We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Cooperstown NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2008

12 of has stayed at the casa del mar for a scuba trip. The hotel is very clean and very nice. The staff was great. Close to the dive shop. Some of the best dives I have done. Renee was a great divemaster. The food was good. I would go back in a second.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Jett32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    208
    93
    29
    22
See reviews for
94
149
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

All in all the accomodations themselves are probably a 2.5 or maybe 3 stars. I was happy with them, but definitely would not pay rack rates.
The place has an old style colonial hacienda feel. It is nothing fancy, but does have a quaint charm to it. The decor is in accordance with local style and materials which I liked. The accomodations are basic. It has cable TV and AC. In our first room the AC was not working properly and so we were promptly moved. Most rooms seem to have a partial view of the ocean. The place is clean. Only place I noticed that wasn't was a corner of the ceiling in the restaurant area bathroom had mildew.
Things i liked were the simple decor, the cleanliness in general, the maid service, the view from our room, the umbrella huts on the beach, and the well kept grounds.
Things I disliked were the jacuzzi jets basically didn't work and it is a small jacuzzi, the place can be a bit loud depending on where you are ( gusts of wind sweep through the corridors and doors bang shut), the hotel's beach area is small but of course beautiful, front desk service was so-so, and not a lot of options for dining right in the vicinity. The walk to town is pleasant in the evenings but can be very hot in the day. Also it is far more than 10 minutes as some people have suggested on this forum, even going at a very quick pace. It is a very safe and beautiful walk along the ocean which I enjoyed, and we did the walk several times. The cab ride is a few usd. The dive shop could be hit and miss depending on who you talked to there, some people were very knowledgable and others gave completely inaccurate information. Also if you dive with them definitely have your own equipment. If you have to do a rental, dive with someone else. Their equipment is in very poor shape and they charge per piece so if you have to rent everything it will cost more than 30 USD. Also one guy told us it was 10 usd per person to rent equipment, he did not tell us that was per item per person so this was surprising at how pricey it was.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wiley111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2008

If you're diving in Cozumel, this place is perfect for you. If you go to Cozumel for a good time, drinking, shopping etc. it's a bad location. Long walk from anything. No nightlife at all. This is a great 2 star. Should be a 3.

The beach- It has about 10 feet of beach, mostly rock and glass mixed in the sand. Not good for snorkeling as it's more of a docking for the submarine and Fury boats. The fake/man made beach is decent, nice hammocks, but a busy street just above your head. Lots of noise and gas fumes.

The pool - Nice pool area, little. The pool area was painted gray/black which made it about 140 degrees walking on it.

Food- There was two restaurants nearby and one on location. Ernesto's fajita factory is over priced and not very good. The free breakfast in the mornings prevented you from having to buy lunch, pretty good.

The stay - The bed was nice, the room was clean. The noise was ok because there weren't any spring breaker types. Lots of people complained about the doors, which you have to slam shut to get them closed, That was loud. Plus there was an open air vent/window to the bathroom which attracted a lot more noise from outside. The AC worked great.

The ambiance - The waiters and servers were all nice. The front desk was a little short with you. Nice grounds. The bar has a 2 for 1 happy hour everyday from 5-6, but it "started" at 5:15 and ended around 5:45. Expensive drinks, but bring your own bottle and put it behind the bar and they will serve you for tip money cost, saving yourself hundreds. Small store nearby you can buy beers for $1-$2 each.

  • Liked — Cheap as dirt
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tenplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Myself and a group were there for hurricane Wilma and could not get off the island in time, so we had to ride it out. The staff risked their lives daily for 3 days, by attaching a rope to themselves and crawling on their hands and knees from one building to another just to get us food. When I say food I mean 3 full cooked meal per day durning 176 m.p.h. winds. They stayed with us once the storm was over not knowing if their families were dead or alive, they would not leave their first concern was US not themselves.Casa del Mar and the staff along with the general manager Normondo will always have a special place in my heart along with the 19 people that were trapped there. I refuse to stay anywhere else, and if you had been there then you would never stay anywhere else yourself. If you can't stay at Casa del Mar, then stay at home until you can stay there!
Jimmy Rhodes
Celebration Scuba

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — I love it all
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank celebrationscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

My husband and I stayed at Casa Del Mar with a group of 12 the last week of February. When we arrived at the hotel they had everything ready for our group. We checked in got our room and the bellman carried our luggage to our room. We got our stuff put away and our dive gear together and headed over to the dive shop to check in and do a shore dive. When we got back we had supper which was great. They were busy so the service was a little slow but everyone was very friendly.
We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and lunch every afternoon. We ate at the hotel for supper every night but three. The food and drinks were good. The waiters, bartender and pool waiter were all very friendly.
We had a ground floor oceanview room which was really nice. The maids kept it very clean and left towel animals every day. The room had a air conditioner which worked great. We would turn it off when we left the room in the morning and back on before we went for supper. The room always stayed comfortable. The room we were in had a safe in the closet, so we used that instead of the ones at the desk.
The front desk staff were all helpful when ever we had a question.
The group we were with comes every year, we will for sure try to come back next year with them. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank goldret08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2008

I recently took a group of scuba divers to the Casa Del Mar for the weekend. The hotel was clean, the staff polite. The food was suprisingly good for such a simple hotel. The group had rooms upon our arrival. With travel to Cozumel becoming more and more expensive; this is a decent low budget option. There is one restuarant, one bar. A small pool and sun deck. Access to a small beach and dock across a private pedestrian bridge. If you are going to Mexico to dive and won't be spending any time at the hotel this is a good location. If you are looking for night life or a beach then keep looking. There was only one real negative thing that comes to mind. We were on the all inclusive plan but still had to sign for everything. This required waiting for the bartender or waiter to give a ticket to the one cashier to print up a reciept. Even for a simple bottle of water. I waited up to 5 minutes at one point and got yelled at when I tried to leave. I liked the hotel overall but our group agreed we probably would not stay there again.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Lack of ammenities, small pool, dining options
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dallen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

The first thing to know: there is no beach here. Second thing to know: the place straddles a busy road, a pedestrian bridge allowing access to the two halves. Third thing to know: cruise ships! Right down the road is a major cruise ship terminal. Fourth thing to know: don't assume anything. In other words, I witnessed a number of guests protesting that the room they had reserved was not available. The front-desk response? "We are booked solid." Ocean view room? Well, if you call a thin slice of blue that one can possibly catch between two buildings an ocean view, then, yes it is an ocean view. On the plus side, it was safe and clean. Because many of the guests scuba dive during the day, the pool is weirdly empty. Speaking of the pool, it is surrounded by a wide expanse of concrete. Honestly, I really do think that the only reason to stay there is that is a skip and a hop to one of several dive shops. Book this for a honeymoon, and your spouse will divorce you on the spot.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,038 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
5.8 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort

Property: Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabanas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing