We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great service - pricey but worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great service - pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed at the Presidente Intercontinenal Cozumel over the Christmas/New Year's holiday in December 2009. The hotel is beautiful and very well run. The staff is extremely service oriented and nearly all speak excellent English. We stayed in ocean view rooms on the second level on the north side of the property. The rooms were very large and very well appointed with great balconies overlooking the beach. A nice feature was that our two rooms, while not adjoining, shared a common foyer (in our case with a door that closed/locked to the outside) so that we could leave our room doors open while we were in and easily walk from room to room. The hotel is rather expensive for Cozumel and even more so over the holiday week. We thought that the ocean view rooms hit the right combination of price to value. However, having seen the ground floor beach front rooms, from which you can walk directly out to the beach, we'd be tempted to pay the additional price for one of these. At a lower price point, you can have an interior room overlooking one of the pools and gardens. These rooms looked very nice but you wouldn't have the ocean view. The beach on the north side, where we stayed, was quieter and seemed more private than the south side. However, on the north side of the property is the entrance to a marina that lots of dive boats use, so the water on the north side is choppier due to boat wakes, and you hear the boats leaving the marina (we didn't mind the boats' sound, but some might). On the south side of the property, the beach seemed busier (had a volleyball net, and was more exposed to the restaurant), but the snorkeling was better there due to the presence of an old suken barge that attracts a lot of fish. Both beaches have nice piers to allow snorkelers and swimmers to walk out over the shore front coral easily. There's also a small sandy beach right in the center of the resort for easy wading and sand play for small children. There are two swimming pools -- the one in the center if for everyone and is close to the restaurant; there is an adults only pool tucked away in a garden that is very pleasant and was nearly empty. It might be worth looking at rooms in multiple locations upon check in to find a spot that suits you best. On the beach the staff serves food and drink directly to you -- no need to move. The main restaurant is right on the water and has a great buffet for all three meals. There's also an a la carte menu. We thought the food was great - everything from gourmet Mexican to sandwiches, steaks and fantastic seafood. We found almost no need to go into town to eat. There's an Italian restaurant as well that is very good. It gets rave reviews, but it's not as good as the best Italian restaurants in major US cities. You can get just about anything from either restaurant for room service and eat in your room overlooking the ocean. Room service wasn't much different in price than the restaurant and they make it quite special, bring table clothes and flowers along with the food. One small complaint is that upon check in, there was quite a hard sell to get us to attend a breakfast to hear about some type of membership plan ("not a time share" they said). We had to be extremely firm in declining -- not a good way to start our visit. A final comment is that during our stay, the hotel was probably only one-third filled (and even less when we arrived before Christmas). This made the propretry extremely private, but this is probably not typical.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at the Resort. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter.

I look forward to welcome you again very soon, to this “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    329
    99
    26
    20
See reviews for
452
696
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Spring Break vacation for family of four - w/two young children 8 & 5. We're scuba certified and went diving every day...along with some 'free' night dives off the resort beach. All the diving was superb. We also have dived in Aruba, Hawaii, GBR. The night dives was amazing - I saw everything possible - lobster, crab, cuddle, hermit crab, worm...huge eel at the wreck off the beach.
The resort was very nice, the food and service were above average. Kids even enjoyed the food which says a lot. Went into town a few nights and enjoyed the nightlife and culture of Cozumel. Overall, great value! It's very, very quiet and relaxing and elegant thus may not be the best choice for young kids - limited activities for kids.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schiedey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at the Resort. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter.

I look forward to welcome you again very soon, to this “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

The hotel is very nice and the service is wonderful. The food is more expensive than I am used to in Mexico, but everything we had was good. Having been to Cozumel numerous times, I would say that there are many places to eat in town that are just as good or better at half the price. The standard beachfront rooms are very nice and spacious. No complaints about the room at all. The grounds are well kept and the pool and beach area are also very clean. Lots of chairs and palapas, it really felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time. The biggest piece of advice I can give is to bring plenty of bug spray if you are going anytime soon. The mosquitos are the worst I have ever seen on Cozumel. Forget about being outside anytime near or after dark. I can't recall ever noticing a real problem with bugs, but this time it was horrible. We were constantly killing them in the room. I also noticed several babies at the airport that had bites all over their faces. Parents may want to find a repellent that is o.k. for use on babies, if there is such a thing, and bring it with you. Hopefully the mosquito situation is under control soon, but just wanted to pass this on so visitors can go prepared.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajundiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry W, Gerente at Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at the Resort. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter.

I look forward to welcome you again very soon, to this “su casa” in Cozumel.

Warmest regards,

Henry Walther
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEXAS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

I've been meaning to write a review of the El Presidente for a long time. Over the past 2 years I have visited the El pres 4 times. Twice with my wife once with one or more families.
The El Presidente is the most luxurious and expensive hotel in Cozumel...Always has been....... The El Pres is best for families or couples .......Its very romantic and if you don't visit during school holidays you won't see any kids. I've been staying at the El Pres for over 20 years and it never has been the best place for partying singles....Its just not the center of singles excitement .
As I said before the El Pres has always been the nicest hotel in Cozumel but after the hurricane several years back it was nearly wiped out. The good news is that they spent nearly 35 million on the remodel and it is now at its peak ! You'll find fine high thread count linens, nice soaps and towels,Large flat screen televisions, and generally nice sized rooms. wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel including the beach for those of you that like to saty plugged in. The room service is great and the service throughout the hotel is excellent. The spa is lame and overpriced so don't bother with it. The best rooms at the El Presidente are the Beach Front superior rooms(4100's). with the reef rooms coming in a close second. If you are fortunate enough to stay in one of these rooms your room is actually on the beach........ no walking through a large hotel lobby or taking an elevator open your door and your on it. Also these rooms are the most secluded for romantic getaways. They serve drinks and food at the beach and 2 swimming pools(all recently remodeled) You can have breakfast in your room or in the big Palapa out on the water where they serve a nice buffet everyday. I prefer the room service to the dinner and lunch menu in the restaraunt though the fajita nachos are perfectly decent. They have a high end italian restaurant (Alfredos I think) on the premises its pretty god but expensive and you can order off Alfredos menu for room service which is nice. In general their is plenty of good food in town and You'll eat breakfast at the hotel and head out for dinner unless your feeling lazy and want room service. The in house dive shop Scuba Du is just fine. They can accommodate just about anything you want. They certified my eleven year old. And if you dive with them they handle all your gear and clean it and take it to and from the boat etc and stor it until your next dive. It is possible to have other dive operators pick you up at the El Pres but the currents can be intense and they don't always want to. I sometimes dive with Anita Divers that docks at the marina next door. You can charter their huge, comfortable, but old boat for a fraction of what ScubaDu charges. I have been diving with them for more than twenty years. http://www.anitadiverscozumel.net/ ok back to the El Pres. The Reef outside the El Pres used to be a beautiful place to scuba dive and its still interesting at the little boat wreck there but the reef itself was trashed by several hurricanes. Their is usually a light current and you can dive in at one end of the hotel and have a nice drift snorkel down to the other end. I always feel secure at the El Presidente I have no problem letting my nine year old have the run of the place. The biggest trouble they will find are the giant iguanas that have the run of the place. I always call the hotel direct in Cozumel to make my reservation I have found this to be the best way to get things done. They have a car rental on site which generally strokes upper end tourists staying their but with a little persistence they give in or you can always call Freddy over at alamo and have him deliver you a car at a reasonable price. For families I cant stress the benefit of staying right on the beach when a trip back to the room isn't a 20 minute ordeal but 2minutes that any child can mange on their own. One more thing the hotel has a really nice simple elegant architecture about it.
with lots of plants...You'll love it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Niktebul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

AMAZING STAY, and amazing service right to the tee. Loved every second of our stay. Would stay here again in a heart beat. Great diving trips. Staff and management are HIGHLY dedicated to their guests. I can attest to that.

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

My best friend and I needed a getaway... El Presidente was so great that we didnt leave the hotel for 7 days. =)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SatoriInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

As soon as we got to the hotel we had a warm welcome from all the departments. We were especially impressed with the girls from the club, they gave us cold drinks and towels, and they gave us some good recommendations for some places to eat.

We liked the hotel, the food, the service, and really liked the little animals they made from towels on our bed every day.

When we arrived to the airport we were bombarded from timeshare sales people, we recommend to avoid them, and go straight to the taxi counter to buy your ticket. We made the mistake of letting the guy we met at customs talk us into going to a presentation in playa del Carmen for a free car rental, and ending up wasting a full day of our vacation in a sales room with four different high pressure sales people.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zcrane297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,570 reviews
7.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
4.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#9 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa

Property: Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera a Chankanaab km 6.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cozumel Resort & Spa is the perfect balance of energy and ease. Adventurers love the scuba centre and nearby Chankanaab Park. Bringing the kids? The resort s Chiqui Club will keep them busy all day. When you want a slightly slower pace, you can head for our stretch of white sand, the exotic Mandara Spa or Cozumel s shops.After a 25 million dollar investment, this resort offers upgraded facilities and a unique vacation experience for the discerning traveler. The place to discover three experiences: great Dive, unique Spa treatments and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Resort And Spa
Presidente Intercontinental Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Intercontinental Cozumel
El Presidente Cozumel
Cozumel Presidente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing