We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Cozumeleno”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have been at this resort many times. This year it fell a little short in our rating. The staff is outstanding but the management owners need to invest in some upgrades. New mattresses would be nice. TV's are very old and have fuzzy reception. Our air conditioning did not work which I talked to the desk twice and left a note at the front desk. Thank goodness it was not terribly hot this time. It is very clean and the staff is very attentive. They are always trying to help. Snorkeling off the beach is great. The weather did not cooperate for the last part of the trip. We had a good time playing cards, etc. Food in the restaurant could use some help. I had shrimp over risotto in a wine garlic sauce. It was good but had to peel the shrimp so it was quite a mess. It would have been nice if they served it with the shrimp already peeled.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms. It is wonderful to watch the sunset off your balcony with a glass of w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,657)
There are newer reviews for El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,233 - 2,239 of 5,657 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

There is almost nothing bad I can say about this venue. The only thing that bothered my family were the black birds that roamed around and gathered food whenever possible. On a few cases, they pooped on chairs and near food. Management has acknowledged this problem but they need to do more. Maybe they should try installing Owl statues or adding more netting where possible.

Room Tip: opt for the new second tower and a high floor. It'll give you a great view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanRGonzalez365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was our first time staying at the El Cozumeleno resort and we had a great time. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The rooms were very big with beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean and comfortable beds. The restaurants were very nice with slightly better than average food but nothing to write home about. Very family friendly with nice pools and entertainment. However, the music around the pools was pretty obnoxious and could hear the bass all day and into late evening from our room and where ever you were lounging. This was annoying because it took away some relaxation of listening to the ocean and relaxing. AMAZING snorkeling and water right off the beach at the hotel, however, not much of a beach. Not great beaches to walk along the water. Overall, great stay and we would probably go back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side should be quieter since it's further away from the music by the large po...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I'm not sure why people give this place bad reviews. My wife and I stayed November 9th to November 16 with a group of 18 people. We had an absolute blast. The rooms were big, clean and quiet. The views were awesome. Excellent snorkeling right at the resort. The food was pretty good. They had a selection on the buffet, but you could always order off the menue. The fancy resturant had excellent food. It rained pretty much every day we were there, but it was never a total wash out. The entire place was clean and the staff worked very hard to make sure everything was clean and everyone was having a good time. I would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had a great time at the El Cozumeleno. Our room was the 3rd floor of the tower was wonderful and A/C worked great. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful.The resort is very clean. The ocean water is clear and could snorkel right at the resort. We loved to come down in the morning and eat a leisurely breakfast In the restaurant , while sitting twenty feet from the ocean.






















f







































lleisurely









































leisurel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is our second visit, and as soon as we arrived again we were home! We were greeted by name and hugged by the staff that remembered us from last year and that we remembered them. We got to the front desk and once again greeted by name, from Nanci and Francisco, They were still there from our last visit and took care of us once again. We were celebrating our 11th anniversary and when we arrived in the room it was prepared with a special greeting of flowers and a plate with our anniversary welcome. We walked around the pool and and were greeted by the staff with hugs. It was so special and we were so happy to see our friends who work at El Cozumeleno. Salvador and Lourdes, Fernando, and Ricardo, and Jose were our friends who were still there and made our second trip very warm and welcome. The food and the service, as always was great, If you didn't like something just ask for it. We were also surprised that the guests that we had met last year were also there. How amazing was that! Needless to say we also met new faces and new friends and only hope that they will all be there for our third visit next year.
Finally I surprised my wife and renewed our vows at the hotel, I coordinated with Romey and she took care of everything for us. what a special event and you all made it happen.

To the Owner of El Cozumeleno, Hats off to you, for what you have done with this staff and the service provided. Your staff is amazing and we have become friends, and even part of their families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a great time at the El Cozumeleno. Our room on the 7th floor of tower was wonderful. Beautiful view and very clean. Bed comfortable. Staff was very nice and helpful. Did dive package with the hotel dive company, Scuba Duo. It was a good dive boat with small groups and good dive masters. Hopefully, they will take our suggestion about different water tanks for masks and a different one for cameras. The hotel restaurant was very upscale with piano music and a good variety of dinners with menu changing every two days. Beautiful beach and swimming area The resort gift shop was not overpriced and bought some nice souvenirs. Will return again next year!!

Room Tip: tower and above 3rd floor. great views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiltonrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,099 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,235 reviews
11.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
3,634 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £93 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing