We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Good all inclusive”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Good Location away from Downtown, no hawkers on the beaches, nice snorkeling from the beach in front of hotel. Hotel is in generally good condition, but our first night we were in the new part of the hotel and the pool and bar noise was unbelievable! I asked to be moved to the older side (quiet side) and they showed me available rooms, I paid the upgrade charge for ocean-view, but the room needed an update, shower tile was cracked and paint was peeling near a/c vent. Service at this hotel is great, they need to do some updating, food is moderate, no reason o do the reservation dining unless you want A/C as it wasn't that much better, the hot tip is to order from the menu in the walk in restaurant.

Room Tip: stay away from the pool/bar area if you want to relax here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,911
    2,182
    794
    358
    283
See reviews for
1,682
2,013
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,588)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked a last minute deal for a short 4 night visit. We have been to Mexico 20 times so this is not our first rodeo. The room was HUGE and had a nice view. Lunch had several good options including the grilling tent and you can order off the menu. If they would have the same for dinner... Dinner was sketchy the restaurant was worse than the buffet but you have to learn to create your own food - grab a meat, fresh salsa and have the grill guy give you warm tortillas - you ARE in Mexico! The theme nights are the best evenings for food and fun. Daily activity was equal to most. Activity people were great including Juan Perez which was entertaining, personable and an awesome ping pong player. Snorkeling was good for our young daughter with plenty of fish and a small wake. We prefer the smaller resorts with a good balance of fun and crowds. Ask where do you want to put your money? We prefer to save a little on the all-inclusive so we can get out to enjoy the country we went to visit.

Room Tip: The garden view is an ocean view on the first floor - no waiting for elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a great stay! The resort is beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food and drinks were good. There is something for everyone. The water was beautiful and there was plenty of fish to view when you go snorkeling. The pools were refreshing and

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaapril70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from a stay with El Cozumeleno. It was incredible. The ocean view was amazing, the snorkeling was incredible, and the staff were great. The restaurant was very good; the broccoli soup we had for an appetizer one night was probably the best soup I've ever had. The snorkeling right off the beach was better than the snorkeling tour we paid for. The views from the room were incredible. We spent a lot of time lounging under the huts on the ocean side where we read and relaxed. It's not the resort's fault by any means, but if you like to relax, be prepared to be interrupted by people who came to Cozumel to party and can't understand why the beach side is so quiet. But that only happened a couple of times. The staff was great and did their best to accommodate our needs. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cortney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I mistakenly ignored the negative reviews because a friend suggested we give this resort a try. Bad food, bad service, rude employees, etc. They should call this the Hotel CozumelNO! The favorite word of the staff is NO! The quote Exercise Room is not air conditioned, and every single machine is out of service. The only available wifi is in the lobby, which is a sweltering 90 degrees 24/7. The food is disgusting. Trust me! Leave this place alone....

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The resort is nice and typical all inclusive type of food (not excellent) but the snorkeling is NOT great, or even good. This was one of the main reasons we booked there as several other reviews stated the snorkeling was "great" - it was not! There is absolutely no coral present, no plant life, and there is a sandy bottom with a few concrete blocks and rocks which attracts a few fish during the day and a few octopus at night - but certainly not worth the stay. There is fantastic snorkeling out on palancar reef (via boat) and really good shore snorkeling south of the Money Bar area, but not at Cozumeleno. Again the resort is a fine place, but felt the need to present an accurate view of the snorkeling experience - not the reason to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sundivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

PLEASE heed my warning!! This is THE WORST RESORT EVER!! The rooms are disgusting. There were dirty clothes in the bed when we arrived. Clearly the sheets were not changed when the last guests left. During the night we awoke to carpenter ants crawling all over us in the bed. There is mold and mildew in the shower and all over the bathroom. The staff DOES NOT CARE regarding any of the above issues. They also won't let you make dinner reservations in the restaurant. They claim it is full, however the over one dozen empty tables all night long lead me be to believe they just wanted everyone to eat at their crappy, disgusting "buffet". The buffet food is HORRIBLE!! I was so disappointed with this entire stay!! PLEASE save your money and spend it at a resort that is clean, where the staff actually cares about you and where the food is edible.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
14.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Property: El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing