexican restraunt which was marginally better that the buffet. It did seem like very few people got into the special restraunts, but I don't think it was a big loss.

We found the island to be very nice, seemed safe. We rented a Jeep and drove around, took a tequilla tour and saw more beautiful beaches.

We took the ferry across to Playa del Carmen and it was nice. Only $13/person and had nice seats and air conditioning.

Room Tip: Get into the First Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GoRockets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear GoRockets1,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards. We apologize for not having been up to your expectations regarding overall food service

Warm regards from Allegro Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
9.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
5,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
4,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £104 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing