We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divers paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Divers paradise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was my third time at Cozumel Casa del Mar. The help go out of their way to assist you and always greet you with a "Hola" in Spanish or "Hello" in English and always with a warm smile. The maid service clean your room with efficiency and speed. I would head out for breakfast or lunch and by the time I came back, the room was spotless. The grounds are clean and beautifully manicured. When we were there, we saw divers and non-divers all enjoying their stay. There is a walk bridge that spans from the poolside to the waterfront, so crossing auto traffic on foot can be eliminated. The views of the sunset were amazing every night. The entire hotel is scuba diver friendly. Drive or take a taxi to their private beach resort, Nochi Cocum. There is also a smaller beach across from the hotel to use.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpiondiver62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Gerente at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your comments and thanks for sharing the photos. We hope see you soon at Casa del Mar, your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    208
    89
    28
    22
See reviews for
94
146
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was our first time at Casa del Mar, and we would definitely stay again, though probably go with the deluxe room over the standard room next time. Staff was very friendly, the food was excellent, the beach area was wonderful. We were able to do some snorkeling right off their beach. We played tennis every morning - very nice court. The week we were there, it was not crowded, so we got excellent service by everyone. Nice, basic hotel - not fancy - but very clean and well-kept.

Room Tip: If you want the little "extras" such as hair dryer, water bottles, plusher towels, go with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chassell, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Casa del Mar several times and have enjoyed it every time. The rooms are clean, the food is good and the staff is wonderful. The hotel is quiet and safe. We never worry about leaving our dive gear hanging out to dry at this hotel. The pool and the beach are nice and there is good snorkeling to the right of the beach.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Superior Rooms rather than the Basic Standard, affordable and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We would stay here again and again...great food, nice pool, the only hotel with a walk over bridge that goes over the main road to the beach area. We booked a standard room and was disappointed so we upgraded to a deluxe ocean view for only $10 more and it was beautiful. Room was very clean and large. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kealward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a nice quiet, on the ocean place to stay. The food is good. The ocean right out front. The staff are very nice and helpful. I have stayed here six times...There is great snorkeling to the right of the hotel. The water is very warm and clear.. The hotel has nice chairs, hammocks, and lounging, with the ocean right in front of you. Back to the food, the hotel has a great sea food platter for two at a very reasonable price, with a ocean view, while you eat. They clean your room every day. They have a tennis court also. I love this place . Every time I come back they recognize and welcome us back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a ocean view room. Well worth the little extra cost..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

this place is just what we wanted. We are divers, and we wanted to stay someplace more affordable than previous visits. This is the place!! It is not fancy or elaborate, but rooms are clean, the grounds are immaculate, has parking, nice pool area, and a decent restaurant. We did not go to the "beach area", we went to real beaches for the that. We took advantage of the beach club, very, very nice. You need a car to go to the beach club, although I think they offer shuttle bus there and back. We took advantage of the tennis court, and rented bikes from front desk. This is a nice and safe place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katz3nme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

PRICE
We paid about US $77 per night through Expedia which also included a "spring sale" discount. I don't think this was such a great deal but since it was "high tourist season" we were fine with the price.

LOCATION
There were a couple restaurants in walking distance (Paprika & Ernesto's Fajitas) along with a convenient store (OXXO Palmar Cozumel) which did accept credit cards and sold cold bottled water.

The hotel is not in the best location to access all the restaurants and was very basic with its amenities. We did walk to town on many days but it was a bit long (at least 25 minutes). You can rent a bicycle for $15 per 24 hours from the hotel and scooters are available everywhere starting at US$25 per day plus taxes/fees, etc). I would rather stay closer to the city and then rent a scooter to access the beaches for swimming.

POOLS, TUB & PRIVATE BEACH
The hot tub was luke warm and the pool was not very deep. I only saw children using the pool and at night the divers congregated in the hot tub. There is a bridge that connects the hotel to the waterfront area but its not an ideal area for swimming. You will need a scooter or bicycle to access the better beaches for swimming. The hotel does have a relationship (offering free access and 20% off your purchases) with Nachi Cocom Beach Club Cozumel which is a private beach but we did not get a chance to visit. There seemed to be some good reviews online but again you will need to take a taxi or rent a scooter to get there.

UPGRADES
They did have signs in the lobby that you could upgrade your reservation to be "inclusive" for US $39.99 but we were not interested in restricting all our meals to the hotel. They also had signs to upgrade the rooms to have ocean views and balconies.

ROOMS
The rooms were pretty basic and clean. They included shampoo, conditioner, soap, wash cloth, and towels. You can check out beach towels from the front desk. The A/C seemed to work ok in the room. Our room did not have a ocean view or balcony.

INTERNET
The internet worked well but only in the lobby area or the common area directly above the lobby.

FOOD
There was a restaurant but we only had breakfast there one morning.

STAFF
The staff seemed friendly and were responsive when you asked for help. They did have a desk to help with planning excursions but I only saw a person staffing it twice during my four night stay. So I did not find the hotel very helpful in planning excursions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
5.8 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort

Property: Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabanas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing