We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect once again”
Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Colfax, WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect once again”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We just returned from our 3rd stay at the Cozumel Palace July 22-29 and once again had an awesome time. Every time we stay the staff seems to be friendlier than before and we are greeted by our first names by just about everyone. The 4 restaurants give us plenty of choices for supper (although we love sitting outside by the water) and the breakfast and lunch buffets offer many different foods to choose from. If that is not enough you can order room service any time of the day or night for free! The hotel is smaller than most all-inclusive resorts which suits us just fine as we don't have to walk more than a couple of minutes from the room to anywhere on the property. As for the staff, they are all friendly and hard working people. Danny and Roger keep you entertained day and night around the pool (especially my kids favorite water volleyball), Ricardo and Darwin will help set up your trip or spa days, Alejandro, Manuel are great waiters and the rest of staff are there just to make sure you have a good time. We also love the location of the Cozumel Palace as it is about a 5 minute walk into town for shopping and there is a Chedraui store (small Walmart) and movie theater across the street. Thanks again for another perfect week, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,793
    606
    147
    68
    43
See reviews for
990
1,899
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Tomorrow we will sadly be leaving the Cozumel Palace after staying here for 10 nights. We have been coming to Cozumel since 1989 and just love this island. We have also stayed at the Cozumel Palace many times but before it was the Palace and was all inclusive. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a cold face towel, a flower and a nice cold drink, we were impressed. When we got to our room there were chocolate covered strawberries and a cake to celebrate our special occasions. We were also able to book all of our activities without a problem. We booked diving, chefs dinner, chocolate tour, stingray excursion and spa services and enjoyed them all. i also have to say the staff here is fabulous! The service at the pool is top notch and the activities are fun and funny to watch at times. The wait staff in all of the restaurants are fabulous! There were a few times we asked for items not listed on the menu and every single time out request was met with a smile and was completely taken care of! We have never stayed at an all inclusive because of the many negatives we have heard but we experienced none of the negatives at the Palace. Yes we did get asked to the timeshare presentation but over all of the years I have come to Cozumel I have always had that experience and this time we did agree to go to Playacar for the day so our kids could play on the beach and jump in the waves which, of course, we do not have in Cozumel on the leeward side of the island. For listening to the presentation we got spa credits and a few days of a free car rental so it worked out for us. at the Palace the spa is small but the services were wonderful. My daughter and I had massages, facials pedicure and manicure. We also dive so were happy to dive again with Aqua Safari. The food was wonderful all the way around. The fish was very fresh and the steaks were cooked perfectly and snacks in the lobby were always kept filled. We never had any problem being seated at any of the restaurants and never had to wait. Service was consistently excellent all the way around from the concierge to the pool wait staff to the restaurant wait staff...we felt very taken care of. The proximity to town was great which was also one of the reasons we chose the Palace. All in all we have had a wonderful trip and will come back! Thank you to everyone at the Palace for making this such a memorable trip! Also as a helpful tip we were able to have all of our laundry done and folded at the little laundromat just down the street. The concierge gave us directions and we used these services twice..... Three loads of laundry completely done in about an hour for $20.00!!

Room Tip: We liked the loft room as we were traveling with our two children
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My family stayed there the week of July 15, 2013. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we had a great time. We had 3 rooms since in addition to my family, my father, and my wife's niece went as well.

The snorkeling was very good just off the dock. I saw several eels, a ray, a lobster, and numerous tropical fish. The depth was almost immediately 10 to 20 feet.

Restaurants were good, and with 4 options plus room service, everyone felt there were enough options. the staff was excellent. Everyone had a smile on their faces and was pleasant to deal with. My wife and her niece raved about the spa.

My recommendation would be to avoid the trip to Cancun for their sales pitch. The only issue worth mentioning was that our mattress was too soft, however, they appeared to be changing all the mattresses on the floor as we were leaving.

Close enough to town to walk. If we go back to Cozumel, I see us back at Cozumel Palace. If you go into town, try Pancho's Backyard in Cozumel for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cozumel_2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our 17th trip to CZM since January 1993 and our 6th time staying at Cozumel Palace (including when it was Plaza las Glorias). Never before have we been waylaid by timeshare salespersons, but this was a first. We were here at CZM Palace Nov. 2012 and did not encounter the high pressure, won’t take no for an answer sales people. You run the gauntlet at the airport and think you are “home free”. Then you check in and spend 45-60 min in the lobby trying to convince the sales rep that no means no. We did not want to be rude, but enough is enough; we left home at 5 AM and by now it was 4 PM! Our room was ready but we could not get to it! They found out we owned 5 timeshares and kept trying to convince us we would be free of maintenance fees forever if we signed our weeks over to Palace resorts. No one could/would give us the “bottom line”. That was Saturday. Sunday we get a call asking us again if we wanted to go over and visit a Palace resort on the mainland (no, no, no). Tuesday a sales rep, who asked if I had spoken to my husband about attending the 2 PM meeting that day about the Palace program, approached me. Our answer was the same – not interested.

OK, on to the rest of the week. We love the people of CZM; everyone is so friendly. The staff at the Palace is professional and attentive (aside from the sales reps who were annoying). Ricardo who will help you make appointments for the spa, SCUBA diving, special dinners, etc. is a very competent and efficient young man. He took mercy on us after being held captive in the lobby and even delivered my husband’s vouchers to the SCUBA shop for him. Speaking of the dive shop, my husband has been diving with Aqua Safari since our first trip. He considers them the best on the island. Mariano is his favorite dive master and whenever possible, he dives with him (on the fast boat Belinda).

For and all-inclusive resort, the food is great at all the dining locations. Mexican might be our favorite, and don’t forget to have a Mayan coffee prepared at your table. The Asian is good also and it goes without saying the service is excellent at every restaurant. The wait staff is extremely attentive; I am reluctant to name them, since I would not want to leave someone out. For breakfast and lunch, you can have food prepared to order at the grill (omelets, fish tacos, etc).

Our room was on the 5th floor and we had no problem with noise. There is coffee in the lobby beginning at 6 AM and there is a coffee pot in your room for brewing your own, if you choose. The room is spacious and the safe is large enough for a laptop.

It is possible to walk to town for shopping, or taxis are always available. I ask the taxi drivers about the number of cruise ships coming in each day and pick a day that has the fewest to avoid the crowds in the stores.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view - it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My family (2 adults and 2 kids aged 10 and 6) had a phenomenal stay at this hotel. We spent 3 nights (7/22-7/25) there and we were all sad to leave.

The pool is a little small but still very fun and enjoyable. I think the snorkeling onsite more than made up for the size of the pool. The water was just crystal clear for snorkeling and it was all very enjoyable.

We are Asian so the Asian restaurant didn't quite meet our standards but the kids really enjoyed the wonton soup and we all like the tempera ice cream. We ate outside for dinner one evening and that was a very enjoyable experience as well. The best was saved for last at the Italian restaurant though. The food there was incredible (best of both MP and CP) and the service was just top notch.

We were coming from a 6 night stay at Moon Palace and we much preferred the size of the Cozumel Palace to that of the Moon Palace. Shuttling from restaurant to restaurant or event like we had to at MP was just not for us. In the future we'll stay at smaller places like Cozumel Palace and Beach Palace.

My family can't recommend this resort enough and we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Loft Suite was amazing....kids absolutely loved it and so did the parents
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Long L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Cozumel Palace from July 10th through the 15th and we will most likely visit again in the future. This is the second hotel we have stayed at on Cozumel and our fourth all-inclusive in the Caribbean and the Palace definitely stands out as the best we have seen. The food and staff are fantastic (a few exceptions) and we especially liked the fact that for all of the restaurants you could just walk in with no reservation required. We loved the Asian restaurant and the Poolside Outdoor Grill at night (really good grouper). However, the Poolside Grill for lunch was a bit of a disappointment as we either dealt with slow service, rude service or service errors (food was great though). The breakfast buffet was just awesome; plenty of fresh fruit, many choices and the eggs to order chefs were stars. I loved the “beach” despite the lack of sand and really enjoyed jumping in off the platforms and swimming and snorkeling. Saw a lot of the usual fish as well as some rays and flounder. However, if you like to walk a beach this may not be the resort for you. Distance to town is great and I could easily walk to the ferry pier (north end of town) in about 12 minutes with many great restaurants and shops in between. However, if you love to dive it does mean a longer travel time to the majority of the good spots on the south end of the island. Room was great, very clean and always very cool with a nice hammock on the patio and despite many reviews to the contrary we got our two double beds as requested at booking (through Costco). However, we were at the north end of the second floor right next to the spot where the cleaning staff began their day and that could get a bit loud in the AM. We didn’t fully utilize the resort credits as we had pretty much mapped out our trip prior to arrival but we did do the Dolphin encounter at Chankanaab Park (with credits) and it was great and then we stayed for the Manatee encounter (not with credits) which we actually enjoyed even more. We heard good things about the on-site dive shop but we did our diving with ScubaTony (the best) and you can check out our review there. We also participated in the Cozumel Marine Turtle Salvation Program one evening (booked through Cozumel Insider) and it was very nice as we got to hold hatchlings and see mothers laying eggs. In addition, the young adult volunteers with the program are very impressive. Lastly, we also went to the mainland to swim with the whale sharks (and giant mantas) with Eco Colors and would highly recommend that but understand it is a very long day and in the open ocean so for most Dramamine is a must.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

First time at Cozumel Palace...loved it! Was there 7-16 to 7-23. Only problem was at check in when we were given a room that had 1 king sized bed when we had requested 2 doubles back in Feb when we booked (thru Travelocity). The desk clerks stated they were not aware of the request and had no rooms available with 2 beds. They did offer to move us as soon as one became available and actually about an hour later said there had been a cancellation and we got the room as requested. Overall the staff could not have been more accommodating the entire week. As for the 1500 "resort dollars", we were not aware that an 11% surcharge would be added to each dollar used until after we met with the tour planner. The food was excellent with many choices. Am already planning the next trip back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiSurfside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,039 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,132 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
3,464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Property: Cozumel Palace
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing