We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!”
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We travel to alot of beach resorts and had a beautiful time at the Palace. Room was beautiful, food was wonderful with lots of options, drinks were cold and plentiful. This was nicely located to walk into town easily. There was no natural beach but a beautiful pool and manmade beach area. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunloverkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,771
    604
    147
    67
    43
See reviews for
978
1,888
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was our first trip to Mexico. We selected this hotel based on the snorkelling available at the hotel, the scuba diving on Cozumel and the close proximity of the hotel to the shops/ferry etc. There is a supermarket right opposite the hotel for those essentials items.

We did not encounter any of the issues mentioned by other posters, we were met on arrival at Cancun airport by transfer we arranged with the hotel, there was nobody hassling us with timeshare stuff at the airport or at the hotel. We were not approached at anytime by anyone in Mexico to do with timeshares.

We were given resort credits which we spent mainly on scuba diving, which was fantastic. We also spend an amount on the spa which was also great, but expensive (we only paid 11% tax but the price would have been expensive if you didn't have the resort credits). We only managed to spend about half the credits, we should have upgraded our room using them. We had a city view room which we expected to be noisy but was not. It was perfectly adequate. In the end we wondered if the seaview rooms might have been noisy as people were still in the pool late into the night. I have never seen this allowed in other destinations but seems the norm in Mexico.

Our room was clean and comfortable, minibar was filled everyday. The best restaurant in our opinion was Turquesa which is Italian, the other restaurants were just not as good. The food was delicious, presently beautifully and the service was great. It was also nice to see that people made an effort to dress up as the other restaurants, people could turn up in anything. I guess this is a difference between Americans & Europeans who dress up to go to dinner, not down. I don't think it is nice to see shorts flipflops and sleeveless T shirts unless in a casual restaurant. This restaurant is also used for breakfast and lunch were there are a variety of Mexican dishes available. We used resort credits to purchase wine so had the opportunity to try some Mexican wine, as recommended by the sommelier, which was very good. The Asian restaurant was a disappointment, both for the food which was a mixture of Japanese, Thai and Chinese and some peculiar fusion dishes. The service was also not good. We did not try the Flamingo restaurant which was outdoors because the dishes were not appealing and it was too hot outside. People started eating very early, from 5.30pm which in a hot climate is bizarre as is the concept of room service in an AI, but it's there if you need it.

We rented a jeep for the day from the hotel to tour around Cozumel, this cost USD100 including all insurances which with Mexico, it is best to be as insured as possible. It was really good to see what is outisde the hotel and get a feel for the island. We snorkelled at Playa Corona which was very nice. The jeep was in great condition and it was worth the extra $ to get something reliable.

The hotel's dive operation was very good and the people in the dive shop very nice. The only negative I would say is that the dive operation would not store our dive equipment and there is nowhere in the room to keep it (there was no balcony with city view rooms, another reason we should have used resort credits to upgrade) therefore the wetsuit and BCD were hung in the shower to dry. In a proper dive resort there are lockers or facilities for divers to store their gear.

The staff are a great asset to the hotel, they were all very friendly and keen to provide great service. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Cozumel Palace.

Room Tip: Use resort credits to upgrade to an oceanview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fru_sorteravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at the Palace and really were surprised by all of the glowing reviews that did not mention the negatives we encountered. We work hard for our vacations and really cherish the family time. Upon our arrival, our "concierge" took us aside and started the 'NOT A TIMESHARE" pitch trying to get us to agree to go over to Cancun for the 90 minute presentation. After being told repeatedly that we weren't interested, she finally let us go to our room. After unpacking we walked around to become familiar with the resort and were stopped by the same person and her manager pushing us again. We were told that we should really talk to the people who belong to this "plan" wearing different wristbands than us and find out how great their service is. That made us feel like the thousands that we spent were worthless and we could expect poor service?????? Not a good start. And several days later she stopped my husband and tried to pitch him again.
We booked a loft suite and if you are a light sleeper do not get one of these. They are near the kitchen and the room service area and are very noisy. You can hear everything in the hallway,every door slam, and can hear the voices in adjoining rooms very well. Unluckily our neighbors had kids screeching and running up and down the stairs till near midnight. I have never encountered a more poorly constructed hotel. We were really worn out most of our trip. We asked to see another type of room to see if they were better sound wise and were told none were available. Another problem with our room was that when we wanted to use the patio and hammock in the evenings, the romantic dinners were set up about 5 yards from our porch.That made it very awkward to try to enjoy the area.
My last complaint is the pool area. Fifteen umbrellas for hundreds of people. Mornings were a mad rush to get an umbrella. One day I went to get in the pool for a minute and came back and another guest had asked a staff member to bring her my umbrella. I requested another one, and after taking another dip in the pool returned to find a staff member had removed this one and had taken it to his activity table. Ridiculous that Palace Resorts can't provide enough umbrellas for relief from the blazing sun.
The best positive is the wonderful snorkeling right at the property. We spent lots of time in the water and saw a variety of sea life.The resort even has a lifeguard on duty overlooking the ocean. Tip- bring good quality equipment for a better experience.
The food at the resort is amazing and plentiful. We love the fact that unlike most resorts you can dress casually in the evening. We never made it to the Italian restaurant as it is the only one requiring dresses and long pants for men. Our favorite was the Japanese, the Mexican was wonderful, and the outdoor buffet was delicious. Breakfast was incredible, the omelet chef was really fun to watch. There are always a variety of snacks in the lobby area, and we were never hungry. Room service was great quality and very quick. The pizzas at the resort are a must to try.
A big thank you to the entertainment staff who kept our teens busy and included. Night shows were fun to watch. This is the fourth all inclusive Mexican resort I have stayed at, and the shows were not the highest quality but most of them were more fun to watch because they include the guests.
Resort credits were a bonus, we used ours for the Chankanaab snorkel park and really were impressed. I also had a very nice pedicure. Be aware that you will pay 11% tax.
Most resorts feel quite isolated, and we loved the fact that at this one you step out the front doors and are amazed to see grocery shopping, restaurants, and lots of souvenir shopping, all very safe and entertaining. Our favorite off site excursion was the Jean Lafitte lobster and steak pirate dinner cruise. Hilarious actors, beautiful scenery, and the most amazing food we had all week. Be aware that it is not appropriate for young children, it is suggestive and the alcohol flows. Our teens loved it though, and were included in the show.
All in all we would go back to this resort if we knew that other rooms are quieter for sleeping. Would love comments from others on this point.

Room Tip: Avoid loft suites if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We checked in with our two kids, ages twelve and seventeen. No problem there. Getting ready to check out, they informed us we owed them another $720 because our children's ages did not come through correctly on the reservation. Actually their words were we said we had infants when we made reservation. Obviously I know my kids ages and put them on the reservation as such. Said they had called and left messages every day. Message light was never lit on phone and no calls on my cell. Was told if he did not pay the $720 he would be arrested and not allowed to leave the country. Ruined our entire experience and we will NEVER stay at a palace resort again. Good luck to you if you do!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
20 Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Upon checking out I was told "we cannot let you leave" unless you pay for $720 in wrong charges to my room. Literally, they would call the police and detain me until I paid them for an error they made. Not kidding. After hours of heated discussion I was forced to pay and will dispute with AMEX. Long story short, they had our teen kids shown as infants and billed us for the upgrade. Cooincidence that we were notified of this "oversight" the day after we declined to purchase a membership during their 90 minute promotional pitch. This company is desparate for money...do not stay here. Go to Playa Del Carmen's Excellence resort...awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenDave105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Was a guest at Cozumel Palace in June, and had a great time. Food was fantastic and the staff was wonderful. The snorkeling right off the hotel was amazing, and so convenient. Lots off great spa options as well as meal upgrades (though not really needed because all the meals were great) and activities to spend your resort credit on. The shows were very entertaining with the participants being incredibly talented. Location was very good, walking distance to many shops, restaurants and night spots, however you may not want to venture off the resort at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelPalaceGM, General Manager at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Debra C

Thank you so much for staying at Cozumel Palace, for your comments and for taking the time to share them through Tripadvisor, as it is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can make things better.

It is pleasing to note your positive comments, I will be sure to let the team members know that their efforts are appreciated and have not gone unnoticed, knowing that will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

Our hope is that every vacation be a memorable and enjoyable one. We sincerely hope that you will return to Mexico many more times in the future and once again giving us the opportunity to host you at Cozumel Palace.

Cordially,

J. Ariztegui
Cozumel Palace G.M.
jariztegui@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We are just completing our 4th stay here at the Cozumel Palace. We were last here over Memorial Day weekend. We had such a good time that we came back from July 15-July 20, 2013.

The minute we walked through the door, the friendly, welcoming staff did everything possible to make our stay great. Sara and Rosa Isabel at the front desk made sure that my mom and aunt were able to stay in a room on the 4th floor with 2 double beds. My husband and I were given room 229, in a junior suite, as we had booked. However, the next night, room 429, a better suite higher up, became available and we were moved up to that.

Angel helped my mom translate when she lost her sunglasses in a taxicab. The staff even sent her a birthday cake.

The hotel is clean and well maintained. The food was excellent, and there is no real necessity to eat outside the hotel unless you want to. We did go to lunch at La Mission, which was very good and nice ambiance. But the hotels at Cozumel Palace are all good. Elvia, Cesar Ernesto, and Ronny at the restaurants were so gracious to us. We liked the Mexican Restaurant best, but all of them are good.

Poolside was awesome. Andres was our waiter, and he made sure that we never lacked for a drink. It was a complete pampering experience.

A word about their special. Cozumel Palace, and all palace resorts, give credits depending on how many nights you stay. You can use these credits for services in the hotel and affiliated businesses, and only pay an 11 percent tax for them.

With 4 nights, we received 750 credits for each room. This was able to be used at the spa and also on diving and pictures and wines. There is a spending limit at the spa. It is a good spa, but pretty expensive. Vicente, Josephina, Miram and Alicia and Yaninee were great. Ladies BEWARE: if you have shellac, get it removed before you come to Cozumel. It costs 33 USD to have it removed in the spa!! *boggle*

We loved the diving with Aqua Safari. They are great and orderly and pay attention to safety.

We had a great time. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: use your credits to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aek429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelPalaceGM, General Manager at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear aek429

Thank you so much for staying at Cozumel Palace, for your comments and for taking the time to share them through Tripadvisor, as it is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can make things better.

It is pleasing to note your positive comments, I will be sure to let the team members know that their efforts are appreciated and have not gone unnoticed, knowing that will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

Sara, Isabel, Angel, Elvia, Cesar , Ronny, Andrés, Vicente, Josefina, Miram, Alicia and Yaninee were very pleased to be mentioned.

Our hope is that every vacation be a memorable and enjoyable one. We sincerely hope that you will return to Mexico many more times in the future and once again giving us the opportunity to host you at Cozumel Palace.

Cordially,

J. Ariztegui
Cozumel Palace G.M.
jariztegui@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,430 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Property: Cozumel Palace
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing