We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most established dive shop on the island - exceptional service”
Review of Aquatic Sports

Aquatic Sports
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most established dive shop on the island - exceptional service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Sergio Sandoval has been diving at Aquatic Sports (Base Aquarama) for 40 years - he's a character, and runs the most impressive dive shop on the island. If you can go with him and his crew, look no further. He's a legend, and a trip with him alone is worth the price of admission - even if it is lower than everybody else!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    7
    0
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Diving AND fishing with the Sandovals”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Father took us out diving twice - two, two-tank dives. Safe, secure, honest, fun. Some people have given them low ratings- too bad for that. We have nothing negative to say. The cost was good and they are a SAFE outfit. We had one DM per about 4 divers. The DMs made sure to show people sealife they may have missed and they did a very good job at supervising all the group. Safety is our primary concern as divers. We also went fishing SEVEN full hours with Sergio Jr. Just two of us on the boat with him and Fredrico. We caught 4 mahi and a shipjack tuna - lunch beer, soda, water, snacks. Nice boat too 42 foot - head, saloon, cabins. EXCELLENT. Thanks to the Sandovals for contributing to the best vacation we've ever had.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nosh1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience and safe”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This dive operation has been around a while. They have good, safe boats. There is a small boat suitable for smaller groups of 6 - 10 and a large boat for larger groups. The boats are well equipped and comfortable. The staff is helpful. Our dive master, Chris was great and knew the dive sites and critters well. They try to do smaller groups and dive on less crowded sites. They provide a good lunch with sandwiches and fruit. Transportation was provided to the boat each day.
The boats are not fast boats. The dives are not rushed. This is an all day adventure. So, if your goal is to be back in the bar with a beer by 1230 or so, chose one of the more macho dive companies.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best on the Island”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I've been diving with Sergio Sr and Jr, Betty and his crew for years. They know every inch of this underwater paradise. They know how to treat their divers and make sure the sites that are dived are respectful of your diving abilities Unlike some dive operations on Cozumel, Sergio will not overload the boat and will let you dive your tank, not having to come up with a half full tank because others have hit their limit. The diving atmosphere is easy going and so friendly, you'll feel like part of his family after one day. Let's not forget the lunch........much better than anyone else on the island, a real lunch and always water and other beverages to keep hydrated.

For those of you that like night diving, Sergio knows just the right spots to watch the transition from day to night during a dusk dive and follow it up with a great night dive to see all those critters that like to come out of the holes and crevices at night.

Just one other comment about this operation. After a night dive on the way back to the hotel, I dropped my mask overboard. I had a spare mask, but got on the boat the next morning and they handed me my mask.....yes, they knew about where it was lost and since it was a night dive, we were in relatively shallow water and they looked and found it that morning. Amazing enough they actually found it, but just the fact that they took the time to look says everything. Never heard of anyone taking the time and effort to do that for a customer.

There isn't a better way to spend your day than diving with Sergio and Aquatic Sports.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharkbaitglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great comfortable boat and fun crew”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

If you want a nice relaxing dive day, plenty of bottom time, a comfortable boat with a bathroom, choose Aquatic Sports. Paul and Sergio are great guys and easy to get along with. The lunch is good and there are plenty of drinks. It is nice to lounge on the upper deck. If it is cold or windy you can get down inside. There is a good ladder to get out with. The crew is very helpful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank scubadoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquatic Sports also viewed

 

Been to Aquatic Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing