We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived during the last of Feb. 2014. The resort was super clean and staff is very friendly. The snorkeling right off the resort was spectacular! We enjoyed the buffet but were not that impressed with the "fancy" restaurant. We would have enjoyed more authentic Mexican food but that was so minor! Loved that we were only 10 min away from town. We got to enjoy carnivale there. We have stayed at the Wyndam before. El Cozumeleno was so much better.
Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and watched a beautiful sunset every night. Elevators were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,925 - 1,931 of 5,813 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We had such a great time with a group of 19. I got to marry the woman of my dreams and Romy C. did such a great job of making our wedding perfect. I'm really going to miss the coca cola in a glass bottle in town. Be sure to go to the town square on Sunday night to see some great entertainment and authentic Mexican food.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank FDXguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My stay was great. I could go on forever about how great the service was- the staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The hotel workers will bend over backwards to keep you entertained, hosting various activities all day. There is very little to do at night or in the way of parties, however. It would take forever to list all of the outstanding staff here, but two of the workers who stood out were Jesus and Alejandro from the activities staff. They were very helpful and made our stay very fun. The hotel was far from downtown, and it cost $8 USD by taxi each way. The activities like parasailing and jet skiing at the hotel and off the hotel property were way too expensive. Beds and pillows were hard. My main complaint is the food. The breakfast was ok, the other meals were bad, and the desserts were terrible. I was "forced" to survive on the free alcohol :) Overall, a very great stay!

Room Tip: Friends on the south side had a more comfortable bed and seemed more roomy than ours on the north wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was my second time at El Cozumeleno. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you want to snorkel off the beach, this is your place! Some of the other beaches have murky water. The water here is crystal clear! People were coming from other resorts to snorkel, although they were asked to leave.
The food was good. They have an awesome steak in the restaurant. Very clean and professional. Although you are not required to tip, the staff is very appreciative if you do. I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean from your balcony, you should get above the fourth floor. The palm tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the best place in Cozumel to stay! We just returned from our 4th stay at El Cozumeleno and can't wait to go back in October. The rooms have great views, you can see the sunrise on one side and sunset on the other side. The food is great and a huge variety. Breakfast and lunch on the ocean is amazing. The entertainment is great. They keep us busy with activities and workouts. We loved the bike ride. You can walk the beach as well. Luana is the best waitress at the beach. We love to eat at the Veranda. Santiago, Francisco, Yeneth and all the rest are so amazing! We love the piano music during dinner. On Tuesday nights, they have a live band who is sooo great! We danced all night. It was so much fun. We love this place. We have stayed different places in Cozumel for 20 years twice a year and this is our favorite place.

Room Tip: We always get an ocean view room and we've never had a bad view! It's always been quiet, abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJFUNLOVETOTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our stay was great. The pool area was nice and the activities staff, especially Jesus and Alejandro. They were spectacular and really made the resort fun. The resort is a little removed from town, and the taxi drive to town was $8 USD, but there was plenty to do at the resort. The resort also has a pier that different Companies use to pick you up for various activities like snorkeling and fishing. There is sandy beach in front and to the north of the resort you can walk. To the south there are rocks and small lagoons that you can explore. There are many tidepools with fish and other sea organisms, and you might even spot an iguana or two on the rocks!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Some of the friendliest people on the planet are employed at El Cozumeleno. Jose, Lordes and Octavio are sure to help and wait on your every need. The prices are right and room service is free of charge. The food is great and always available. The grounds are kept immaculate and so are the rooms. Would recommend for a short or long vacation. The beach is full of ocean life and many things to see in the ocean. I saw a pod of dolphin swimming just off the coast, it was amazing.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are the best, with a view to enjoy from your own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraS223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
7.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
5,129 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
11.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £96 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing