We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Allegro Cozumel
Nearby Hotels
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$302
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel B Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$379
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$93
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Mexicana Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$456
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
US$198
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mary Carmen(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$349
US$164
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,998)
Filter reviews
4,998 results
Traveller rating
1,446
1,697
938
519
398
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,446
1,697
938
519
398
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsultimate dive experiencefirst clubfishdive shopkids poolthe oriental restaurantgreat beachkids cluba la carte restaurantsfamily resortdive palancarpicky eaterother resortsbeach volleyballrecommend this resorthard bedsfire show
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,088 - 3,093 of 4,998 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2009

This place is exactly what it claims to be
Good food-family oriented-great facilities
For couples it has an adults only area
Amazingly quiet except for overly loud entertaiment
However this shuts down about 10pm so not a huge issue
Go and enjoy

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barney475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

If you are looking for a family resort than this is it. We booked fairly last minute looking for a place that was affordable, safe, clean, children friendly and located within easy flight access from Toronto. Holiday Village White Sands in Cozumel was definately a smash hit in our books.
Our 2 children were so whipped at the end of the day from all of the kids activities, the pools, waterpark, the ocean, beach volleyball, snorkeling and dancing that it made for easy bedtimes. And yes the beds are hard, but fortunately we like it that way.
Being in the travel and tourism industry here in Canada, we could certainly take home a few lessons on customer service. The staff were great. The local staff were kind and humble and the international staff were hillarious and understanding, the perect mix.
This place was a great deal and we were looking for one week away to play as a family. It exceeded our expectations. Highly reccommedended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B_C_H_BCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

This trip was great....We arrived swiftly from the airport to the resort, and upon arrival were greated by Simon the rep and "Superduperspiderwonderman" aka Jason the resort "Clown". He had the kids attention from the get go, and we were also greated with Cold beers by the waiters too.. which was great considering the heat.

We went with friends and when we booked had specifically asked that we be put next to each other as we like to sit outside when the kids are in bed at night, this however wasn't the case when we arrived. It turned out we were the other side of the Kiddies pool area which really wasn't going to work. Simon called our room once we got there to see if we had any concerns, I told him about our request, and within 10 minutes we were moved to another unit where our friends were. Which was awesome.

We are a family with a 5yr old and 10yr old so were put into a family room, which is two rooms one with a King size bed and another with two doubles, both rooms had their own bathroom/shower and closet space which was a extra bonus.
All rooms have a hammock on the balcony which was great too.

Positives:
The "Splash Pool" for the kids is fantastic, and kept them entertained. The area around the pool is great with umbrellas and lots of loungers too. This was great to sit and relax watch the kids, plus read and not be too concerned about them. There is also a lifeguard on site at this pool.

The rooms are a nice size for what you pay for. The maids do a great job every day, our room was always spotless. Towel Art always when you return.

The beach is fantastic, the water is beautiful.
The Activities pool is clean and not too busy, considering it has a swim up bar.

The food is good. Not a great deal of selection. But its cooked well, they do their best to change it up each night and day. Not one of us was sick, which was a bonus. After 6 days you begin to get a little tired of it. But no real complaints.

The entertainment staff are awesome, it is themed more towards to kids, but in my opinion thats what you want anyway when you travel with younger childern. My kids had a fantastic time, so that in my mind makes the holiday.
Props to Paul (Ricky) on his great stage act... and also Jason who always did a great job in entertaining the kids. Sandy was also a great singer.

Snorkeling is great, the water is crystal clear and lots of fish to see.

Negatives:
Not enough staff. They do seem to be a little understaffed at some of the bar areas. Other places i've been too usually have 2 or 3 people on at a time, at these bar's there was always just one person, so you do have line ups at times.

First couple of days there were not enough plates, and bowls so you tended to wait around until clean ones came out.

Needs to be a bar area for the kids. Should include a pool table or air hockey or something like that.

So not alot of complaints. We had a fantastic time, and my kids are already asking to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Uxbridge_OntLloydies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here and loved every minute of it! The rooms are large and clean, the food is excellent (highly recommend the mexican restaurant and the oriental). The pool is great.

The best feature is the beach, I can only say one word to describe it - WOW! You have to experience the water, the sand and the scenary.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TranceNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Firstly, we've been to many all-inclusives and we'd already read reviews for the White Sands so we went with an open mind. There is a great beach and families with young children would enjoy the kids activities (even some of the older ones). In the evenings some of the staff would actually sing at the shows rather than just lip sync so that was enjoyable, I could see why divers would love it as the boats out to the reef were always busy. We paid only $2500 so we went with a cheap is cheerful attitude. Nonetheless there were some problems.

Firstly the rooms, as stated in reviews are very small. We were willing to pay for the family room but as there were only 3 of us they wouldn't let us (hotel policy or something). We were able to get an extra bed for our son (12) but had to put room chairs out on the porch. (My husband's 6'4" so sleeping two to a Mexican sized double bed was not an option and as the beds are on concrete bases there's no moving them together). We were in building 44, away from the pool and kiddie area, and not adjoining anyone else so we had no noise issues.

Secondly, the food was hit and miss. Western and Caribbean nights weren't good at all but the others were fine, if little selection, and grilled meat and roast beef were good. The two a la cartes were good too. Many of the veggies were sitting in containers of butter but others were tasty and salads were good.

Finally the staff was fine, but there weren't enough of them in the restaurants. Plates/glasses often ran out, tables were not cleared in what I have found to be a usual amount of time at these resorts and for lunch we often found ourselves hovering over people who appeared to have finished their meals as there were not enough tables. This did improve after the Wed departure after March Break. Too many people and not enough staff is my guess.

All in all, for the money it was a good trip, but I really don't think its a 4 star. We've enjoyed others more with the same rating. If I'd paid a $1000 more expecting a 4 I would have been more frustrated but we enjoyed the beach, snorkelling and the evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lmcg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews