We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll NEVER cheat on El Cozumelano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was my 3rd time to stay at El Cozumelano and I will be back in 6 months!!! If you're looking for laid back fun, prestine beach, snorkeling steps from your room, great adult beverages, great buffets or sit down dinners and always being greeted with a smile, you will not be disappointed. I don't know of another hotel on the island where you have a real, sand beach AND a reef for snorkeling. Usually, you have to choose one or the other. El Cozumelano has something for everyone. You can party like a rock star at the south pool and swim up bar or just relax under a palapa at the north pool. The staff has always been amazing. I've never been greeted any other way than with a HUGE smile and it's so nice to see familiar faces each time we visit. I'm always marveled by the man raking the beach to remove rocks and shells that might hurt our feet...seriously!! That's above and beyond expectations. Are the hamburgers great?? No, you're on a small island in Mexico...not Omaha! Eat the seafood for goodness sake. It's just been plucked from the ocean!

The one thing that always disturbs me at all inclusive resorts is the fact that very few people tip those who are working their butts off to make our stay the best it can be. TIP THESE HARD WORKING PEOPLE! Even if it's at the end of your stay. They are outside in 100% humidity..most of them wearing pants. I would have to dig down pretty deep to muster a smile in those conditions.

Needless to say, we had an amazing vacation and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the South Tower (the newer section) It's near the party bar, so you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Gina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 5,668 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Absolutely beautiful property. Ability to snorkel right off the property shoreline was a definite plus. The view is stunning. Staff is good and mostly very attentive, most impressed by Juan (bartender) and Octavio (waiter). Had a few hiccups with housekeeping but they were quick to fix issues.
I would highly recommend placing citronella candles or something of the like throughout the property, I realize it's an island so there will be bugs, but there has to be a better way to combat it. Food quality seemed inconsistent from meal to meal and day to day.
Overall it was an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik61978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Can't say what the best thing was...because everything was fabulous...
Pool activities with Nestor, Juan and Omar had us all up and dancing all day...every day there were great activities and everyone in the pool couldn't help but have fun.
The food servers were attentive, polite and friendly in the fine dining restaurant and the buffet, and the food was delicious, abundant and varied every day...fancy restaurant had food that was gourmet for anyone's standards...
Thank you Salvador, Angel and Alejandro

Another shout out to Aldo at the pool and Luis at the lobby bar for taking extra special care of us, making us feel like VIPs we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

This hotel was impeccably maintained, pool was phenomenal and clean, activities abundant and the parties and fiesta were top shelf.

Like so many others that we met on our stay, we plan to go back to El Cozumelenos again next year and bring more friends and family!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are ocean front The north side of the hotel has another pool, another bar and tiki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you are looking to get away from it all. El Coz is the place to visit. The staff is very friendly and genuinely happy to be of service to you. The entire resort was clean and well manicured. Pools galore. Swim up bar! The ocean is crystal clear which made for some great snorkeling. All-inclusive drinks were made with top shelf liquor and very tasty. Food was very good for buffet style meals. We would not hesitate to return and would recommend this wonderful resort to anyone looking for top notch service with a paradise backdrop.

Room Tip: Rooms 417 and 517
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RickMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This place is a bit worn and tattered, but the pools and beach are fabulous. You have the option of eating in a fine restaurant (don't forget a pair of long pants for dudes), or at the outdoor buffet. Service is great, drinks are ongoing, beach and snorkeling are very fun. The people are warm and kind and go out of their way to be helpful. Bring lots of one-dollar bills for tips that you will feel are well-worth it. Taxi's are plentiful and drivers are full of practical advice.

So, when I say worn out, I mean that the place has seen better days in years gone by, but for some reason it does not seem to matter after the first day--worn, but clean and tidy. Your room is cleaned spic and span everyday; views from every room are incredible. We would go back for sure, and would recommend El Cozumeleno to couples, families or friends who are looking for a fun place to go.

Room Tip: Rooms above the third floor have the best ocean views. It can be a bit loud in the early evening, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. The workers are amazing and im sure not paid enough.

We waited almost 2 hours for our room to be ready.When we finally did get a room we were sent to one that was already being used.However management was great and gave us an upgrade.

The things we did not like however was that the food was pretty horrible and we figured out it was the resort.We ate out almost everynight which sucks cause it was a all inclusive so it was money we did not need
to spend.Breakfast as everyone has been saying is the best meal of the day.They need to imporce there air conditioning system , and the pillows are pretty hard so is the bed although it is firm.There is a strange smell throught the resort room areas everyone noticed im not sure if its the cleaning product but maybe its time to switch to MR.clean overall I foubd this place to be bit overpriced because for an all inclusive the food should be decent and it really wasnt. The burgers look like tofu hockey pucks ! I actually went out and bought a pack of burgers and seasoning and asked the cook at the grill if he would make them for me. He was great about it and very helpful.However for a latino place there was very bland food abd hardly any mexican.This place is very touristy.I am definetly going back to mexico next year however I will not be returning to el-cozumeleno.Please contact me if you need more info datflyboix@gmail.com

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We just left there and already miss it!! We just celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here for 6 days and are in our mid 30's.

First off, posting a negative review about silly stuff....only make you look, well....silly.

I've never had better service anywhere In my life. There is ALWAYS someone around to help or to serve. Everyday there was something new and if you make an effort to have fun, the staff remember you and take even better care of you!

The food..... Is as good as you make it!! The buffet is full of fresh choices, you could order off of a menu ANYTIME if you didn't like the selection that day AND there's a formal dining room with top notch 4 course meals.

The positives: service, staff, location, food, activities, snorkeling, pictures, very kid and family friendly and great big air conditioned rooms.

The negatives: need to have Wi-fi in the rooms. Pillows were horrible.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,270 reviews
11.7 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,683 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £95 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing