We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds, great pillows, not so great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

There are pros and cons to our 2 week stay at El Cozumeleno. The hotel is very nice, most of the staff very friendly and warm, coffee was excellent each morning (except one morning it was cold). We loved the bed and pillows and slept like lambs. Our room was spacious and had a beautiful room. A/C worked great! The hotel is very clean and staff is constantly cleaning, painting, repairing. Cons: It's not very convenient to "town" and we dove almost every day and it was a 20-25 minute trip into town each day to our dive shop, Scuba Du at the Presidente.. (Luckily we rented a car and this was a HUGE plus!). The biggest con for us was the food....it was hit or miss with an awful lot of misses. The desserts were not edible, they tasted old and had a very strange, almost tofu-like texture. We learned to eat from the fresh grill each day at lunch (and sometimes that was bad) but dinner was just the buffet and it was not great. The restaurant was okay, again hit or miss. The drinks were not great, tasted watery, but since we were diving we didn't do a lot of drinking. All-in-all it wasn't bad but they really need to make improvements in the food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,657)
There are newer reviews for El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 5,657 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

We travel to Cozumel every year. What keeps us coming back to El Cozumeleno?? THE STAFF! They are simply amazing and they make our trip. They become like family and it is the only reason we have continued to stay here. We usually travel with 10-15 people of all ages and they take care of us all! They are simply the most hard working and wonderful people!
The beds are a little hard, the food is not always 5 star but the staff will do anything to make you happy. They will provide you with a menu and do their best to accommodate you.
Aldo, Maria, William, Luis, David, Aaron, Lourdes, Helen, Yesenia, Cesar, Mateo, Estaban, Fernando, Yaneth, Jose (bellman), Jose (server), Octavio (bellman), Octavio (server), Pillar, Alejandra, Geovani, Erick, Santiago and the MANY others there just simply make our trip and we can not thank them enough!!! The front desk manager is not very helpful but the rest of the staff there is good as well!
We were there during the Ironman and it was super busy. The staff still made us feel important and I saw them accommodate every demand of the athletes and their guests.
The Coz is not for the fancy 5 star traveler but if you want a great place to relax, have fun and meet great people then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Ocean view above the 5th floor!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The staff at El Cozumeleno were amazing! They were so helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to help me make a few phone calls when some of my arrangements had gotten changed. The resort is beautiful and they keep it amazingly clean. The food would be the only thing I wasn't all that fond of. I would have liked more food choices with it being an all-inclusive resort. I also would have liked better food as, like others said, it's average. Nothing to write home about and not much seafood, of which I expected more. If the food was improved, I would LOVE this place! It was quite fantastic anyway though. :)

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view room! The giant walk-in shower was wonderful as well.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at El Coz. This was our second trip to this resort. We were impressed by the staff, service, and especially the clear water for snorkeling right out the back door!
This trip was no different. We encountered the same familiar, smiling faces all over the resort. The food is average, it has been and still is so if you are looking for 4 or 5 star food stay somewhere else. It is served quickly by a professional staff. The room was clean as usual and we received plenty of bottled water. My wife won't drink the spigot water but I have and still do with no effect. The pool waters were on the cool side but the ocean water was perfect, as if it were still summer. We were very much surprised by this.
We tip regularly for good service so the staff loved seeing us walk in. The front desk staff handled all of our needs without problem.
Just a note to those of you visiting Cozumel, or anywhere on the Riviera Maya. Treat these people courteously and with the same respect you would show your friends back home and you will be amazed how problems will disappear before your eyes. Go around pushing your weight like a typical American bully and you won't get the time of day from anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Everything about this resort was great except the food.

Positives: great friendly staff with great English skills. Absolutely no complaints there. The facilities were good--lots of different pools, the dive shop is great (Alfonso is a great dive instructor, and Jose is a great shop operator). Surprisingly great snorkeling right off the beach, and they provide all the equipment for free. They didn't try to nickel and dime you like a lot of places. Great positive: our flight out was late, and after checkout they held our bags and let us continue to use the facilities for free. I was quite impressed with that.

Negatives: the food was terrible. Just tasteless and nasty. Their 'fine' dining was better, but still not great. Also, do your own research for tours. Some were good to book through the hotel, but some it was much cheaper to just rent a car and do ourselves. Also, the hot tubs were not so hot.

Other stuff: It's about an 8 dollar cab ride from the hotel to Punta Langosta (the shopping center and ferry terminal). $13 gets you from Cozumel to Playa del Carmen via the ferry. The place is on the extreme north end of the hotels, so you're a little more remote than some other places, but with a quick cab ride it's fine (about 5 kilometers north of the center). I felt totally safe at all times while in Cozumel.

We stayed at that hotel while I ran Ironman Cozumel, and the staff didn't mind all our bikes and gear and other stuff that would drive most places crazy.

Room Tip: I would strongly suggest springing the extra coin for an 'ocean view' room. The air conditi...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was an Ironman host location and since my daughter and her boyfriend, both participants, we're staying there we decided to try it vice our last years' venue. I stayed in the older part of the hotel and while extremely large (perfectly suited for a family of 4) it had a distinct older smell not associated with the newer tower. The air conditioning worked well keeping the inevitable humid and it's dampness at bay. The cleaning staff is impeccable. Greeting staff extremely helpful and cordial. The front desk staff was abrupt and not overly forthcoming in information (restaurant info/ septic issues-put your t.p. in the garbage/where to find those beach towels that they give you the cards for/ social activities) leaving us to figure it out or question on our own. Not prime season, I was told that the meal choices were not as varied as usual and you could really tell the previous day's leftovers. Food was plentiful, well presented with at least one live-cooking station. Clean, efficient and the wait staff are attentive and friendly. Common areas are great (pools, beach, tennis, mini putt, activity centre) are well maintained, varied (quiet to upbeat) and plentiful so that you don't feel crowded. About a $8.00 USD cab ride (+tip) to the city centre. A divers paradise, the Island has many other activities and coordinators are available to assist you in setting them up as well as for car or jeep rental. Scooters are available to rent for 1/2dat to all week in town. On arrival if you have not included pick-up with your package it will cost you $10/person via airport shuttle but less by taxi@$18 for 3 people. It's a short 10min ride.
Three Cheers to the staff for their Ironman race day participation!!! A live band, staff actively cheering, shade and chairs for the racer's families as well as beverage service. Near the marathon halfway loop, this boost of energy was greatly appreciated by the athletes.
Overall, a great value for your money and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Old section has larger rooms with patio access to the pool that are quiet at night (activities all s...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

It seems you really do get what u pay for ... Or in this case you get even less. We bought a living social deal for this place thinking we were getting a good deal. Not the case , other than good company of the friends I went with it was an awful vacation . The food is absolutely awful , even the nachos are awful . Drinks are very watered down.the wine ( only 1 red optiion ) literally tasted like vinegar .Roaches present in room . All these things would be somewhat tolerable if the beach was nice .... Unfortunately there is little to no beach and the beach that is there has old concrete slabs all over it . Don't waste your time and money here

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,100 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,236 reviews
11.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
3,637 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £93 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing