We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divers' Delight, No Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Moline, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Divers' Delight, No Beach”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is the place to stay if you are diving on your vacation. The hotel is removed from the down town area, but there are taxi's available for $8USD if you are looking for some nightlife. I personally preferred to be more removed from the hustle and bustle. The service was helpful, the rooms were clean. The whole place could use a coat of paint to spruce it up, but it is nice. There is no beach on the property. If you want to pay for a cab, you can go to the beach club down the road. The real draw to this place is the access to the pier to catch your dive boat. It is very convenient, just a short walk across a bridge so you don't even need to worry about crossing the street. I found the hotel restaurant to be a little pricey, but the food was good. Across the street is Ernesto's with cheaper food and the best fajita's. Ernesto's breakfast is $2.99USD whereas the hotel breakfast buffet runs about $12.00USD The hotel bar offers happy hour until 5-6, 2 for 1 drinks, and the coconut ice cream is the BEST I have ever had. You must try it! You need to pay extra for wi-fi access in your room, but the lobby gas it for free. The only other thing to be aware of is do not exchange dollars for pesos at the hotel. You can get a much better exchange rate in town near the ferry dock.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ferriswheel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest:

First of all, we appreciate your time to post your feedback and your experience after your stay. Thank you! Especially for mentioning the good services and the real draw of the Hotel Casa del Mar.
Casa del Mar is oriented for all kind of guests: divers or non divers. For divers, is easier to get the dive services just crossing the bridge where we have 3 dive operators and where our guest can use a lockers. They can make snorkell, divers or not as well. We have the beach area and certainly is more used for guests that like to do snorkel. However, as you mentioned, we have a beach club where the entrance is free and all guest have 20% discount in the meals and drinks.

Finally, thank you for your confidence and we looking forward to your return visit at Hotel Casa del Mar, Cozumel.

Have a great day.
Sincerely,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    208
    95
    29
    22
See reviews for
94
150
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

You would be hard pressed to find a hotel that is better situated and configured for divers. A walk across a bridge and you are at the pier where Marine World Cozumel, Casa Del Mar's dive operation partner, will pick you up. Or, just drop in there and enjoy a lovely little dive with colorful fish right in front of the hotel.

The food is good, but not great. But that shouldn't dim your hopes one bit. The bar is well stocked, and the outside palapa is a great location to dine and just relax. Oh, and no need to leave the pool if you're thirsty because the backside of the bar has swim up access.

The rooms are comfortable and the grounds very pretty. Don't stray off the sidewalk, or you might find yourself with a lump on the head from a falling coconut. (But don't worry....it's really very pretty and safe)

The best part is the staff. I have travelled fairly extensively and the folks at CDM are just superb. They really are extremely friendly, and do their best to accommodate your every need.

I will be there again in a month, and can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Casa del Mar, Cozumel, specially that you mentioned that the staff is the best. For us, the important is that all our guest feel in home and make the best for satisfy their expectations.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments. We will be happy to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Your friend
Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at numerous resorts on the island, I was pleasantly surprised at the diverse menus and great table service. Clean, efficient hotel with large pool area just across from a dive shop and pier - our twenty person dive group were all pleased with the stay. All inclusive food and beverage plan is recommended, but a la carte pricing is reasonable for those who want to explore other places to eat. 40 min walk to town center or 7$ can ride if you have had too many enchiladas.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 859garryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments through TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your kind review of our property according with our services and facilities.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Casa del Mar, Cozumel, your second home.

We will look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Have a wonderful day.

Best regards.
Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My family had a 3 day stay here from Dec 25th - 28th. We were up on the 3rd floor (room 318 if I recall). Had 2 beds with a little balcony looking North. The room was very clean though I did notice some mouse sized droppings in some areas. We later found that we had an in-room visitor, a little gecko that only came out at night. Wife decided to leave the screen open one night but of course it did not leave. We didn't mind it much except it did make some not so quiet vocalizations at night. The bathroom was decent. The A/C worked just fine. TV a bit small but sufficient. Beds are a bit firm but acceptable. Staff was very nice and friendly! Really nice grounds with nice foliage all around. They even have 1 hard court tennis court that looked in good shape.

Free WIFI is available but it only works around the lobby area so its funny to see people congregate in the area just for that. If I recall correctly they had in room WiFi for 60 pesos/day. The pool was decent and my daughter enjoyed it. Though the first day the towels were free and the next day cost $1 each. Tiny charge but seemed odd free one day and charged the next.

The location is nice if you don't mind being away from the downtown area. Tons of scuba stuff going on in the area. They have a restaurant with a breakfast buffet. We always went across the street to Eduardos for breakfast and ate on the outdoor balcony overlooking the ocean. Good food there and some of the better coffee we had on the island and a nice staff as well. Honestly so many of the native people are so nice and friendly. Obviously they depend a lot on travelers income but they really do seem honestly more cheerful here! We did have one dinner on the hotel premisses. Wife had some stuffed seafood dish and I had a nicely seasoned (Yucatan style?) fish fillet. We both thought it was excellent and each preferred our own meal. Wife had one strawberry margarita. She wasn't thrilled about it. I tried it and had to agree. Next time I need to get her a dirty monkey! That has more native ingredients in it and sounds good.

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes
Would I stay again if in the area? Yes

Cost to/from downtown via cab was 70 pesos and takes like 5-10 minutes.

One block north is an open air restaurant called Paprika which has some excellent food!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnFishman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about our services and facilities. We were happy to see you at home with your family.
For us, is important all comments from our guest, due those help us to improve our services and facilities.

About the gecko that you have mentioned, Riviera Maya México is a destiny where the gecko is usual. However, our maids staff, besides clean, they always inspect the rooms, for not find any insecto or bugs into the rooms, however on nights are out of our hands if this specie get in to the room. However, we will continue to make our best efforts in order that all our guests feel comfortable.

According with the extra charge of the towels, would you please let us know more details about who did make charge or what department? Because the Hotel doesn’t charge the towels services, these are free for our guests. I will appreciate if you could inform us the department who did this action.

Once again, we appreciate your time and your preference. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your vacation in Cozumel. Your comments help us to focus on what is important to our guests and allows to improve our service to future guests.

We look forward to see you soon at your second home.

Best regards.

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel seemed great when at the lobby, and on the way to the room. It looked like a 5-star hotel (-: We stayed in one of the more economic rooms (didn't have a balcony). The room felt a bit humid. Nothing a bit of turning on the remote-controlled, in-unit AC wouldn't fix, but hotels I would rate 5/5 would be pleasant all-around.

The bathroom wasn't greatly impressive though. Our particular room had a faint smell, likely due to the humidity. The decoration in the bathroom wasn't great (not a big deal, I know...but I'm not really taking this into account vs the rating). It had some ceramic tiles that made it look a bit outdated.

My sleep there was ok. I would book again here because it was close to the pier I needed to access and because the cost was reasonable for the "high season".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivang3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for send us your comments through TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your confidence in pointing out the weaknesses of our facilities

We had a meeting with the Housekeeper, and we have been working together with the maids for supervise deeply each room that will be provided to our guests before their arrival at the Hotel and avoid a negative impact for our guests.

We will make our best effort to improve and make the relevant adjustments in our operations.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we sincerely appreciate your preference too book at our property in a future. This is your second home.

Have a great day!

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsauken, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The place is not fancy but is more than adequate for divers. They have a meal plan if you're on a budget and don't want to bring a lot of cash but the menu is very limited and you'll be burned out on it quickly. The breakfast buffet in the AM is great, very quick but the same every day. You can order from the menu but they want to steer you to the buffet. Insist on something from the menu if you can't take it any more. I don't think you have a choice if you're on the meal plan or you pay extra. Dive operation right across the street on the dock, very convenient and staff helpful and friendly. Paulino & Jorge are EXCELLENT Dive Masters. Loved them.

Room Tip: If you having an extended stay, get a cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest:

First of all, thank you for taking your time for sharing your comments through TripAdvisor.
I have taken note for all your comments that you have mentioned. We will expose them at our weekly operation meeting with our General Manager, Cheff and captain waiter and determine an strategy that benefit to our guests.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed you dives in Cozumel with the Operator Cozumel Marine world, we are really proud to work with them.

Once again thank you for your time. We will look forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The staff was very helpful and gracious. The rooms were quiet and comfortable, very charming little hotel. The hotel is located across the street from the beach, but has a bridge that goes across to an area by the water. The pool was nice and the property was quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Behalf all our staff in Casa del Mar, Cozumel we want to thank your for taking a time to send us your review about our property and our services.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your confidence and we hope to see you next time that you visit Cozumel Island.

Once again thank you. Comments as yours are very appreciated!

We will look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,060 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
5.8 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
5.6 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort

Property: Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabanas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing