We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

It seems you really do get what u pay for ... Or in this case you get even less. We bought a living social deal for this place thinking we were getting a good deal. Not the case , other than good company of the friends I went with it was an awful vacation . The food is absolutely awful , even the nachos are awful . Drinks are very watered down.the wine ( only 1 red optiion ) literally tasted like vinegar .Roaches present in room . All these things would be somewhat tolerable if the beach was nice .... Unfortunately there is little to no beach and the beach that is there has old concrete slabs all over it . Don't waste your time and money here

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,263 - 2,269 of 5,710 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

The resort contains two eating locations - a buffet and a restaurant (for which reservations and dressy attire are required). The buffet was fairly average; the two cook to order stations were a bit better. The restaurant was surprisingly of not much better quality than the buffet. Pasta seemed as if it had been spooned out of a vat. Everything looked and tasted mass produced.

The room was acceptable with the one problem that there were literally no accessible outlets except for in the bathroom.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with decent snorkeling. There are two nice hot tubs, great pools, and a few bars outside. There's even a pretty nice mini golf course.

This place would be really great if they'd just take their food up a notch! All 10 of the people in my group agreed that we would have preferred to pay for better quality food at a non-all-inclusive resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bendhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I was there for two weeks,November 23-December 7, 2013. I loved my stay there! I found peace of heart,body and soul! I love the sea,sky,birds and most of all the staff! They were very helpful and patient with teaching me some spanish,it is hard but some much fun! Muchas gracias a todo El Cozumeleno! Felicidades!!
The Iron Man was fun to watch and cheer for them!

Room Tip: ocean view deluxe high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I've been vacationing in Cozumel since 1987 and my husband and I like to try the different all-inclusive resorts. This was our first time at El Cozumeleno. The benefits are that it's close to town if you like to dine out, shop or catch the ferry for excursions. They have a beautiful pool area, dive/snorkel shop, gave Spanish lessons by the pool, diving lessons (free) in the pool, free wi-fi and internet service in the lobby. But most of all the staff never pass you without a smile and "Ola!" Very attentive and friendly staff.
While we were there a northwester blew in and chopped up the water, so I only got to snorkel one day. There's not much to see underwater on the north end of the island, but we knew that. The staff worked very hard to keep the beach area from eroding due to unusually large waves washing in. Because of this weather event, tho, I won't be returning in the winter months. If I'm going to spend time and money going down there, I can't afford for three out of five days to be bad weather.
I've had more interesting food at other all-inclusive resorts, but the food was not bad. They always have a fresh-grilled option if you don't find something in the buffet. Only had one problem with the plumbing that that was the hot water valve in the shower that wouldn't turn off. Reported to the front desk and it was fixed promptly. We asked for extra bottled water in our room; delivered each day afterward. Bed was very comfortable - pillows were a bit flat, tho.
Bottom line: great place to enjoy a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view with balcony on a higher floor. The elevators were never out of service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel during the 2013 IronMan race. We overall very satified. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was in good repair. The food is not always the best...but your are not paying as much as you would at a better place either. If you want fine cuisine all of the time and dont mind paying for it....stay elsewhere. That being said we only ate from the buffet. Tables are hard to get at the sit down restaurant. It may be better. Wanted to order a pizza after the race and the front desk was very helpful with the translation process. I will return here.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tolkein6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

From the drinks that are presented when you're checking in and the lovely sprawling lobby where guests gather for internet, to mingle, to have a drink or book a restaurant reservation, you immediately feel that you can just relax and have a good time. We found the staff helpful when there was a sporting injury to attend to, to book side trips and get transportation outside of regular hours. The wait staff in restaurants and bars, housekeeping and activities were lots of fun, and super attentive. They did all they could to always make sure we were well taken care of.
Tiny TV in our room was rarely used.
Library and activities room above the fitness room we discovered on our own.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAmb1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The location is very good, the beach well maintained also the hamacs and shade could not be better, the waiters and personel very attentive. Since we arrived the coctail drinks were well received since it was hot and were delicious.
Just one obseevation, there are bike rides offered as hotel activities and those were very bad and uncomfortable. Poor guide had a flat tire on our way back. That is an great way to know more about the island and the rides should be nice since it is the hotel image to onlookers and guests.

Room Tip: Room 1609 has a great view to the beach, ocean and pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelMdz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,331 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
5.8 mi away
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £93 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing