We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cozumel Palace
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We just got back from 7 wonderful days at the palace. The treatment that we got from all the employees was amazing. The rooms and the ammenties were everything that was advertised. Our favorite place to eat the Flamigo grill outside. it is walking distance to Jimmy buffets, the mall and the ferry dock as well as the main market place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitty4947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,221 - 3,227 of 3,793 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2009

We decided to stay at the Cozumel Palace after a wonderful stay at the Sun Palace in Cancun last year. We enjoy snorkeling, which prompted our decision to stay in Cozumel.

I am always perplexed at the few negative reviews I have read, but keep in mind Abraham Lincoln's famous saying: "People are about as happy as they make up their minds to be."

Many of the reviews have highlighted the accomodations, food and activities, so thought we would skip most of that as it becomes repetitive and try to offer some other advice and suggestions. Every room has a beautiful ocean view, some may be a bit noisier than others. There will always be one or two inconsiderate guests no matter where you travel, but have found a wonderful mix of ages and friendly, warm guests at both Palace Resorts we stayed at.

Travel to Cozumel: I cannot stress enough how much more pleasant it is to fly directly into Cozumel. The trip from the Cancun airport to the ferry dock in Playa is long, the ferry takes 40 minutes and then must allow another 10 for loading/unloading. then a short taxi ride to the Palace. The water is choppy and many people become seasick. If you fly into Cozumel directly (or Cancun), DO.NOT.STOP.AND.TALK.TO.ANYBODY!!! There are many sheisters at the small airport just as you disembark asking which hotel/transportation you need. They are not there to help you get to the hotel, only to pass themselves off as a hotel representative and get you to see a timeshare talk and take some money. Just smile and keep on walking. Right outside the front doors are the various transport companies you may have arranged. One bit of advice: we found it faster and cheaper to take a taxi from the airport to the Palace. If you do pre-arranged transport, it usually costs about $55 or so more for two people (round trip). Once you find the van, you stand and wait for multiple people to arrive (15-20 minutes), then have to wait while each person gets dropped off at their respective hotels, as they won't all be at the Palace. In Cozumel, taxi's are not allowed to pick up, only drop off at the airport. For $14 (two people), we walked maybe 200 ft. around the curved sidewalk in front of the airport entrance to the street in front and within 5 seconds a taxi pulled over to pick us up. They have to pull forward a little to be out of sight of the entrance. It takes 5-10 minutes to get to the Cozumel Palace, yet we were never bothered with airport or city street noise during our stay. Taxi rates are posted at the entrance of the Palace and are standard.

The Cozumel Palace seemed a little more relaxed than the Sun Palace, there was not as much pressure to do the time share presentation; they just let you know you could earn $300 in spa credits if you went, and left it at that- no pressure whatsoever. The waiters were more relaxed and though always professional, seemed to enjoy joking around or talking with each other and the guests. There really isn't anything they wouldn't get for you. They appreciate your attempts to speak a little Spanish, so try to learn a few courtesy phrases.
Tips: not necessary but appreciated and well deserved. Another guest told us they make only a few dollars a day, so $1 tips mean a lot to them. For dinner we sometimes gave $5.

Food/drink- most of the Palace Resorts have similar food with a few variations here and there. We also visited the Aventura Palace and Playa Palace and menu's were very similar. Everybody will develop their own favorite restaurant, the menu's are posted in the lobby. The indoor restaurants do have a dress code, and encourage people to make the effort to show your respect to the staff and other patrons by following it. For ladies, a skirt, sundress or capri's is adequate; men need a collared shirt (golf shirt OK) and long pants. The meat we tried was very good at the outdoor grill, but didn't care much for the buffet accompaniments there. The breakfast buffet had anything you could imagine, cereal, oatmeal, toast, bagels, muffins, fruit, potatoes, yogurt, cheeses, waffles, french toast, omlets made to order, bacon and some Mexican dishes. The waiters will get you a Mimosa or Bloody Mary if you wish. The indoor lunch buffet was more limited than the Sun Palace, but adequate. You can also get a burger, chicken sandwich, hot dog, etc outside by the pool. We noticed some variation in the bars; the lobby and restaurants bars seemed to serve better drinks than the pool bar. You must ask for a specific brand of alcohol or you'll get the rail brand. Some of the restaurants had better quality alcohol too, for instance the Mexican restaurant had much higher end Tequilla. They will let you taste them.

Weather/trips: Although sunny everyday, it was unfortunately very cool and windy during our stay. Evenings can be cool, so bring a sweater. When the water is choppy, the snorkel area at the hotel is closed (black flag), and snorkel excursions may be cancelled. The waves bring in the jelly fish which sting. Scuba trips were not cancelled. We rented a jeep in the hotel on one of the black flag days and drove around the island to Coconuts (lots of fun!). It probably costs a bit more to rent the jeep in the hotel, but wanted to avoid the downtown traffic. The 2 door, 4 person jeep through Avis in the hotel cost $114, and that included gas. Taxi trip around the island is about $77, but that wouldn't include stopping anywhere. Automatic jeeps cost a bit more. There is one road around the island and is literally impossible to get lost. Almost nobody lives on the windward side of the island, which has a beautiful, rugged shoreline. The Punta Sur park is at the most southern tip and was told the waves were a bit calmer there and the beach was open, even though the other snorkel areas were closed. Just an idea for "Plan B". The pool area offers free snorkel equipment to be used on the premesis only; there is a private dive shop in the hotel, and you can rent snorkel gear for $5 pp and take it anywhere. At Chankeanaab it costs $10 pp.

Money: We never had problems using US dollars anywhere, you will get change back in pesos, however. We gave the leftover pesos to the hotel maid on the last day.

There is a large Walmart style store across the street that has a pharmacy and you can buy anything you may have forgotten. Any medication is available without prescription, except narcotics. The prices were not especially good though, but better than the pharmacies we saw elsewhere on the island. The prices at the Walmart in the US are better, although a prescription is needed.

The staff at the Palace resorts always make you feel like it is your home!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dutchgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We spent 4 nights at Coz Palace and truly enjoyed it. Liked the hotel for convienience to airport, town and small intimacy of the place. The staff is very accomodating and aim to please. I had to request a lower level room the first morning due to inner ear problems; within an hour they had us a nice room on 1st floor near the lobby and everything. Since I am a "lobby lizard" it suited me fine to come & go without elevators. It gives you more freedom and comfort being close to lobby. I highly recommend the 1st or 2nd floor if you can put up with some noise in the lobby bar at night; but they settle down early. I loved slipping out the front door of the motel and sitting on the bench watching the town people buzz by on their little scooters.

We ate at the pool grill almost every night and loved it. Fresh steaks and seafood grilled to your taste. We dined on white tablecloths, candelight, soft music and cool breeze, very romantic. Breakfast was good, omelets are the best (try shimp omlets). We ordered cheese & fruit platters in our rooms most nights for snacks too.

We did not do the tours offered in the motel, some are free. I walked to town and shopped and we both got a taxi one day to tour us around the island for $60. We were gone about 2-1/2 hrs and he gave us a very good history of the island, culture and took us to the beautiful west side. He stopped at some of the little beach bars on that side and waited while we grabbed a margarita. Don't miss "Coconuts" on the west side; it is worth the short climb to the top and be greeted by a friendly dog & chickens. The view is awesome from there.

Negatives: the staff spent a little too much time getting your room key and letting you relax a bit in the lobby before hitting you with the sales pitch and options of the hotel. If your not interested, just tell them right off and they will not bother you anymore. All-in-all-- this is a great hotel, near old part of town and the most gracious, friendly people in the world work there. We will return!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadhound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

This was my second stay at the Palace Cozumel. I have stayed at El Cozumeleno, Casa Del Mar, Hotel Cozumel, Fiesta Americana, and the Iberostar. Cozumel Palace is my favorite for family trips. My sisters and nieces get spoiled, my brothers and nephews get ready refills and great meals, I get easy access to town and a great hammock to enjoy looking out over the water. You just get a bit of pampering and care that some places can't match. Perhaps because it is a smaller place, but I think also they have high standards. The hotel is close to town which is very convenient. The rooms are first rate and appointed nicely. The staff is helpful and friendly. You just can't go wrong here unless you are looking for an expansive beach, but you shouldn't be going to Cozumel if you are looking for great beaches. I highly recommend the Palace. The dive operators will all pick you up here, but it could be a bit of a boat trip to the southern end of the island unless you go the small fast boat route. No complaints with this Hotel whatsoever.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CaptHemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

A work group of 15 stayed at the Palace for 7 nights and had a wonderful time. The service is above and beyond what you would expect. We hated leaving the hotel and were so glad when we returned "home" to our special place in paradise. Skip the tours and the shopping, just stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jpluskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Better late than never. My husband and I stayed at the Coz Palace in April of 08 for our honeymoon. This place is amazing. Check in was prompt, the rooms and grounds are beautiful, just like the pictures. The staff was excellent. All the food was great, our favorites were the mexican restaurant and the poolside grill, and of course the breakfast buffet.
Take advantage of all the free tours! Tulum was a great historical site as well as the most beautiful beach ever. The snorkeling was worthwhile. My husband went for the first time and now wants to start diving. We did not go to Chankannab, however we heard from some friends we met that it was great as well. But a must do is to rent a Jeep and drive around the island! We went into town and rented an old raggedy Jeep for $50, less expensive than the hotel, but not as nice, but it got us where we wanted to go. This is totally safe and almost impossible to get lost, the highway is a giant circle. We stopped at each beach bar that we ran across and swam in the gorgeous beaches and had a couple of drinks, ate lunch, etc. We enjoyed it so much we went back and another day and rented a polaris razor.
The nighlife at the resort was not too wild, most things closed
up around 11. However you can go into town to Senor Frogs or Carlos and Carlies and party the night away if you wish. We were so beat from getting up early and playing in the sun all day that we didn't have much energy left at the end of the night.
The location of the CP is great, just a short walk to town. We walked into town almost every morning before it got too hot. I have nothing negative to say about the resort. We are just hoping that we can go on another vacation that is comparable to this one.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kygirl-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We had a great time at the Cozumel Palace. We arrived at the hotel to a cool towel and a red carnation for me. They seated us in the lobby with a welcome drink and came to us for check-in. The only negative was when guest services comes over to tell you about the hotel and tries to talk you into a 90 min presentation (that isn't a time share, really). no thank you.

The room was beautiful with a wonderful view. Mini bar was well stocked. We ordered room service while we unpacked and it was great, we had shrimp cocktail and steak. They had a nice menu for room service (24 hr).

We tried the Mexican restaurant and Italian we liked the Grill the best. Great steaks (ribeye, t-bone, new york strip), fish, chicken, chops and kabobs grilled to order. The 3 indoor restaurants you need to wear slacks, did see someone turned away in shorts. The grill outside you can wear shorts. And No reservations for the restaurants. Breakfast had made to order omelets with a selection of other breakfast items, not huge but adequate. Lunch we ate at the grill, very good cheese steak sandwich, grilled tenderloin on a crusty roll with an order of guacamole and pico. The buffets were adequate if you put into perspective that this is not a mega resort and the buffets are relative to the guest count.

This hotel is not a big party crowd, not much night life, which is OK with us. Drinks were top shelf and strong, I had to ask for weak ones (in the afternoon anyway). There were young couples, a couple of young families and a big middle age crowd. There didn't seem to be much to do for kids.

We went to Playa Mia. The tour company that runs the Chankanaab trip gave a cab driver a coupon to take us and gave us a coupon for the return trip so we could leave whenever we wanted not the 4:00 as listed.

The things we liked and the reason we stayed here:
Close to town, walking distance
Air conditioned lobby, bars, & restaurants
Ocean-view rooms
waitstaff around the pool
No reservations for dinner at the restaurants

Pleasantly surprised about:
Great meat for Mexico
Outstanding waitstaff everywhere
Free long distance calls, limited to continental NA basically
Found out too late that vanilla in the hotel gift shop is half the price we paid in town, will shop there first next time.
Rooms were not as loud as reviewers made it sound like. As in any coastal area there is lots of tile, I've heard a lot worse at High end hotels. Bigger crowds, more noise.

All in all we had a great experience and will return to Cozumel and Cozumel Palace.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badgertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,139 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
7.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,779 reviews
10.1 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
5,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozumel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozumel Palace

Address: Av Rafael E. Melgar km 1.5 | Zona Hotelera Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £233 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cozumel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too long ago, Cozumel Island was revealed to the world with all its charm. Now adventure travelers, divers and nature lovers are discovering the all-inclusive, luxurious Cozumel Palace, the stunning resort bathed by the blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Experience the true meaning of luxury and fun. Enjoy the amenities and attention to detail from the moment you arrive. Our Cozumel Palace will take your breath away! Ideal for families, couples and adventure travelers who love diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cozumel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozumel Palace Hotel Cozumel
Palace Hotel Cozumel
Plaza Las Glorias Cozumel
Palace Cozumel
Cozumel Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing