We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Trip to Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was our first trip back to the Presidente since their overhaul due to massive hurricane damage. We were happy to see the layout of the hotel had survived intact. We selected a "Reef Room" in the beach-side, single story, North end of the Hotel. It was difficult to pick out on the website but a toll free phone call sealed the deal.

Furnishings were new and modern, with nice couch, table and chairs. Above average size flat screen TV (though not channels are not HD). Big bathroom with two separated sinks, separate tub and glass stall shower. A/C was freezing if you wanted it to be (Remember 19 C is about 66 F!). The East wall facing the water is mostly sound-proof glass. The terrace is half covered and fully shaded, with slide swing, table, two loungers, hammock,and leads directly to a never crowded beach.

The North-end beach has lots of palapas for shade, many loungers, two small piers with easy-enter stairs to never disappointing snorkeling. Though I didn't use the in-house dive-op, Scuba Du, this trip, I have used them for diving AND fishing with much pleasure.

We ate at the open air El Caribeno restaurant and had Room Service, both were very nice.

We did have trouble getting our Presidente-provided bathrobes delivered to the right room and once got blankets instead of robes.

I have made in excess of 20 trips to Cozumel and the Presidente runs away with the Best Cozumel Hotel Award in my book. It is pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: Specify north end reef room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPedenMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We really apreciated every single word you wrote on your comment, thank you very much for coming and hopefully we can have you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed at the Presidente from March 29-April 8, 2012. I first stayed in one of their "superior" rooms (which are very nice and, for them, I think standard--a pretty high standard) and then was joined by my wife, son and nephew and we moved to a 2 bedroom suite...also very nice. Be aware, however, that the suite is, essentially, two adjoining rooms with a generous sitting area and much larger bath in the larger of the two. I had expected two separate bedrooms separated by a living area, but it really wasn't an issue for us.

The open-air breezeways throughout the resort seemed to always be, actually, breezy. They were nice and, let me tell you, that's good. This place is big. My first room was approximately a block and a half from the main entrance and desk. Going to the adult pool was a hike, too (and I can tell you how to get there--it's pretty well hidden) and, once you were there, it was a long way to the bar to get a cool beverage. There is a bar at the adult pool but it was never open. There were towels sometimes, not others.

But, overall, I really like this place. The staff was excellent and very courteous. My nephew went from the adult pool to the bar and, when the bartender heard where we were, he insisted on delivering the drinks. Our running joke was that, every time something was just a little off (which is not uncommon in Cozumel), we called the place the Three Seasons. But that was just our little joke and I don't mean for it to mean that much. It was just little things like no bellman available to call a cab (there is no cab stand, and the front desk hunted down a bellman each time--which is another amusing thing. They won't call a cab for you but will find a bellman to do it), a missing towel or two, the hammock hidden in a bottom drawer and not discovered until checkout...just little things. Oh, and an air conditioner that was either off or on, regardless of the temp setting. I like cold and I have to admit that I was even cold in the room. The power went out twice but was almost immediately back on, thanks to some generators. Not bad for Coz, eh?

Breakfast was buffet style and, overall, very good. Lots of fresh fruit, which I enjoyed. Omelets unless the chef was MIA (Three Seasons). I didn't care for the "green juice" but the rest of my party loved it. Go figure. Lunch was always excellent...but bring your wallet for any dining on-premises. Drinks are generous and, mostly, easy to get. There are so many good places to eat on the island that it was always a better deal to grab a cab and go find a restaurant, unless you're too tired to go out.

The facility itself is one of the oldest (if not the oldest) on the island, but it is extremely well kept and very clean. The exterior from the beach, which is a nice place to hang out, is dated and plain but the interior is mostly stone and marble and is very nice. Grounds are gorgeous.

We were there to dive, of course, and the on-site dive shop, Scuba Du, is excellent. They are very accommodating and worked with us to find dive sites suitable for everyone in our group, which ranged from check-out divers to very advanced folks. I'll write a separate review for them but I get to do a fair amount of diving, have dived with many operators and these people are among the best.

There is some very good snorkeling off the beach and we even did a shallow shore dive there. Lots of fish around the wrecked barge just off the south end of the main beach.

Long story short, we had a great time, the staff is wonderful and we'll be back. They're so close to a five-star rating that it almost hurts not to give them one. Best place on Cozumel? Probably so.

Room Tip: The 1300's were nice and overlooked much of the grounds to the beach. That's on the north wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVenturesMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing us and sharing with us the experience you had. I would like first of all to apologize about the inconveniences you had during your stay and second, make the commitment if you decide to come one more time to show you, all we learned starting from your comments.

Hopefully we can have your patronage in a near future, and if so, feel free to contact me directly.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Nice, upscale relaxing resort. Not as plush as a Ritz, but very nice. The resort is very authentic and tropical. This was our third time at the Presidente. This time we brought our 4 and 6 year old boys. The resort is not very big, but with kids, I would recommend a Beachfront Superior room. We stayed in room #5110, which was a perfect location - ground floor, oceanfront room with a large patio, close to the pool, beach and restaurants. The rooms are a little small for a family of 4, but we didn't spend much time there, other than sleeping. Breakfast at the restaurant is great. We ordered off the menu each morning, instead of the buffet. Lunch was also great. We either ate under the beach palapa or at the beach bar. We ate one night at the restaurant (main outdoor one), but didn't like the menu as well as the breakfast and lunch menu, so we ate out each night (Erenestos, Kondesa, Blue Angel, Kinta and Casa Mission - all great!). If you're with kids and don't want to run up the mini-bar tab, grab a cab to Mega and load up on snacks. We've done the all-inclusive mega resort trips, which can be fun, but it was refreshing to stay at a smaller, quieter, upscale resort with the family. Great quality time with the kids. It will be fun to bring them back when they are a little older, so we can snorkle and scuba.

Room Tip: If you're with young kids, I recommend a Beachfront Superior. We stayed in rm #5110, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryder10Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming and for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff and service.

Your are totally right, as soon as your here, you feel like family place.

Hopefully we can have you back to celebrate your 4th time to this your home away from home, in the very near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Presidente is a beautiful resort in the perfect location. Away from the downtown and cruise ship traffic, but close enough for a trip in for shopping and dinner. 5 minute cab ride to Chankanaab for snorkeling and the Dolphin Program. The food was very good, and the rooms were beautiful with wonderful views of the blue ocean~ Nice swimming/snorkeling lagoon and soft, white sand beach. All of the hotel employees were the friendliest we've encountered. I would reccomend the Presidente to everyone!

Room Tip: Ocean views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about our staff & Resort. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you, we are always looking for meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter.

Hopefully, we can have you back to your home away from home very soon.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just got back from a wonderful vacation with my two children. The place is perfect for relaxing and enjoy a peaceful time. We had a fabulous holiday while enjoying the most beautyful ocean in Mexico, snorkeling and fishing. Food is delicious and the service is just amazing in every way. The room was spacious, clean and serene. They have children's activities out by the pool and throughout the hotel. Can´t wait to get back.

Room Tip: Higher floors with ocean view are just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We really apreciated every single word you wrote on your comment, thank you very much for coming and hopefully we can have you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just got back from the Presidente, first trip to Cozumel. Perfect location, far enough away from the city so cruise boats did not impact the hotel. But close enough to go in for dinner. The hotel room was great, super views, great beach. It was nice to have dive shop-Scuba Du, right there. The dive shop was super.
Restaraunt on property was very good. Very accomodating staff. We cannot wiat to come back!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to sharing your experience you had. I am sharing your feedback with all my staff in order to take note about everything you kindly pointed about our service.

I look forward to see you in a near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel was 5 star all the way. The room was beautiful and spacious, the restaurants fabulous, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had an oceanfront room with a deck that included lounge chairs, table and a hammock. The open air dining room, Caribeno, had fabulous views and it is right on the water. We rented jet skis and went diving with Scuba Du, all right on the property. We had a great time diving and snorkeling. The pools were great too! We have stayed at many 5 star resorts and this is definitely in the tops... We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Loved the beachfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about our staff & Resort.

Hopefully, we can have you back to your temporary residence very soon.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 53 in Cozumel
1,196 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 53 in Cozumel
3,853 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,936 reviews
6.6 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
5,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera a Chankanaab km 6.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £193 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa is the perfect balance of energy and ease. Adventurers love the scuba centre and nearby Chankanaab Park. Bringing the kids? The resort s Chiqui Club will keep them busy all day. When you want a slightly slower pace, you can head for our stretch of white sand, the exotic Mandara Spa or Cozumel s shops.After a 25 million dollar investment, this resort offers upgraded facilities and a unique vacation experience for the discerning traveler. The place to discover three experiences: great Dive, unique Spa treatments and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Resort And Spa
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Intercontinental Cozumel
El Presidente Cozumel
Cozumel Presidente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing