We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Sweetwater, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Christmas Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent the week of Christmas at the Presidente in Cozumel and had a wonderful time. The rooms were nice and everyone at the hotel was friendly. Food was good, not great. The trip to town was easy and we went in a couple of times to eat. We used the dive shop at the IC and they did a very good job of taking care of us and our equipment. The air conditioning at this resort was the best we have ever had in Cozumel. As always the diving was great!

Room Tip: We upgraded to ocean view and had a corner suite. Would have preferred an ocean front, but they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweet79556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you, we appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our resort, It was a pleasure to serve you like always.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, the hotel beach and the friendliness of our staff.

We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    330
    99
    26
    20
See reviews for
452
697
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We just returned from the IC in Merida and Cozumel. What a world of difference between the two. Cozumel's IC upheld and exceeded our expectations and perceptions gained from IC's across 4 continents. The entrance itself makes for a pleasant arrival and a noticeable effort is made by staff to remember your surname and accommodate your requirements. We decided to upgrade and Jorge (exceptionally friendly and attentive) recommended to Ocean Suite, which came at good value. We just fell in love with the place the moment we walked in. If you do upgrade, try for room 1501 as it's on the left corner of the building and has two exceptional views. Great balcony, comfy bed and a bathroom the size of what we were expecting our room to be. We will cherish the memory of sitting in the huge bathtub looking at the sun and cruise ships set off for the day. Swimming pool maybe a bit warm, but the (small) beach was clear and lovely to dip in. Service all round good, including the beach service. Dinner (slightly pricey) and breakfast was fine! We really loved our stay and would not hesitate to come back nor recommend to friends and family. If someone from the hotel reads this please pass on our thanks and appreciation to the team in general and Jorge (at reception) in specific.


  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eiriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at the Resort. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter, I am sharing your nice comments with all the team and specially with Jorge our Front Desk Manager.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at this “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
234 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Let me start by saying that I would definitely stay here again. The hotel is supposed to be a leading hotel of the world but while I found the property great I found the service far below what I've experienced at other leading hotels of the world. First of all the rooms are gorgeous. The bed was comfy and the balcony with the ocean view was spectacular. The bathroom was nice with a rain water shower and great soaps/shampoos. The beach is really gorgeous but it is not the kind of beach that you can walk into the water like in Cancun/Playa del Carmen. INstead the island is coral and the sand beach ends at a wall with steps into the water. THere are 2 smaller beaches where you can walk into the water but they were more crowded. If you want miles of white sand and a stroll into the water this might not be the place for you. What was spectacular, however, is the snorkeling right off the bottom of the steps. I think it was the best snorkeling I've seen in the Caribbean. A great variety of fish, rays, barracuda, eels and pretty fan coral. I loved it because it was the best of both worlds - spacious beach with plenty of room for chairs to spread out and yet great snorkeling as soon as you hit the water.

So what am I complaining about? THe service was really non existent on the beach. No one brought cold water as they do in most luxury hotels. No little snacks, no waiter to take a drink order unless you walked all the way to the restaurant. In fairness I complained and then we did get some waiter service on the beach. No one sets up your chair and if you're sitting far down the beach you need to schlep your own towels etc. The Concierge, Sonye was great and every recommendation she gave was right on.

Also I was shocked that the grass around the tennis courts was overgrown and badly in need of a cutting. I was shocked when the cut the lawns around the courts but left the immediate area overgrown. I complained after 2 days and they finally cut the lawn. I called in advance to ask about the tennis courts and was told they had balls for us to use. The balls were dead, dead, dead. I complained again and they got me 2 cans of new balls. My advice if you are going for tennis (the course are great and rarely used) bring your own balls.

The food is just ok. Again the breakfast buffet seemed very understaffed with respect to getting the food out. The rest of the food for lunch and dinner is just ok and extremely overpriced! Beware, most entrees were $40 and above and not at all worth the cost. The good news is that there are plenty of great restaurants in town which is a short taxi ride away. THe food in town is not expensive at all and well worth it. And forget about the spa - a massage was about $200. Also the hotel has a policy where they don't change money. You better bring your own dollars and small bills because they won't give you anything back in US.

Be careful if you want to rent a car. It is fantastic to drive around the other side of the island where it is largely unspoiled and untouched. The car rentals sound cheap but the mandatory insurance more than doubles the rate. Still it is worth it for the day.

So there are a lot of little things I didn't love about the hotel but all in all the great far outweighed the bad. A little attention to the hotel from the management can really make it truly a leading hotel of the world.

Room Tip: I really liked to be close to the beach and the rooms on the south end have a wider beach and are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa!

We would like to thank you for taking your time and share your comments, believe me your feedback is really appreciated, we have taken notes of your pleasant recommendations.

We are really sorry for not meeting your expectations; although we never want to know that one of our guest does not has had good experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements.

We will be very please if you allow us to serve you once again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome and easy check in. Martin, a staff member, showed us a couple of room at our request. He was so informative, pleasant and helpful in our room selection. Our reef room was in the 3000 section. We could walk 20 ft. to the water. Our patio had a hammock, table, chairs & lounger. The beach had lapa lapa with chaise lounges. Our room was nice size, large bathroom with amenities & bottled water,also straw bag(nice touch) with bug spray & beach towels. It was the day of the Super Bowl. A big screen TV, appetizers & drinks were set up in outdoor dinning room. Mexico is a soccer country,but they made it very special for us.The dive shop was great. Oliver arranged the dives, conducted the refresher course & took underwater pics. He was outgoing & knowledgeable. We enjoyed breakfast every morning. The entire staff was so attentive & saw that all needs were filled. Yasmin was a young lady that knew what you needed before you did! In fact, all the staff from the desk, housekeeping, gardeners, food service, concierge seemed to enjoy & like their jobs. That speaks well for management. The general manager, Mr. Henry Walther, was very gracious & available. He was often seen around the property. Everything was exceptionally clean & manicured. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabb1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cozumel. We really appreciate your time and I will share this comments with our staff an Scuba Du.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcome you again very soon, to this “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Can't wait to go back! Excellent service! Secluded. Plenty of activities to do at resort. I suggest a reef room. Snorkeling is great. Food is good. You are close to the shops and restaurants, if you want to venture out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Reed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for have been writing and have been sharing your comments. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team services and facilities. I certainly know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cordially,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was my fourth stay at the Presidente Cozumel and once again it was outstanding!! Our pool view room with outdoor shower was spotless and the air conditioning works perfectly. The grounds are meticulously cared for and each and every staff member goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed. We enjoyed eating at the restaurant and ordering room service. Our stay was quiet and we spent time at the beach and at the adult pool. The internet unfortunately does not consistently work however, this really is the only fault I can find. Snorkeling is wonderful and I hope to be able to return next year!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tekko1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you !

We certainly appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our resort, It was a real pleasure.

Hopefully you can visit us once again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Heights, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

When booking our vacation, my wife and I decided on Cozumel. Since neither of us had been there before, we went on trip advisor to check the places out. Presidente Intercontinental was rated the highest and for good reason. The room was great, the food was excellent, the staff were most helpful, the snorkeling was great. Everything was exactly how people had said it was. It was very quiet, relaxing. We would definately come back to Cozumel and to this hotel. There is no need to try to find anything better.

Room Tip: Reef rooms have a great view of the ocean. Pool view rooms are very quiet and have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review and positive comments which I am sharing with all the team.

It is very rewarding to read comments like yours since our main goal is to exceed guests' expectations. We continue working on innovation, being authentic and original, and most important in satisfying our customers every time.

I am glad you had another memorable stay and we look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,574 reviews
7.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
4.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Property: Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera a Chankanaab km 6.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa is the perfect balance of energy and ease. Adventurers love the scuba centre and nearby Chankanaab Park. Bringing the kids? The resort s Chiqui Club will keep them busy all day. When you want a slightly slower pace, you can head for our stretch of white sand, the exotic Mandara Spa or Cozumel s shops.After a 25 million dollar investment, this resort offers upgraded facilities and a unique vacation experience for the discerning traveler. The place to discover three experiences: great Dive, unique Spa treatments and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Resort And Spa
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Intercontinental Cozumel
El Presidente Cozumel
Cozumel Presidente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing