We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best snorkeling near the beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palancar Reef

Palancar Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.99*
and up
Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset
Ranked #1 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful reef sits in about 80 feet of water and is a popular diving spot.
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling near the beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

There is a lot of good snorkeling off the coast of Cozumel but Palancar was the only place I was able to find a manta ray within walking distance from the beach.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DDreamsOfIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,355
    411
    97
    22
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my best dives ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

No trip to Cozumel is complete without diving Palancar deep. Don't let the name scare you off because your max depth should be less than 100'.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Palancar Two Tank Dive off Carnival Triumph”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This dive was my fiftieth open water dive, mostly in Cozumel, but my first in about eight years. The Dive Operator, Sand Dollar, was professional with a fast dive boat and helpful crew. The Dive Master was safety oriented and was good at finding animals and keeping track of his divers. The visibility was good but, not great ... I estimate about 60 feet. I am concerned that Palancar is not as great a dive site as it used to be .. fewer animals and not as much coral. Maybe, it is due to the location of the cruise ship terminal and/or over diving. Nevertheless, I had a great time and would recommend this dive to cruise ship passengers looking to get a taste of the fabulous Cozumel Reefs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobo231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtle Cove, Providenciales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“4 impressive dive sites of Palancar. They are must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Definitely one of the best dive sites on the island. Do not let dive operators stir you toward other dive sites because this one is fare... it is a must dive for all of you who dive for pleasure not for telling the others. Enjoy encounter with the sharks, turtles, big fish, etc...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mi2oba4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best dive ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We went to Palancar "Bricks". It was the best of my relatively short diving experience (1 year dive experience, less than 20 dives so far).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fotdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palancar Reef also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Palancar Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing