We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the Mark for a Romantic Honeymoon”
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Palace from 23-29 May for our honeymoon. We upgraded to Concierge level before we arrived and our room was beautiful. The Palace is a great resort with service that is second to none; it just didn’t really meet our expectations for a romantic honeymoon destination. We have visited Cozumel before, but this was our first time at the Palace.
We let the resort know this was our honeymoon, and received the very nice honeymoon package, including cake, sparkling wine and a romantic dinner (which wasn’t…but I’ll get to that). Our room was located on the 4th floor with an ocean view. However, the noise from the hallways woke us nightly, and a baby in a room a couple of doors down cried quite a bit. We could hear it even with closed doors, and the parents walked it up and down the halls to quiet it. I understand that the Palace is not an adults-only resort, but we would have like to have been in a more secluded part of the hotel as honeymooners.
There were a couple of weddings at the resort during the time we were there. Unfortunately, the large groups made more of a party atmosphere than we would have liked. The pool was often crowded, and on the night we had our "romantic" dinner (party of the honeymoon package) in the Italian restaurant, there were two large groups at tables nearby who were so loud we had to yell to have a conversation. We finally asked for our desserts to be delivered to our room.
We had previously stayed at an adults-only resort on Cozumel. The food at the Palace was far superior, but the drinks are so watered down it is ridiculous. We drank all week (and I’m a “lightweight” when it comes to alcohol) and never really felt a buzz. We joked that we should have bought some tequila in town to bring down to the pool to add to our drinks or brought liquor down from the minibar in the room.
Overall, the Palace is a great resort for snorkeling, the free credits, the food and especially the service. Our waiters and service staff (Gabriel, Fili and Chubby were all great) were wonderful and attentive. If we were traveling with family or a larger group, it would probably have been just what we wanted (aside from the noise and the watered down drinks). But for a romantic honeymoon, it missed the mark for us this time.

Room Tip: As for a high floor, far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,894 - 2,900 of 3,857 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

Since I am a seasoned traveler to this destination and have stayed at many hotels on the Island, I will have to admit that even though there is no beach I am going to rate this as the best hotel on the Island! From the service to the food it was just fabulous! At this particular hotel we witnessed 3 weddings, all of which looked absolutely beautiful. The only downfall if you like the beach they do not have one. Honestly I didn't even mind or notice that at all. I spent most of my days on excursions (provided by the hotel) the rest of the time was spent by the pool, eating or drinking.
If you have kids I woudl probably go elsewhere and they did not have any nightlight but they are so close to town that you can walk to Senor Frogs or Tik i Toc so all in all, we will be returning next May to enjoy a week of food, fun, and sun/

Room Tip: Jr. STE only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lablover53132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I traveled to the Cozumel Palace in May with her sister and husband. We have been to many of the Palace Resorts and never had a bad experience, this was no exception.

I’ll just focus on what makes this Palace resort different then the others. They all have the best service, good food and spotless properties but this had an additional charm.

I like to snorkel and my brother-in-law was there to snorkel and dive. The snorkeling on the premises was great. To be able to gear up and walk right into the water was very convenient. We saw so many different fish I was amazed. We saw a 5’ Barracuda, 3 small sting rays, parrot fish, angle fish, puffer fish and many others. Then just get out, shower off, rinse off your gear and you’re back at the pool bar in an hour or less. We snorkeled at least once a day.

The diving was also very good and convenient. The tour boat would pick my brother-in-law up at 8:00 AM and he’d be back by noon. The tours, he said, were all very good. He raved about each dive after his return. He’s an experienced diver and has been to many areas in the world to dive so he’s not that easily impressed.

Just to speak of the service for a moment. If you have been to Palace resorts you know the staff will do whatever they can for you. Here appeared to be even a little more. They would say at dinner, whatever you want I’ll get it, don’t be shy, just ask and they meant it. You could have Sushi or the Chorizo and Cheese appetizer at the Italian, Pasta or Carpaccio at the Mexican, whatever. It made it easy to pick a place for all four to eat at because you could get anything you wanted. They would bring you a menu from each, it was exceptional.

Great trip, it was our first stay on the island and there is no doubt we’ll return.

Room Tip: Ocean View for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emasonry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just got back last night from a week at the Cozumel Palace and I must say that it lived up to all of our expectations. Traveled with my wife Lesia and 12 year old Braxton. We thought that he might get bored, but was welcomely surprised that there we alot of families vacationing there. There is no way I could begin to tell you how friendly and hard working the people of the Palace are. Never lacking for a drink or food, you would never have to get up off the lounge chairs. They would take your order for both and always do it with a smile. The food was wonderful, never lacking in taste, sure you might want more seasoning on your eggs and hasbrowns in the am, but we thought that everything was very good. You do have to remember that you are not in the US, where the thought of over seasoning has gotten to be a habit. The room was fabulous, was always clean, the maid was wonderful, and they still would knock on the door to see if you needed anything else. Braxton had his share of room service with cheese fries and cheeseburgers, but ate quite abit off the menus at all the resturants, even did the sushi thing out by the pool.
The Resort Credits were a big plus , with us having two romantic dinners, because Braxton wanted the lobster on one ocasion, we had the 80 minute couples message, went on the snorkel trip with Aquaworld which was great, and purchased all the pictures on a cd disc and 4 printed pictures. I can't imagine any resort doing more for it's guest than this one.
The snorkeling off the resort was good, but not fantastic, and not having a beach to walk on was missed, but we new that ahead of time and were not realy dissapointed. Some of the people there that stuck in our minds for making this a perfect vacation for us for being so personal would be Julio at the pool bar, Luis and Chubby (Andres) for never letting that drinks run dry, the whole activity staff of David, Daniel, Gabriel, and Manuella. At breakfast, the waiters Gabriel and Fransisco were really great. These are just a few of the personnel there bacause everyone was so very nice and took care of all of our wants.
If your wanting to party alot and late, this is not your kind of place, but if you want to relax, party a little, and get rid of the everyday blues and rush, the Cozumel Palace will take car of all your needs.
Cozumel is a wonderful place to vacation, very safe and clean, and one of the most beautiful islands. This was our 4th trip to Coz, but the first at the Palace Resort. Gracious my amigos for making our trip so special and you will be missed.
Mr .Clay

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a great time at Cozumel Palace. My wife and I were married there, and had 56 family and friends attend. Nice, spacious rooms. The food was a huge step up from what we've previously experienced at another resort on the island. Unbelievable staff. They are extremely nice and bend over backwards for any request. Our wedding was fantastic, as was the reception afterwards. We will definitely stay at Cozumel Palace on our next trip to Cozumel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crscott79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We have stayed at Beach Palace and Cancun Palace and loved them but the divers in our family wanted to try Cozumel Palace. Went there for them and turned out not to be a sacrifice at all. The rooms are large - with a seating area that includes a small couch, two chairs and tables . It was great for when we ordered room service - which has a very large and varied menu. The ocean front balcony view can not be beat. Every morning I got up and told the family "Another beautiful day in paradise!" The sunsets are even better. The pool area is great with staff members who work hard to meet everyones needs. There isn't really a beach, but a great dock for snorkeling off of and we saw a lot of marine life and wished we had skipped using our Resort Credit $ for the Snorkeling Adventure tour there was more to see at the resort. Would recommend using your Palace $ for the Romantic Dinner and Chankanaab Park tours. The Dophin swim was mostly about taking photos and them selling them to you - don't buy any at the price offered they will offer you deals and don't leave without seeing if you got what you paid for. We had read negative reviews about the dive shop but our guys thought they did a great job. Only problems we had was that of the $1500 credit only $150 could be used for scuba diving and $300 for spa.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank ABCMom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We were completely satisfied with our stay at the Palace. The food was wonderful! Sooo many choices at breakfast! We ate at all the restaurants as well as the outdoor grill. Food presentation was exceptional. Service was superb! Never wanted for anything! Hotel is close to cruise ship terminal so shopping is close by. We used our credits to swim with the dolphins, upgrade wine, pictures, and spa services. Snorkeled at the hotel as well as at Chakunaub. Shows, food, activities all reminded us of a cruise ship but with more perks.
The only complaint would be the double beds. Not very comfortable for two people. Next time will book the loft suite. We had three teenagers with us in two rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Landmark Resort of Cozumel
3.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,946 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 53 in Cozumel
5,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Address: Av Rafael E. Melgar km 1.5 | Zona Hotelera Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £282 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing