We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cozumel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
san antonio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, we will be back”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Cozumel Palace is one of those rare finds, an all-inclusive but you feel like you're at a private resort. First thing to note: it is a small resort, fortunately ... And very fortunately this plays to their favor. Everything is in one spot and it was incredibly refreshing! Second, it's a diver resort - so there were very few people who aren't diving. In my experience, divers are a more responsible "partying group" b/c you do not want to dive with a hangover, so while the nightly entertainment is great (the top 40 song/dance show was great) it ends early and you get a good night sleep. The food was the best food I have ever had at an all inclusive, hands down. The service is genuine and the staff are professional yet very personable. This is our first palace resort stay, it will not be our last. We loved the low key vibe, the amazing rooms and the staff. Daniel, who ran the pool sorts was so engaging, Ruby, who have my massage put most other massage therapists to shame. All in all, I did not want to leave. The one piece of advice is: pre book your scuba. When we got there on Monday, they were booked with two dive trips until Friday. We found a local dive shop (which ended up being better than the hotels), but just know it books fast!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank milton1681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,747
    600
    145
    67
    43
See reviews for
971
1,869
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First the good part - well maintained, clean resort and friendly staff. Conveniently located at walking distance to the main town. Resort credit is great for diving and spa but lot of annoying catches. For example diving equipment rental is not covered in the resort credits. Nothing exciting in terms of snorkeling off the hotel.

This could be a great resort and I would totally go here all the time if the following issues are addressed:
1) Seafood and meat sucks - frozen bad quality tuna, salty shrimp, frozen chicken. Only thing that is good is the Salmon but I traveled all the way for some local sea food. Zero rotation of menu. The grouper fish is decent but you get bored seeing 3 times a day and all seven days.
2) Asian restaurant just sucks! - poor sushi, poor thai food.
3) Romantic dinner is a joke in terms of food - same exact food from the restaurant. The service is good though.

The selection and quality for remaining dish, veges and desserts were good.

Room Tip: Get room away from the pool and at higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtl0gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlCamacho, Gerente at Cozumel Palace, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear rtl0gan

Thank you so much for sharing your comments through Tripadvisor, these observations are important as feedback for Cozumel Palace and Palace Resorts.

We sincerely regret that you did not enjoy our food quality, your experience does not reflect the many positive reviews that have earned us the #3 spot on TripAdvisor and we apologize for this, please be assured that we will take your feedback in consideration, our guests are always a top priority to make us work harder to create memories in every vacation at Palace Resorts.

Warm regards,
Alfredo Camacho
Cozumel Palace Public Relations
alcamacho@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The best place in Cozumel by far. They take you in like family and pamper you. The food and beverages are top notch as well. If you are certified to dive, ask about using the resort credit and go diving with Aqua Safari on the house!

If you like the party life with more of that Spring Break feel, I suggest going to the Cancun or La Playa properties. Such an amazing experience to see how truly genuine the staff care about the guests. Highly recommend this place!!

Love my Cozumel family at the Palace- See you again!

Room Tip: 5th floor if you can get it!! Concierge level is the best way to go :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcfence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The was an all inclusive family resort in Cozumel, Mexico. The people were friendly and accommodating. Assisted us in determining which events we would like to do and not do.
The hotel was spotless and beautiful. Our hotel room had a loft for the kids and the view from the balcony was spectacular. Sunsets were gorgeous.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side is well worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jacinto, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

In a word, the Cozumel Palace is fantastic. I just returned from a week's stay during which I took advantage of the dive operation, spa, pool, restaurants, room service, tour operators and all other accommodations. The diving is spectacular in Cozumel, and that is the main reason I went. I traveled with my wife and 2 friends, both of whom are disabled, one of whom is in a wheelchair. Both people are also certified divers. This property is very accessible for wheelchairs. There are ramps everywhere that there are stairs, with the only exception being in the spa. However, they were able to accommodate her interest in a massage by using an empty guest suite instead of the room in the spa. The dock to the dive boats also has a ramp making access to the boats a snap. The crews on the boats were eager to accommodate the few additional responsibilities that come with having a disabled diver on board. This property does have designated rooms for handicapped people, but are also able to quickly make the standard rooms wheelchair friendly.

The dive operation is called "AquaSafari" and, as I understand it, was recently purchased by the Palace resort chain, so they primarily accommodate Palace guests. They also do some 3rd party accommodations, but we did not find that this resulted in crowded boats. They have 3 spacious boats, and they run as many of them as needed to handle the divers for the day. There is a well stocked dive shop on the Palace grounds with ample rental gear and storage lockers near the dock. They run a 2 tank dive in the morning and a 1 tank dive in the afternoon with occasional night dives available. The operation is efficient and safely run and the divemasters and guides demonstrated nothing but the utmost friendliness and professionalism during my stay. Be aware that per Mexican law, there is a $2.50 cash fee per person, per day to dive in Cozumel. This is not included in the trip price.

I arranged a tour to the mainland to dive the Tajma Ha cenotes one of the days of our trip. This was an incredible experience that I would recommend for any somewhat advanced diver. If you are afraid of the dark or enclosed spaces, it might not be for you. This was arranged by the tour desk at the Palace. To participate, my wife and I took a cab to the ferry terminal ($5 or so), took a ferry to Playa Del Carmen ($13 per person ONE WAY), and then met up with the tour operator at the Playacar Palace, which is a sister property to the Cozumel Palace. Playacar is right next to the ferry terminal in Playa and does not require a taxi. From there, the guide took us to the shop to get gear (we were with another couple that was renting) and then on to the dive site. Upon completion of the dive, he brought us all back to Playacar where we ate lunch while waiting for the return ferry trip. One of the nice things about the all-inclusive experience at the Palace resorts is that your all-inclusive status applies at ALL sister properties, so lunch was free at Playacar.

The spa was great, but a little spendy. This kind of stuff isn't really my interest, but one of the people in our group utilized their services extensively and enjoyed every bit of it.

The pools are great. Clean, clear and the swim up bar is just fun. Daily games of water volleyball and other activities around the pool were an added bonus.

The restaurants are fantastic. We tried them all and while every one has its own appeal, we found the Asian restaurant to be our favorite. The wait staff was simply phenomenal there and the food amazing. It was an interesting blend of Asian and Central American flavors that worked wonderfully together. The only restaurant that has a firm dress code is Turquesa, the Italian restaurant and only during the dinner hours. Collared shirts, long pants and shoes are required for men. All other restaurants were casual. 24 hour room service is a god-send, especially in the morning before diving. The tips being included in the room rate is a pleasant extra since it meant there was no uncomfortable figuring out of appropriate tips for each service.

The rooms are very good. Mine had some maintenance issues, but nothing unlivable. There is a 2 person jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room, a balcony with a hammock, amazing ocean views, liquor dispensers (vodka, rum, whiskey and tequila) and a fridge stocked with juice, soda and beer and mixers. The bed was perfect firmness. There are ample 3 prong power outlets throughout the room, which is not common in this part of Mexico. The floors are marble and, while beautiful, can get slick when wet. The bathroom is stocked with big, fluffy towels, excellent body care products and a stand up shower. No tub since there is the jacuzzi in the main room. There is a safe in the room for cash, electronics, etc. not that I think it would be a problem if those things were left out. There is a flat screen TV that I never turned on once. To be clear, my room was a junior suite. Not sure if all of the listed amenities apply to lower room levels. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

So that's it. I'm going back. Soon, if possible. This place is absolutely great. From the welcome cold towel and drink and flower when you walk in the door the first time, to the quick, friendly and efficient check out process, I can't think of anywhere I'd rather stay.

Room Tip: Don't go for less than an ocean view junior suite. Remember that the thermostat measures in Cel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NotAskingForMuch2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Cozumel Palace. It's one of the top resorts in Cozumel and here's a few reasons why:

1. Service - You have probably seen this as a theme with other traveler reviews. The staff really cares that you are having a wonderful vacation. No request is too burdensome. It was my husband's birthday and they surprised him with a birthday cake and a special frozen drink when we arrived.

2. Activities - The entertainment staff was very enthusiastic and made it a fun environment. We participated in aqua yoga, water aerobics, yoga on the beach, water volleyball and water basketball and had a great time. We liked their nighttime entertainment too.

3. Food and Room Service - We had absolutely no problems with the food. We ordered room service daily for bkfst, since it was so nice to relax on your patio and watch the ocean while you ate. The buffet breakfast had plenty to offer - cooked to order eggs, omelets, waffles, pancakes and also continental items - cereal, lots of fresh fruits, juices, pastries, etc. Their granola with kiwi honey is delicious. Lunch buffet was great too - grilled fish, vegetables, tacos made to order, sandwich items, etc. If you just wanted to relax by the pool you can order from their snack bar - wood fired pizzas, burgers, nachos, quesadillas, BLTs, etc. We had a vegetarian in our group and he didn't go hungry either! Bottled water is served everywhere also, FYI. Drinks were great too - all name brand liquor.

4. Rooms - Very clean, and comfortable. Turn down service offered daily. Your room fridge is stocked with coke and pepsi products, as well as bottled water, orange juice and apple juice. Ladies - you can leave your bath travel size products at home! They give you very generous sized CHI products - Bubble Bath, Shampoo, Conditioner, as well as a CHI blow dryer and a CHI flat iron/straightener for your hair. Loved it!

5. Other - Be aware with the resort credits that you are subject to a 16% tax on the service. So for example I had a massage with a list price of $145. Due to my length of stay at the resort, I was limited to $100 credit to use at the spa. This left the remaining balance at $45 plus 16%. The massage was great! You can use any unused credits toward a future stay at the CP or another sister property.

Caution:
We rented a Jeep to tour the island and it was great. However, when we stopped at the Pemex station to get gas they tried to scam us at the station. They have gas station attendants that pump your gas (standard in Mexico). They attempted to charge us $37 USD for 3 LITERS of Gas, which is totally ridiculous. The conversion rate is 11 Pesos to $1 USD. Please make sure you do the math before you allow them to tell you what you owe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michellem07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed in many resorts all over the world and this one is, hands down, the best of any of them. First, the staff are all excellent. They remember your name, even remember your drink preferences and go out of their way to help respond to any needs almost before you ask. The training program for staff at this hotel encourages customer service and improvement of skills for advancement. The facility is beautiful and things like the jacuzzi tub for two in every room with ocean view, the open bar in the room and thick towels all make for an amazing experience. There are shows and activities every night and the meals at all the restaurants are amazing. The dive shop on site is also very good with large boats and crews. We also used the spa for a massage and it was the most relaxing experience. The only downside is that the spa services are expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view. We were on the 4th floor (of 5 floors) and had an unobstructed view. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barry068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
990 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
2,042 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
3,352 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Property: Cozumel Palace
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar km 15 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Gonzalo Guerrero, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing