We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We LOVE the staff, everyone is happy and friendly and they remember us from year to year! If you are looking for family friendly this is the place for you. The food has come a long way from our first trip 13 years ago.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for ocean view at least your first trip, you want the full experience of the view! Ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 5,824 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't know what to expect since this was our first stay here. On one side of our room was a beautiful green lush golf course surrounded by Cozumel's forest. Upon entering our room there aren't just enough words to explain the exceptional ocean view room we had. It was breathtaking. Was it as beautiful of a room as our room at the Bellagio or Aria room in Las Vegas? A resounding NO! But, you certainly couldn't beat that ocean view. Simply fabulous! Our room was clean and comfortable. That's all we needed. We enjoyed the hotel's activities, food, cleanliness, and attentive staff. The staff was hard working and very polite. Will we stay here again? A resounding YES!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We just got back for here and I have to say it was an awesome trip. The rooms do need some updating but the grounds are very clean and you always saw the staff cleaning. The pool was fantastic, food and drinks were good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The second day we were there we had ants in our room I talked to the front desk and within 5 minutes they were up there taking care of the situation. Housekeeping not the greatest. The beach was small but awesome. We would walk the pier every morning for our boys to feed the fish and they loved it. Snorkling was cool. We enjoyed the El Cozumeleno and would go back.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and had a nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The rooms very nice, clean and well air conditioned. The views and beach are beautiful. We used the on location dive shop that contracts with "scuba du" and were very pleased with the diving arrangements, instructors, and facilities. I would use them again without hesitation. The main negative about the resort is the quality of the food. It is tasteless and seems to cook forever... After a couple of days we learned to order from the menu and use the Veranda facilities instead of the buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank libbyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at El Cozumeleno July 9-16. We booked our trip through Cost Co and we got a great price. We stayed in the South tower with an amazing ocean view. The staff there works so hard and they are extremely friendly. They really can not do enough for you. A big thank you to everyone who waited on us. Especially Aldo and Angel. They memorized our names from our first day there and always called us by name. Everyone from the people who clean, the piano player, bellman, and guest services, are extremely hard workers. Please tip them! We were tipping every time we got a drink or ate. Even if we went to the buffet we left a tip. We did not see many people tipping. I know it is an all inclusive, but they are so deserving. We brought $100.00 in ones and fives and gave them all out. A small price to pay for great service and a well kept resort. You never saw an empty cup laying around or any trash. I can not say that for many of the other resorts I have stayed at. The bar service at the beach was excellent. We never once were without a drink. They do not put much alcohol in the drinks, so you can ask for a double. We brought our own bottle of alcohol and added it to our drinks on occasion.
The snorkeling right on the beach is great! We saw sting rays and all sorts of colorful fish. If you bring out a tortilla, they love it and it is so fun to watch them swim all around you. There are rocks as you get in, so I would suggest water shoes. We also did pay for a snorkeling trip and it was fun. However, the snorkeling right out in front of the hotel is pretty good, so if you are on a budget, you can skip it. You can also go for a beach walk and within 5 min. of your walk you will no longer see people and you can have a beach all to yourself. This was a great treat as I live in San Diego and our beaches are crowded.
The room was nice and had a fantastic ocean and pool view. We would have liked a refrigerator, but that was an extra charge and we decided against it. The bed is hard, but you can request a mattress topper. It helped, but we were so tired by the end of the day, we feel right asleep. Our air conditioning worked great. In fact, it got a bit too cold at times. The rest of the resort did get warm at times and there is no air conditioning in the lobby. There was a little in the restaurant, but would have been better to have it turned down more.
The food in the restaurant was good. Some nights excellent. The food at the buffet was always cold. I am not sure if the burners were not working well when we were there, or if this is a common problem. I read reviews that there were birds surrounding the buffet. They must have fixed that as there were nets up and we never saw a bird near any food.
There really was not much entertainment at night. Mostly kid movies and one night a band. That was it. If you are looking for a place to party, this is not it. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation away from Cancun, this is a great option. The wifi in the room does not work, but does work out on your balcony. It also works by the pool and in the lobby. It is slow, so don't expect USA fast wifi. We tried to watch Netflix and we could not. The TV in the rooms only has Spanish channels. However, we did not care as we would not have watched much if they did. We rented movies on our iPads before we left and watched those.
We rented a car one day and drove around the island and stopped at many beach bars. I would recommend the Money Bar. Great place right on a reef, so you can snorkel, drink and eat. They also have live music 3 nights a week and a two for one happy hour. We also took the ferry to Playa Del Carmen one day. It was crowded and such a big difference from the layed back atmosphere of Cozumel.
I read some negative reviews and I think people need to remember that you are in Mexico. If you want super fancy rooms and outstanding food at every meal.. go to Las Vegas.
This was a great place to stay and for the price it is a very good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new tower and all was great. We heard the older tower had bigger rooms, but was out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chrissandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I'll first go through all of the amazing things about El Cozumeleno......
The staff, all of them, were amazing! They went out of their ways to get you whatever you wanted. From the maid service to the waiters, to the front desk to the bartenders... they were all extremely friendly and helpful.
The beach!! The water directly in front of the hotel is CRYSTAL clear. It was amazing. While snorkeling right off of our beach, we saw a barracuda, a baby stingray and several types of fish including trumpet fish... The tiki's on the beach are sooo nice to sit under all day... Bring a book and relax while a waiter bring's you a drink. We did this just about everyday of our 7 day stay.
The hotel was very clean. Our rooms, which were 1305 and 1703 were very cool and comfortable. We had king beds and they were comfy! No problems with our rooms. The rooms are dated, but nothing is wrong with them. I didn't plan on spending a bunch of time inside anyways.
The restaurant, La Veranda was very good. The food was fresh and different every 2 days. I did not find anything that I did not like. The desserts were awesome too! The buffet was alright too. It was mostly the same everyday, but it was not bad. The birds are flying around, but as long as someone stays at the table, they don't bother you.

The only issue that I personally had with the hotel was that the wifi signal was very weak. You can only get it in the lobby. However, I kind of liked not being linked to anything :) But my husband wanted to check email and bank account, so he did have to sit in the lobby to do so.

All in all, I would go back to El Cozumeleno... I like the small feel of it. We got to know several people while we were there and the staff start to know you as well. It was a great, relaxing vacation :)

Room Tip: Get a room on level 3 or above so you have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank samack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked our trip thru Costco and couldnt believe the price. The Hotel is nice and the rooms are all clean and have fabulous views of the ocean.
The grounds are nice and maintained realy well. We were suprised at how often we saw people out cleaning, re-painting etc.
The snorkelling on the beach is decent but compared to what you will find down the island at the reefs, it isnt very good. The water is clear but there is no reef at all (just stones and boulders and old concrete slabs thrown into the ocean that are now covered with sand. Having said that, its enjoyable and safe to snorkel in the area.
The downsides would be the food and the pillows. The pillows are hard so take your own if that matters to you. I tried asking room service to bring me a softer pillow and we got another one the same as the others.
There are only 2 restaurants. The outdoor restaurant is buffet style. None of the food is seasoned so its fairly tasteless and often appears to be old/stale. There is enough variety and the staff are very helpful that you can find stuff to eat but it isnt a particularly pleasurable part of the trip. The indoor sit down restaurant has better food but you have to book every day if you want a seat and you do have to dress up a little (guys have to wear long pants). Again, the food is OK but not seasoned well at all. Its just average.... but the price is right.
In conclusion I would stay at this hotel again because at this price I can afford to travel around the island and eat out at some of the fabulous beach bars every few days.

Room Tip: Go for the south wing as I heard the rooms are newer. We were in the south wing and the rooms were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny070764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
7.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
5,137 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
11.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £98 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing