We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a resort should be!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I spent 11 nights at the Intercontinental in Cozumel. We had an upgraded superior room facing the small beach area, near the dive shop. The room had its own patio, where complimtnary coffee was served every morning, delivered by staff members on bicycle. The patio had a table and chairs, two lounge chairs, and a hammock. It was lovely. The room itself was quite spacious, with a king bed, good storage, and a comfy upholstered love seat and large round coffee table with lovely vase and flowers on it. Decor is dark wood, pure white bedding, very calming effect.The flowers were refreshed regularly. There was also a large table which my husband used as a work surface. The bathroom was very large with a separate jetted tub and shower, as well as an outdoor shower - one of the highlights of this hotel!!! The large outdoor shower has greenery growing in and around it, and has a lovely rainshower head - the blooming flowers were so pretty - I saw a hummingbird in my shower one day!!!
The bed was comfy and had really lux feeling white sheets. The hotel supplied a large straw tote and beach towels - the beach was just astepas form our room. On the beach, there are thatched palapas - each has a flag which you can put out of you want service! or you can sit at the small each bar and have lunch or drinks. The food overall is very good although not exceptional, but all ingredients were very fresh and there were many choices. The main dining room is a huge thatched affair with lovely views. Staff are friendly and they remember what you like, whether it is milk for your coffee, a certain wine, etc. There is also an Itailian white table cloth restaurant which was overly air conditioned and too empty when we ate there. Nice guitar player, though. Room service was good and prompt.
The landscaping is lush and lovely, and the arrangement of the buildings, pools, beach etc. very pleasing to the eye.
The overall atmosphere is one of serenity and simple, classic, low key comfort. It is luxury without glitz. It is soothing, filled with blue water, lovely views, and good service. Lovely.

Room Tip: The superior rooms with patios are in a wonderful location and the patio itself is a treat - I had b...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambridgtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We really apreciated every single word you wrote on your comment, thank you very much for coming and hopefully we can have you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
There are newer reviews for Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I had beeing planning this trip for a long time and we found that the Presidente Cozumel has snorkeling facility just ourside your room, this experiebce was very nice. All the Staff at the hotel are very Friendly and help you in all you need.
We are ready to come back to the hotel and invite some friendas

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are the best.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GustavoE150798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to sharing your experience you had. I am sharing your nice comments about our service with them.

We are going to be ready as soon as you decide to come back, hopefully in a near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I researched a long time for a hotel in Cozumell that offered a relaxing atmosphere with good food and most importantly one that has snorkeling right off the beach. We found it at this hotel. The service was GREAT and the staff VERY FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. The Concierge, Carlos, was very helpful with information and serivce before we arrived and during our stay. Guest Services, Jorge Luis, was very helpful and committed to our comfort. The restaurants had the most friendly waiters. While at the beach, your personal belongings were very safe and the service at your lounge chair area was great - within a minute of putting out your flag, a friendly waiter was there to service you. Our stay was excellent.

My only concern or complaint about our stay was the attempt to have us attend a high pressure condo/timeshare presentation during our check in. We refused but that experience of the pressure to join a session and get discounts on thing put a damper on our vacation and our stay at this hotel. My advise - if you are asked to get an overview of the hotel during your check in - REFUSE IT as it will be an attempt to bribe you into a high pressure sales opportuntiy.

Room Tip: Most of the ocean/beach view rooms are obstructed with lots of palm trees. Stay in the main buildin...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about our staff & Resort.

Hopefully, we can have you back to your temporary residence very soon.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Setting is perfect. Able to walkout to the ocean in several locations - a wonderful boon! Wonderful sand! Snorkeling access is probably the easiest I've ever had - the stairs were easy and not at all slippery! Tropical garden effect and well thought out walkways give it an old grand dame resort feel. Exercise room was great. Rooms were extraordinarily nice. As an ambassador, all the extra treats were great fun and a daily little surprise. View from suite was incredible. Pools, particularly adult pool, were nice. Adult pool was like having your own private place. Even the pottery painting lady at the other pool was nicer and friendlier than any we have had in 25 years of cozumel visits. Staff could not be nicer. Front desk was extremely accommodating. Bellman incredibly nice and helpful. Even timeshare type sales people were nice. Best part though had to be hanging out on the beach under thatched umbrella with wonderful rolled towel pillow under head - occasionally walking in to the ocean to cool off. Felt like we were the only ones there, but observant staff was always there to bring a towel or drink. Restaurant and bars were good, but pricey. The family sized guacamole may be the best on the island! Desserts - opera cake-was amazing. Tacos with the meat and fruit were a big hit!
Believe that 1200 pesos for a very average cup (not fancy, fruit decorated glass) absolutely nothing special sangria a bit outrageous. Also seemed that service was not as good when we requested just plain water - at one point needed to ask 4 times for a refill on water.

Room Tip: Inquire about food/drink plans
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to sharing your experience you had. I am sharing your feedback with all my staff in order to take note about everything you kindly pointed about our service.

I look forward to see you in a near future celebrating not just a second visit.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just returned from a week long vacation at Presidente Intercontinental in Cozumel. In a word SPECTACULAR! It was our first time to the island and to this hotel. It was our best vacation ever. We were there celebrating our 20 year anniversary and we brought our 2 kids as well (ages 12 & 14). Not enough adjectives to describe how good of a time we had. The resort is impeccable. We opted for the beachfront room and were blown away with it opening up to the most amazing view we'd ever seen. Room was awesome, plenty of room for the 4 of us, beds were comfortable, outdoor private shower was fantastic, and the cleaning staff did a great job making the room everyday. They would come a few times a day to replace towels, turn down sheets, and check in to see if we needed anything. If you’re considering going to Cozumel this hotel will not disappoint and I would highly recommend spending the few extra dollars for the beachfront room- simply unbelievable! The entire staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. The service by the entire staff was outstanding! We did not encounter any of the timeshare vultures at the hotel that I had read so much about in other reviews. Maybe the hotel is not allowing them on the property anymore? Food at the restaurant was excellent, a bit pricey, but we only ate a few meals there as we wanted to eat downtown for a variety. Drinks were on the expensive side but strong. We figured with it being spring break across a good portion of the country that the hotel would be busy. Not the case at all. We shared the beach with maybe 5 other people all week, had the freeform infinity pool literally to ourselves all week any time we ventured over to it, and the restaurant was nearly deserted anytime we went for a bite to eat. The snorkeling around the hotel was great and the shades of blue water left us in awe. Most beautiful water we’ve ever seen and we’ve been to Tahiti, Hawaii, Jamaica, and Bahamas. The hotel grounds are secure and they check all vehicles in at a gate. We did not rent a car but used taxis all week. There was always one available at the hotel without a wait. It cost 90 pesos to go downtown for 4 people. We explored downtown every night and ate at some great restaurants that were also mostly empty. It was a little busier when the cruise ships were in but mostly just at the shops across from the port. We felt comfortable walking around downtown at night and everyone was so friendly. On the main drag the vendors can get pretty aggressive in calling to you to come into their place of business. Saying ‘no thanks’ and keep walking worked fine for us. Plenty of taxis available at anytime and on any street corner to go back to our hotel. I did take convert some USD to pesos before we left the US so that I wouldn’t have to mess with atm right when we got there. Most places will take USD but having the pesos for taxis, tip for house keeper, etc was helpful and it seems we got a better price when paying in pesos. We took our kids to the Dolphinaris interactive dolphin experience and while it wasn’t cheap the program was excellent and they spent nearly an hour in the water with the dolphins. They absolutely loved it and we felt it was well worth the price to do it. We took one day and went on a sailing/snorkel excursion with Cozumel Sailing company (more sailing than snorkel but we wanted that) and had a blast. 6 hour tour sailing to the north part of the island, with a beach stop, great lunch on the boat, stops for snorkeling and a great sail back. Highly recommend these guys they did an awesome job. I would caution to take a Dramamine even if you do have your sea legs. Once you leave near shore there are some very big ocean swells that can make you sick if you’re not used to it. We had a great time in Cozumel and definitely have plans to go back. We would not consider staying anywhere else but at the Presidente, it was that good. One thing that sealed it for me at the end, is that the bill they presented me with at checkout matched exactly with what I had tracked all week as far as charging food, drinks, etc to the room as well as the daily hotel charge of $12 that they tell you about up front. I liked the fact there were no surprises when I had to pay the final bill and everything was on the up and up. When we first arrived at the airport to start our week I was prepared for the timeshare people based on other reviews I had read. They were aggressive and acted like they were going to give us a ride to the hotel. Bypass them and look for the big sign that says Shuttles with a lady behind the counter. It is expensive, about $10/head, but we didn’t know exactly where to walk to outside of the airport to pickup the taxis (which aren’t allowed on airport property) so we reluctantly paid the shuttle to get our vacation started. They have a monopoly there so you either have to pay or walk a good bit outside of the airport to track down a taxi. You can take a taxi to the airport, which we did when we were leaving, and that cost us about $16 in total so quite a bit less than shuttle charged us when we arrived. Honestly we have no complaints or gripes with any aspect of our trip, the island, or the hotel. One other point, many reviews made mention of the mosquito problem and getting bit quite a bit. We came armed with plenty of maximum strength bug repellant. We did not use 1 drop all week much to our surprise. Not sure if it was just the time of year or what but no mosquitos or any bugs of any kind. Someone was smiling on us I guess. Weather was perfect all week, warm 80-85 but no humidity and just as pleasant at night as it could be with a gentle breeze. The sun is very direct here and will burn you very quickly, we used plenty of sunscreen and hats and escaped with no issues. I highly recommend Cozumel and the Intercontinental!! We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Spend a little more to get beachfront room- well worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cozumel. We really appreciate your time.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcome you again very soon, to this is “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

YES!!!

While I cannot say enough about the beach, service, food and on-site dive resort, the way we were treated after we found we had bed bug bites was abominable. The resort refused to compensate us in any way. When we got home, we had to throw away our luggage on the curbside and immediately put all our clothing in the dryer in order to not contaminate our home. Attached is a photo of one of many of the bed bug bites on my husband's body: typical breakfast-lunch-dinner pattern.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank DocRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Cozumel Island!

We have received your comment concerning your last stay, on May 2011. It's been a while from there. We would like to thank you to bring this matter to our attention.

We believe you about the bites and we are very sorry for what happened to you and understand your discomfort; however we want to guarantee you that those type of stings are not from bed bugs. This is not an assumption, it is based on the inspection done in the room you had by an outside company with expertise and experience.

Considering our experience and location surrounded by tropical forest, most of the bites are caused by Baby Jellyfish, Mosquitos and Chaquistes (local name for small bugs, which usually live near the seaside and they bite in groups) and causing different reactions.

Moreover we were on the rainy season, a situation that increases the presence of different kinds of mosquitoes, despite our efforts to control them.

As we are a responsible company, and we are aware that this situation may happen with mosquitoes or sand flies, we provide all of our guest a repellent in all rooms and a letter at the check-in time to warn them about this possible.

We know how uncomfortable it can be the bites, but that is something common in a tropical area like Cozumel Island.

Sincerely,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a beautiful full service resort in a quiet location away from the center of town. The rooms are large and clean, and the level of service outstanding. The beach is beautiful and access to diving and snorkeling is on site.

Room Tip: The ocean view is worth is nice, but some of the garden views have nice patios and outdoor showers..
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trueblueinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cozumel. We really appreciate your time.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcome you again very soon, to this is “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,099 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,728 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
3,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
0.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
511 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera a Chankanaab km 6.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £171 - £686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa is the perfect balance of energy and ease. Adventurers love the scuba centre and nearby Chankanaab Park. Bringing the kids? The resort s Chiqui Club will keep them busy all day. When you want a slightly slower pace, you can head for our stretch of white sand, the exotic Mandara Spa or Cozumel s shops.After a 25 million dollar investment, this resort offers upgraded facilities and a unique vacation experience for the discerning traveler. The place to discover three experiences: great Dive, unique Spa treatments and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Cozumel
El Presidente Cozumel
Cozumel Presidente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing