We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Needs some improvement."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Boyd, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Needs some improvement."”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

The facility is clean and beautiful. The dining in "The Veranda" was superb. The taste and the quality of food in The Veranda needs no changes. The buffet area needs more variety, more vegetables, and simply foods. The quality of the drinks needs strong improvements. The alcohol is poor quality and possibly watered down. Many guests related they were drinking lots of drinks and could not get buzzed. I drink twenty or more drinks and most doubles and could not get a buzz. I drank different drinks and different alcohols, including Rum, Tequila, Gin, Vodka, and Scotch, I even called the brand and premium alcohols. Nothing worked. The beach and staff are amazing. We have stayed here 12-13 times over the years. This time the only issues were the drink quality, the AC needs to be improved, and the food selection in the Buffet needs improvement. Overall still had a great time and a really good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD2947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,885
    2,165
    789
    355
    282
See reviews for
1,669
1,988
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,570)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kimberlingcity
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

First I'll start by saying this is me and my wife's 8th time at the elcozumelino.and again it was a great vacation, the staff at this resort are fantastic, they go out of there way to make sure your needs are met.Lorenzo the manager is always asking if there's anything he can do to make your stay enjoyable, I can't say enough about the man.from the servers to the cooks and the maintainance grew all work very hard to keep this place hopping..... The beach at the resort was great, always a lot to see when you go snorkeling.the food was really good as well and the inside restaurant was over the top...thanks Salvador it was fun to watch you make the sexy coffee,you my friend are amazing. My brother and i had steak and it was excellent, I even tried the duck,not a duck fan but it also was very good,the chief at this place can cook...I wish I knew his name....the food looked and tasted fantastic.... When you come bring sunscreen and use it...as my brother found out,and some bug spray for the mosquitoes there only bad at sunset...a lot of people ask me why I keep coming to the same resort,two reasons the people and the location.the swim up bar is pretty handy as well...oh before I forget bring some dollars for tips,it's not mandatory,but it does show respect for the people who work so hard to make your vacation one to remember,our house keeper made the coolest animal's out of the towels and left them on our bed or our table..I hope this review will help you,so pack your bags and go have some fun,Cozumel is safe,very safe.and the island has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leescuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

The view was wonderful. The snorkeling was great. The location was great. It was easy to rent a car at the hotel. The food was nothing awesome. You can find some stuff to eat most any day, but it is by no means top drawer. You did have to pay for bottled water and all the soft drinks were from a fountain and they had no bottled beer. I would stay again, but I do wish the food was better.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelcoDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have nothing good to say at all about this hotel- food , drinks, AC, was the worst vacation we've had in Mexico - the staff was rude also. If u expect a 4star resort you will be very unhappy. Nothing about this resort was as stated in travel booklet. Save your money or stay else where.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CW1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel has a classic Mexican flavor with the comforts of a resort. Located on the north end of the island, it's a little distance from the center of town and shopping, but we liked the peaceful atmosphere. We stayed on the 8th floor and enjoyed a fabulous balcony ocean view. AC worked well, a definite must for me after a hot day in the sun. In addition, we weren't regularly inundated with cruise ship guests during our trip. Snorkeling right in the front of the hotel is excellent and very convenient. We brought our own snorkel gear because hotel snorkel gear can only be checked out an hour at a time, too short for our preferences. However, it appeared that many guests utilized it without difficulty. The on-site dive shop (ScubaDu) made scuba diving very convenient. We were able to rent equipment there and taxi wherever needed to meet our boat (included in the cost of the dive).
The property is well-maintained and very clean. The pools were very nice, and after a long day in the sun, we particularly appreciated a pool that was well-shaded. Our family liked the 18 hole putt-putt golf course on the property and the oversized outdoor chess set. There were activities for younger children as well, but we didn't utilize them. The activities center was very accommodating, but be sure to note the activity center hours of 10am-4pm. We wanted to kayak several mornings or evenings, but equipment was not available to us at our desired times.
The buffet food is good, but has a lot of similar flavors. However, if you're traveling with teens, the all-inclusive food is a definite plus. One evening instead of the usual dinner buffet, they held a traditional Mexican fiesta with entertainment highlighting various states of Mexico, and it was enjoyed by all ages. In addition, they had several live bands on the beach with a wide variety of musical styles The other restaurant on the property requires reservations made daily not before 8am. Since we did a lot of scuba diving and excursions, reservations weren't available by the time we had to leave the hotel and were full by the time we returned. The one day we were able to make reservations, the only time slots were at 9pm--much later than we'd hoped. The food and service was very excellent, but the restaurant felt very inaccessible to us as guests due to the limited times available and limited reservation methods. We definitely would have liked to eat there more than once in 8 days. The only other challenge we encountered was the lack of bottled water included in our All-Inclusive plan. Each guests gets one bottle of water in the room per day. Otherwise, a case of water is for sale at the price of $20 each.
The staff of El Cozumeleno was a huge highlight of our trip. They were incredibly helpful, fun, and accommodating throughout our visit. We would return to this resort in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: At this hotel, ocean view rooms REALLY do include a full ocean view...not just a corner if you hold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SherriTravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Excellent hotel experience. Very pleased with everything from the room, customer service, and food. Everyone is very friendly. We will definitely stay there again. This was our first time staying here and would really recommend to everyone. Family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stars750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel it's self was nice great view, but will say those beds weren't anything I'm used to but it was only for sleeping on so was all good. The staff and very friendly and welcoming and if you need anything they cater to you. I would defiantly stay there again ! The food was okay I'm a picky water but still found something to eat just wish it was a little warmer. Overall was a great stay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwil16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
14.0 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Property: El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing