We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience”
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We are never disappointed with Cozumel Palace. This was our 16th trip to the island and we love the friendly people. The food is very good with fresh fruit and eggs, omelets or pancakes made to order for breakfast. The lunch buffet offers many choices and a great dessert bar. For dinner you can have: Italian, Mexican or Asian, as well as special options such as a chef's dinner or romantic dinner served outside.
The resort is clean, beds comfortable and all the staff very hard working. We always feel totally safe on the island; the only annoyance is the timeshare sales people at the airport; you can avoid them by going straight outside where the taxis are waiting. We were also able to avoid the Palace sales pitch by not attending the Tuesday morning meeting.
My husband's goal was to dive and he was pleased that Aqua Safari is back as the SCUBA vendor at the Palace. Regardless of where we stay, he always prefers to dive with them.
My major complaint for the week was the difficulty finding a place to get out of the sun. The area that had some shade was reserved for the "VIP"s with black bands; they also had areas reserved for them by the pool. The weather was exceptional the week we were there, so I needed to move inside to get out of the sun; having some shade outside would have been preferable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,290 - 2,296 of 3,850 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

My husband and I planned a cruise to Bermuda which was cancelled due to Hurricane Sandy. It was our anniversary and we wanted to get away. So we thought about how wonderful of a time we had at Cozumel Palace the year before and booked a week there. I was a little skeptical about going to the same place so soon but my worries soon diminished. The same great service, lovely rooms, great views, awesome activities.... It was all still great! The staff even remembered us! It felt like we were back at our 2nd home! We love this place and charge everyone to give it a try just once... You will be back again!!!!!! Thank you Cozumel Palace for making our Anniversary trip an awesome one....again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carterfamily06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Let me preface this by saying I'm going to give a true review based on more than just the service we received. We have stayed anywhere from dumps during my horse show years all the way up to 5 Diamond so I think we have enough variety of stays to give a good review. Having read many of the previous reviews and looking at guest pictures, we knew what we were getting into. We arrived to cool cloths, a carnation and fruity drink. Check in was pretty painless however I tried to upgrade to conceirge level however none were available so only able to upgrade to Jr. Suite. This was disappointing as we knew we wouldn't use our credits for excursions as we have been to the area many times over the last 22 years. In addition, I wanted to avoid the time share guys but the front desk was pretty evasive about which staff they were so we were not able to avoid. The time share staff is directly across from the front desk. I do have to say, they were not as pushy as some folks led to believe through their reviews. All they do is go over what is available for your credits but then you have to do it all over again when you actually meet with the staff that will schedule those services. So if you have no interest in the time share just ask to be directed to who can schedule those appointments. They are right around the corner from the front desk staff.

One of the things that surprised me the most was how small the hotel was. Other than the number of rooms they offer I would have considered this a boutique hotel. It looks much bigger in the pictures and that's because the properties on both sides look very similiar to the Palace so you think its all one big property however those are not part of the Palace properties. This was fine as I knew we were going to a small property. One thing I was disappointed in was how plain this property is. If you put the inside of the building anywhere other than the staff you would have no idea this was a Mexican property. There was nill to no artwork and the places we have stayed previously have had absolutely gorgeous Paintings and pieces of art that we spent time enjoying. This made the property very bland and basic for me. I didn't feel it was the spectacular property that rates a 5 star property meaning the best. Don't get me wrong it was very well maintained but just basic in terms of its restaurants and rooms.

The rooms were a nice size, used nice linens and where cleaned very well. The view was outstanding which was one of the major reasons we chose this property. Our refrigerator was stocked with exactly what we asked for and we tipped well for that as well as too our cleaning gal. Both did a fantastic job and where very nice folks. Was it the nicest room I've ever been in and would I consider it a 5 star probably not. I can say the beds were very comfortable which was a nice surprise as they are generally like a buck board. We did not use the jacuzzi so can't speak to that other than I took up a lot of room and was kind of in a weird location but that was by no means a deal breaker for me. As mentioned in previous reviews the halls do echo and you can here everything in you room from the halls. But there was basically no room to room noise which was very nice. So other than those coming in at 1 am yelling yahoo... we didn't notice this to be an issue.

The food was a nice surprise. Expected it to be the typical all inclusive fare however it was surprising tasty. Nothing spectacular but better than the average all inclusive. My issue was the fact it was pretty repetitive after a few days. Would have liked a little better variety but again not a deal breaker.

The pools were small but nice and was so nice that they were heated. Thoroughly enjoyed our time in the pools and laying in the sun watching the boats go by which was one of the main reasons we chose this property. We were here from Nov 4-11 and we always come down this time of year because it is off season and we generally stay on the Riveria Maya side and its always been quiet. Well famous last thoughts, the Palace was at capacity and way busier than I like especially since the area for all guests to congregate is very small. Because of this, I didn't find the time as relaxing as what I normally do. As I mentioned watching the boats was fantastic and it was like watching 696 into Detroit at rush hour. It was very windy and red flagged most of the time so was able to snorkle much but there wasn't much too see when I did. My husband had his inner ear removed this spring and found he wasn't ready for the movement of the water yet so he didn't snorkle. But I guess we're spoiled from where we normally stay which has exceptional snorkling right off the beach.

Now regarding the service. I found this to be a very interesting topic of discussion during the week. We were their as hotel guests not timeshare owners so keep this in mind as I give my opinion and its just that my opinion. I felt the restaurants was seriously hit or miss in terms of the service. Some meals were the best service we've ever received just about anywhere. Other meals we barely had service and had to look for someone to get us something to drink. But I will tell you that certainly doesn't bother us as we are the type of guests who would rather have less than more. As for the pool service it was almost obnoxious. There were times I just wanted to relax on the lounger and it was continious interruptions asking if we wanted drinks. This might have been because we are good tippers. I think we probably gave $150-$200 in tips for the week. So maybe we caused some of that. However we noticed those who were Timeshare owners for the most part did not tip. In addition, those owners who were diamond level received signs and many extra's which well they should as they are paying good money for it. However what I felt was obnoxious about that was management practically came running out of the building to fawn all over them. Staff was also trained to absolutely kiss their butts which this I have a problem with. All guests should be treated well but I do not feel staff should have to "suck" up to the owners the way they did. In my eyes its demeaning. Most of the diamond owners were very nice but some were absolutely ruthless in their demands and how they treated staff. Shame on them and kudos to the staff for tolerating it, they are better souls than I.

Kudos to Roger by the pool, you did an exceptional job and were very sincere in your efforts and we appreciated it. The drinks were awesome and we met some really nice folks. Scott, Carol and Becky from the Kansas City area, a family from Seattle and the parents who were temporarily located to Salt Lake City. A couple from California near Reno etc. Its always fun to pass time with fun people and share stories. Had a great volleyball game with a fun couple who's names I didn't catch but sure showed me how out of shape I am.

Ariana who did a fantastic job with the photography and we were constantly bugging to snap some photo's. I'm so sorry if I get the name wrong but I believe I had Vanessa in the Spa where I had a facial and a message which were both exceptionally well done. So over all we had a lovely stay. My husband and I decided we probably wouldn't come back for a whole week but would come for a long weekend instead.

Just an FYI, its very expensive to rent vehicles through the hotel. We rented a jeep for less than half the cost of the hotel through Thrifty as Isis who we usually use didn't have any. We toured around the Island twice as it just doesn't get much prettier. Will be doing reviews on Coconuts, LaLobsteria, Punta Sur, Playa Palancar etc under the appropriate trip advisor sections.

Room Tip: We were 3rd floor over the infinity pool which is awesome for the shows and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I traveled to Cozumel Palace October 20-27, 2012. This was our second stay at this resort and again we were extremely pleased. We saw many staff members who were there a year ago. From the moment you enter the grounds you are greeted warmly with flower, cold drink and fresh cool washcloth. We were greeted by Abraham who assisted with our luggage at check in and check out. Angel and Rosa very erfficiently made our check in and check out very smooth. Our concierge for the week who assisted us with spa and excursions was Edgar and Richard. The rooms are awesome, beautiful view of the ocean and sunset. Rooms are spacious with large jacuzzi. Balcony is also very large. Service is impeccable and you only have to ask and they will try to see that it is granted. Special thanks to the pool service staff: Henri, Camalia, Silvia, Roger, Lorenzo, Andres and Michal. They are exceptional and work very hard with a smile on their face. Also very special were the lobby bar tender Fredi and pool bar Juan. Each meal was delightful and the staff are so accomodating and seem to enjoy their jobs. At breakfast you are greeted by Elvira, Gabriel, Francisco and Fili and the wonderful chef Maria who makes superb omelettes. The head waiter Manuel, overseeing the night restaurants does a wonderful job. Lakisha is the hostess for Japanese and Mexican and she is so friendly and gracious to everyone. Russelle in the Japanese and Danielle in the Italian made our meals very special followed by Mayan coffee. Ricardo does an excellent job of keeping the in room refrigerator stocked with what ever beverage you want. Rosa during the day and Jessica at night were exceptional with keeping our rooms spotless. The activiies are varied and there is something that everyone will like. Entertainment at night is also very good. The Fire show is excellent and the Mexican Fair is lots of fun. You can easily take a ferry over to Playa del Carmen and spend the day in the city and at the Playacar Palace and lie on the beach.

This is absoluely the best staff we have encountered in any of the resorts. They work very hard for a minimal amount each day. Even though tipping is supposed to be included, tips for their hard work and service is very much appreciated.

Again this is a wonderful resort in everyway and you will have a wonderful stay thanks to the exceptional staff.

Room Tip: Most all of the rooms have a balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Let me preface my review with - my wife and I purchased a vacation voucher on Groupon and ended up getting our week stay for a really good price. That being said, our stay at Cozumel Palace was wonderful. We had an beach view and a balcony with a Jacuzzi in the room so nothing more to ask for there! We were there during the off-season so it was very quiet all week. The service was just over-the-top friendly & helpful. Food was great too with both a la carte & buffet options. Alcohol choices on the all-inclusive were much better than I've experienced before. The snorkeling was very good and easy too since they have coral right there. The time-share people tried to meet with us, but we weren't interested and they didn't try to pressure us. The location is great and it's an easy walk or a cheap cab ride to just about anywhere you want to go. Highly recommend this for a Cozumel resort!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators and on the 5th floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Another couple, my husband and I just finished a 5-day, all-inclusive stay here. I highly recommend it! The facility is top-notch and located in town, which makes walking around town very easy. The food and beverages are excellent. The staff are incredibly personable, professional, and attentive. They are also HONEST! My husband lost his cellphone (didn't realize it). While at dinner one evening, a staff member brought it to him, apologizing for looking at the photos, but explained he used the photos so find my husband. That's going above and beyond. The spa is excellent. We have stayed here more than once and would welcome coming back. We are scuba divers, however, and must admit that this is not the most convenient place for divers (most of the dive sites are well south, necessitating a 30-45 minute boat ride each way from the Palace). If the focus of your visit to Cozumel is diving, you may wish to stay at the Iberostar or other facilities much closer to the dive sites. But, for an overall fabulous experience, with proximity to town, you cannot beat the Palace.

Room Tip: upgrade to a room with a two-person jacuzzi and ocean view -- well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bwilliams21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was the best vacation we ever had. The staff was exceptionally terrific. The resort was exceptionally clean. There is nothing that we didn't like. We would definitly recommend this to anyone who wanted a relaxing vacation and be treated like gold. There isn't enough good things we could say.

Room Tip: We live by the ocean and get to see it everyday. So we requested a city view because we are people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theresa099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 53 in Cozumel
1,194 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,930 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 53 in Cozumel
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Address: Av Rafael E. Melgar km 1.5 | Zona Hotelera Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £295 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing