We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice if you are looking for a non floating cruise ship”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice if you are looking for a non floating cruise ship”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went here for a wedding, it was average at best in all categories, the food was ok, there was no beach the drinks were watered down but the pool and our room were nice.

We enjoyed Cozumel more when we rented a jeep and left the property but to be honest we didn't really enjoy Cozumel it was a little too touristy and not so much our speed.

I think the hotel looked better than the others around it but that's not really saying a lot.

Would not return would not recommend unless you just want to drink tequila by a pool all day and then it is certainly adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoliticalHack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,749
    601
    145
    67
    43
See reviews for
971
1,872
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Cozumel Palace is now our home away from home. When you arrive you'll be treated like you own the place and probably Abraham or Isaias will meet you at the door step to make sure your luggage is secure and gets to your room. Once inside, Dulce, or Ana will likely be checking you in and providing for your initial needs and questions. A public relations staff member will be assigned to you to assist you throughout your stay as necessary. This could be Richard, or Jorge to mention two of them, and Berenice Torres will gladly take any comments or suggestions on the spot as they arise. Food is served in the pool area (Flamingo's grill) during mid day so you can always grab a bite if you arrive before your room is ready. The pool area staff is excellent and will do their best to make you comfortable and happy. Andres, Silvia, Heri, Roger or Ruben will be at your service. Watch out for Raul at the pool bar, he likes to pour shots along with Juan Manuel. By this time you will probably be meeting Rod, Gabriel, Daniel, Roger, Sugei, Manuela or Josuae of the entertainment staff. They are always up to something to keep you active if you want to be.
Dinner is served in four locations and is great in each. Hostesses Fabiola, Teresita, Selene, Martha, or Nayeli will be sure you are seated in the restaurant of your choice. If you have any questions about Tequila quality, just ask Marcos. He can explain and let you taste test any of them. At the outside grill, see Luis for any special requests. To name a few of the many cooks, Maria, and Santiago are great and will help you with your Spanish, as well as the head chef Massimo who is great and will try to provide the best food available.
Your first afternoon and evening will probably be like a whirlwind, so by the next morning you will start getting your bearings. Be sure to have breakfast with Luis and Jesus. They have a great morning crew Fili, Fransisco, Gabriel, Teordoro, and Eddie who will get your morning started right. If your feeling adventurous, ask Luis for the traditional breakfast treat to be served at the table. It's really awesome.
During the day at the resort, you may notice that you're being followed by the paparazzi, (Palace Memories) staff, Gloria, Roman, Alejandro. They take pictures of you doing fun things around the property during your stay so you can just enjoy yourself and let them be the photographers.
There are also many types of excursions and things to do around the island. Some of these things are paid for using resort credits so you can enjoy a nice tour or a day at the park for a low tax fee. Body builder Ricardo (Rico) will be glad to assist and advise you on the excursion that is right for you. He and the other vacation planners, Hugo, Darwin, and Fredi are very helpful and knowledgeable about most everything there is to do and see in the area. For example you decide to try parasailing, they will set up the appointment and you will be picked up right at the resort pier.
There is a snorkeling area at the resort that may not seem like much, but I think of it as hunting. Like hunting, there are a lot of things that you will not see if they see you first. You could see an Eel, Octopus, sting ray, flounder, maybe even a Lionfish if you are patient and know what to look for. I have gotten some nice pictures of Squid which can rapidly change color to almost become invisible in an instant. If you're not a strong or confident swimmer, there is Luis, or Camilo to be your lifeguard. The staff will help you with snorkeling equipment and even offer lessons if you've never tried it before and want to learn the basics first.
Nightly entertainment is also provided. The entertainment staff will dance with you and show you some new steps, along with fun audience participation games and contests.
We have found that the Staff of the Cozumel Palace will feed off of your energy, so the more fun you are looking for, the more fun there is to be had by all.
You may find yourself at the loby bar just winding down at the end of the day enjoying a night cap with friends that you made at the resort. My Facebook friends grow each year as we make more friends at the Palace from around the world.
A very sweet waitress named Camila works in the loby area who is always hurrying around to keep everyone's drinks filled. She is one of many special people of the resort that are always busy but more quiet and behind the scenes.
The Cozumel Palace staff is there for you. If you're not satisfied or happy, just let someone know and they will bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your stay.
I owe a special thanks to Berenice and Ricardo for making my trip such a memorable one. Can't wait until my next visit.

Room Tip: If you're early to bed, I recommend the north end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We just got back from Cozumel. You can always count on Palace Resorts to provide top food and service, and this trip was over the top! The people were fantastic and the rooms have gorgeous views of the ocean. Many thanks to the people who took care of us so well! We want to thank Roger and Francisco by the pool as well as as Gabriel, Nayeli, David, and Francisco in the restaurants. They all provided personal service and made us feel so welcomed each day. We loved that we could snorkel in beautiful clear waters at any moment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zygmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This nice, cozy hotel is a great getaway for couples: 15-min walk from downtown, with lots of diving options and you can even snorkel on the ocean right off the hotel! Great food, pampering and fun. It has an infinite border pool that makes you feel in paradise!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaniFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

PROS: The hotel wa great, diving was awsome and the staff was wonderful. It was nice having a dive shop and dock attached to the hotel. Another great thing was the other dive shops will pick you up at the hotel dock. the pool and pool bar stays open as long as people are in the pool. The hotel had activites planned all day so you always had something to do.. good variety of shows in evening and you can watch them while you eat. Shopping and the ferry was within walking distance... rooms were nice, spacious, very clean, 24 hr room service

CONS: the dive shop is focused on the inexperienced divers which is nice. But on several occasions several other divers and I asked for more advanced dives like "devils throat" and they would not take us because we had inexperienced divers on the boat. Since we dove with them on several days and they had several boats going out I gave various options which would have allowed everyone to have a fun safe dive... but they did not listen. Several of the other advanced divers went with "deep blue" dive shop and got some fantastic advanced dives in. also, bring a snack and be ready to change out your own gear.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonzey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Firstly, this is our 3rd time back to the resort mainly because we have been unable to find the value, quality, service and friendliness at any other resort in the world. The staff are amazing hands down at Cozumel Palace. We love Ricardo the tour planner and all else he does (thanks for bringing your Great Dane-Maya). Roger was a new edition since our last trip and he did an amazing job handling the entertainment and day to day activities. Did i mention the resort has some really great shows, the overall quality is amazing even compared to much larger resorts.

All wait staff poolside and in the restaurants and bars are very attentive, your drinks are never empty and food is always great.
We even obliged Edgar for the timeshare tour, which was surprisingly nonthreatening. Edgar did a great job showing us around and was a very good salesman.

The location of the resort is perfect, right on the ocean and walking distance to downtown shopping, bars and food. We always feel safe and the travel advisory never identifies anything to the contrary. We typically rent a car for the day and drive around the island, never a problem, safe, amazing views and secluded beaches that you should not miss.

We typically snorkel right in front of the resort. This time we say plenty of fish to include some eels and manta ray.

Lastly, the resort credit that is typically $1500 for a seven day stay has always covered all trips and tours. The only money we typically spend is tipping the staff because they deserve it due to the fact that they work extremely hard to make you stay amazing.

If you have not been to Cozumel Palace, you are missing out!

Room Tip: Always go with junior suite ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MollyGuacmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Cozumel Palace from November 9 to the 16th. We had a few days of rain but that did not damper the fun we had at Cozumel Palace. We were given superb service by all of the staff. We are members of Palace Elite. We had pre-arranged transport from the airport on our membership website and there was a slight glitch. I was put in a dfferent van than my husband and our luggage but it worked out all right. We met up a few minutes later at the Cozumel Palace, a few short minutes away from the airport. We were in room 506 and the room was comfortable and fairly quiet. The room smelled a little musty as well as the linens and pillows on the bed. The bed was comfortable, though. We enjoyed room service for continental breakfasts. I was not sure how to operate the coffee machine in the room. I recommend the romantic dinner for two. We had it inside the Mexican restaurant as it was raining outside and it was superb. The evening shows were fun and entertaining. We saw a lot of talented dancers and singers. Cozumel Palace needs a little updating and paint on the back side.

We will consider coming back in the future because of the excellent staff and service and food.

Room Tip: Far away from elevators and on floor 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leenie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Property: Cozumel Palace
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing