We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run, don't walk, to this Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
SAUSALITO, CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk, to this Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

We went to Cozumel for the first time to dive. The staff was excellent, rooms clean, cool, and, above all quiet. And got a great rate. Other friends who stayed in "all inclusive" places were dissapointed with the food, the loud party goers who drink too much "free" beer and how they charge for every little thing they can (including water and ice!). Not at this first class hotel. We were not charged for anything we did not order and were never approached by salesmen.

We dove everyday and they let outside boats pick us up at the hotel dock for free (it costs up to $6.00 USD per person at the all inclusive joints.) This was important because we we reviewing other dive companies.

In any event, the best place on Cozumel, by far.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    330
    99
    26
    20
See reviews for
452
697
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

We loved our time at the Presidente! From the moment we arrived (to cold towels and water) to the time we left (completely relaxed), we felt completely pampered. The resort itself is beautiful and constant care from the employees keeps it utterly immaculate! Being right off of a great reef means you can snorkel as much as you want. We went on another snorkeling trip in Cancun and thought the snorkeling right outside our room at the Presidente was much better. The staff is attentive without being overbearing. They addressed us by name, and stopped to ask us how everything was going on more than one occasion. We were very impressed. They also provide free water everyday, and WiFi is free as well. Plus, all the rooms were recently renovated (at the end of May), and they are beautiful! We started out in a oceanfront room (5225) which was beautiful with a great hammock swing on our balcony. We ended up moving to a walk-out room right off the north beach (3109), and it was amazing! We could walk right out onto the beach, and we had breakfast on our patio every morning. It was incredible!

We ate breakfast every morning at the Caribeno or ordered room service from the restaurant. Wow, it was so delicious! The best breakfast food we had the whole trip. We ate lunch most days at the cafe on the beach, and we were very impressed. The nachos were wonderful. We ate at Alfredo di Romo's one night, and it was great, although not our favorite meal on Cozumel. The fish was very fresh, and our waiter, Victor, was great. Both restaurants were very beautiful, especially at night. We went into town a few times. It's easy (they keep cabs ready and waiting at the resort) and inexpensive (90 pesos).

We also used Scuba Du, and we were so impressed. It was my fist time in the open water, and they made it very easy. Having them right in front of the resort was really convenient. It was a great diving experience. They also rent snorkel equipment if you need it for $15 a day.

We were really able to relax at this resort, which is exactly what we wanted. There wasn't any nightlife at this hotel, which was perfect for us. The beach is beautiful, as are the pools. One of the pools is adults only, although we were never disturbed by any of the kids staying at the resort. In fact, it felt like there was always a vast amount of space between us and the other guests because the resort was so empty. We didn't have any trouble getting a palapa on the beach or chairs at the pool at anytime during the day. It was really sad to see everything in Mexico so empty, but it worked out in our favor, as we received great service everywhere we went. If you can, go to Mexico right now! And stay at the Presidente! It was worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millieColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Presidente in May 09 (Memorial Day weekend).
Due to the swine flu, no cruise ship stopped in Mexico, so the island was basically empty. The hotel was kind enough to give us an upgrade to a ocean view room (5205, the south aisle, probably the best place to stay in the hotel). The North side of the resort was under some sort of updating.
Great welcome cocktail; great room overlooking a nice beach. Snorkeling from the beach was awesome with a wreck just a hundred feet offshore.
We got picked up one morning from one of the pier by our dive boat (Paradise) but there's an in-house Dive shop (Scuba Du) that looks good too.
Great cocktails (it's not all inclusive so it's not free, 110 pesos per cocktail, with 2 for 1 during Happy hour). The food on the beach was fine too, esp the beef tacos. 90 pesos cab ride gets you to the town and fine restaurants. We didn't try the hotel dinner restaurant, but it looked pretty good. My wife enjoyed a spa treatment (body wrap + massage, and loved it. 120 USD if I remember correctly).
Unfortunately, no great sunset on Playa del Carmen due to clouds there, but on a clear evening it must be awesome.
Great stay overall, we will definitely come back. We met a couple from OK there and they stayed there 15 times, tried all the other hotels on the island and consider it the best.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olistina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed at the presidente for 3 nights following our wedding which took place at Mr. Sancho's. Every staff we encountered was very friendly and helpful. Our room (a suite) was very nice, had a comfortable bed, and excellent view. We ate at the italian restaurant and although it was good we were not overly impressed. The breakfast buffet at the outdoor restaurant was good and we had awesome chicken nachos there the first night we checked in. We like to exercise and although there was a gym on site it was small and the ceiling leaked constantly. I think if the hotel was all inclusive I could accept the price however as is stands I don't think it is worth what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sodak1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

4th return to the "Presidente", each trip has been great over 25 years, with many upgrades. About 3 miles south of town, perfect for relaxing, great beaches, great service, very clean. Scuba pickup right outside room, being south of town makes the ride out quick. Food was great at both restaurants, but town is just a short drive away. It's a very classy but friendly place that I would not hesitate to recommend. Get a rental car at the airport as part of a timeshare tour deal ($70/week), and it makes traveling around the island much easier. Very plush. You can go cheaper, but not discernibly better. No cost WiFi. 2 great pools, very private. Great deals out there with Swine flu paranoia!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkjboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chilisbud
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

It is really a shame that this hotel is so quiet. It is an absolutely great place, amazing staff and one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in (i have been to may ritz carltons and Four Seasons hotels). As I sit here now looking from my bed at an absolutely beautiful ocean, I wonder why people are still afraid to come! There is by far, more swine flu in NYC. If you want a great quiet vacation, do not delay, Mexico is the place to be right now.

I was so pleasantly surprised by the Presidente Intercontinental.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chilisbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

Good hotel, clean rooms and friendly staff. Great place to rest and relax. The best thing of this hotel is the beach reef, snorkel all day long. Restaurant was very good, not very happy to have the managers of the hotel eating next to guests, but can stand it, seen worse things. Flag your waiter with time at the beach, they take up to 10 minutes to see that you are calling them. Rooms are very spacious with a nice LCD TV. Tub in room is a little small but ok. Overall, nice place and can guarantee this is the best hotel in Cozumel, been there well over 15 times.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vallesano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
7.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
4.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#8 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Property: Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera a Chankanaab km 6.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa is the perfect balance of energy and ease. Adventurers love the scuba centre and nearby Chankanaab Park. Bringing the kids? The resort s Chiqui Club will keep them busy all day. When you want a slightly slower pace, you can head for our stretch of white sand, the exotic Mandara Spa or Cozumel s shops.After a 25 million dollar investment, this resort offers upgraded facilities and a unique vacation experience for the discerning traveler. The place to discover three experiences: great Dive, unique Spa treatments and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and IHG so you can book your Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Resort And Spa
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Intercontinental Cozumel
El Presidente Cozumel
Cozumel Presidente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing