We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among my worst hotel experiences ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Let me preface this by saying I’m not the type of person who takes to the internet to complain frequently, but this is such an awful experience I want to spare anyone else the misery of staying at this place. We stayed at the hotel during the Cozumel Ironman 2013, and it was quite busy. Almost from the beginning, things were not up to expectations. Upon arrival, the internet did not work, and we called the front desk who assured us they’d send IT to assist (we’re still waiting for that assistance---they never came). No problem, we were at the hotel to relax anyway. That night, we were awoken by a persistent dripping noise, which my husband kept getting up to check on, thinking the shower was leaking. Despite multiple attempts, he couldn’t locate the source of the noise and simply closed the bathroom door. The next morning, we were awoken by the sounds of lawn mowing, which began before 9am, and we discovered that the dripping noise was coming from the TOILET in the room above us (ew!).

We headed off to inform the front desk that our room was flooded with toilet water from the room above us, and went to breakfast. At breakfast, ~9:30 am, they informed us that they had no eggs in the entire hotel, and as such the breakfast menu was mostly unavailable and the buffet consisted of fruit and bread, with some quesadillas. That’s it. I’m not kidding.

We returned from breakfast to find that our bathroom was still flooded, and no one at the front desk knew anything except that maintenance had been called, but no one knew when maintenance would arrive or how the problem would be fixed. After my husband became upset, they agreed to move us to another room, only 4 doors away. When the bellman showed up to move us, he told us we were going to a room on the other side of the hotel, and we were puzzled. It turned out, the room we were originally going to be moved to had a “maintenance issue” as well!

There were numerous other issues, including awful service at breakfast, hotel restaurants that were unaccommodating to the extreme (refused to seat us in an empty restaurant even though we were guests of the hotel because we didn’t have a reservation), and a hotel location that’s extremely far from town and anything you’ll conceivably want to do off the resort.

I’m telling you this story because I want to spare you the agony of staying in a dated hotel with the worst service I’ve ever experienced. Is it likely that your room will leak toilet water? Probably not. However, will you be inconvenienced by this absolutely abysmal customer service? Almost certainly. This is the worst service I’ve ever experienced at a hotel, regardless of how many stars it purports to have. On an island with such awesome weather and so much to do, you’re much better off spending your time and money elsewhere.

Claire

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cct1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa!

We would like to thank you for taking your time and share your comments, believe me your feedback is really appreciated, we have taken notes of your pleasant recommendations.

We are really sorry for not meeting your expectations; although we never want to know that one of our guest does not has had good experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements.

We will be very please if you allow us to serve you once again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

My 21 year old son and I just returned from a stay at the Presidente, and we loved it. Food was a little pricey but very good. Room was clean and comfortable, and all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Dive boat took off every day from a dock at the resort which was very convenient. We did 6 dives in 4 days at some spectacular dive sites. Had a blast. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhart19912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to sharing your experience you had. I am sharing your nice comments about our service with the them and Scuba Du.

We are going to be ready as soon as you decide to come back, hopefully in a near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. On the shuttle drive from the airport to the hotel, I became anxious as we drove through the crowded streets dropping folks off at dated looking facilities but then our shuttle drove up to the Presidente and my fears drifted away. It was removed from the busyness of Cozumel and was very private and safe. We left only once during our 6 day stay. The food, while expensive, was very good. We liked the fact there was a kids' menu for our children to choose from; however, adding a taco and rice/beans would be a nice addition on that menu as my children grew tired of french fries by the end. The room was comfortable. The property was quite (one of the perks to going in November). The snorkeling was fabulous. Our daughter, who is 5, was able to have a great first snorkeling experience in the little lagoon/beach area there on the property. The last day we were there it was windy and cold but our kids were completely satisfied to play in the heated family pool.
We only had a couple cons: While advertised, there was no playground (my daughter was a bit disappointed by this). We asked the front desk about Chankanaab on Sunday and they told us it was open and a walkable distance so we took off walking. After an hour plus of walking along a busy road with our two small kids we arrived to the park to find out it was closed. With no taxis in sight we had to walk (another hour) back to the hotel. We also had a misunderstanding with the tour desk at the hotel in booking our dolphin encounter. The gentleman at the hotel told us that a one-way taxi ride was included n the package we purchased; however, after the encounter the employee at the dolphin place told us that was not the case and we ended up having to pay for the return taxi.
Overall we were very pleased and would recommend this hotel to friends and would consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate_G222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and share your comments, believe me your feedback is really appreciated, we have taken notes of your pleasant recommendations.

We are going to be ready as soon as you decide to come back, hopefully in a near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had rocky start w room ac not working properly but they moved us to fabulous beach front room after they couldn't remedy the problem and that made all difference. All Staff was very attentive and friendly and location and atmosphere was fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We really apreciated every single word you wrote on your comment, thank you very much for your visit and hopefully we can have you back very soon and share together this little piece of heaven.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my wife and 2 small kids for a week. If you are used to 4-5 star hotels and resort experience, this property falls short of amenties, restaurant selection and activities for kids and adults. The hotel is about 10 mins taxi ride from downtown and you will have to go there for lunch and dinner every day, since the selection is poor at the hotel.

The hotel was about 15% occupied and we asked for a bigger room since we had 2 small kids with us and the front desk wanted to charge us an addtional $100/night for this. Given i got a room for $150/night on Priceline, this was too large a premium. The front desk manager (Jesus - i think) choose to rather keep us unhappy in our small room - not the greatest customer centric attitude!

I would not choose this hotel if we ever came back to Cozumel, sorry. For the housekeeping and resturant staff - good work, no issues there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanju44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Manager at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa!

We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your comments on TripAdvisor; believe me your feedback is really appreciated, we have taken notes of your pleasant recommendations.

We are really sorry for not meeting your expectations; although we never want to learn that a guest has had a not a good experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements.

We are pleased if you will allow us the opportunity to regain your confidence in the future.

Cordially,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Cozemul. November is the best time to be there. Incredible service, food and atmosphere. If interested in acquiring diving certificate for yourself or kids....the best place to be....my 14 yr old son got a diving certificate....excellent instructor....easy access from the hotel...high comfort level....perfect place to get trained.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time and share the experience you had at our Resort. I am sharing as well your kind comments about our service with all the team and Scuba Du our dive shop.

Hopefully we can have you back at your home away from home in a near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had an AWESOME time at this facility. GREAT service and staff attitude, all them very friendly and warm. Alfredo D Roma and the Napa restaurants were excellent dinner options. Breakfast-lunch at Caribeño restaurant were also very appealing to our taste. Guitar player over restaurant for dinner is nice and tranquil.

Room was very nice and clean, outside private shower is very nice and relaxing¡¡ Gorgeous ocean view and very nice access to beach. Very nice ammenities, BEAUTIFUL details over the room every day as we advised about our visit ocassion. They paid attention to every single detail¡

We rented a SUP (stand up paddle) board and had a terrific time paddling on the seas nearby hotel. Beach area is very private, with calm crystal waters.

November good time for visiting as hotel was not full .Even over rainy days our stay here was memorable and peaceful...Looking forward to come back soon for sure¡

Room Tip: beach level rooms over south side are gorgeous¡
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JavierPizana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you, we appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our resort, It was a pleasure to serve you like always.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, the hotel beach and the friendliness of our staff.

We hope you visit us once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Henry Walther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
3 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,775 reviews
6.6 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
4,919 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera a Chankanaab km 6.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £190 - £614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa is the perfect balance of energy and ease. Adventurers love the scuba centre and nearby Chankanaab Park. Bringing the kids? The resort s Chiqui Club will keep them busy all day. When you want a slightly slower pace, you can head for our stretch of white sand, the exotic Mandara Spa or Cozumel s shops.After a 25 million dollar investment, this resort offers upgraded facilities and a unique vacation experience for the discerning traveler. The place to discover three experiences: great Dive, unique Spa treatments and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Cozumel
El Presidente Cozumel
Cozumel Presidente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing