We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Alvord, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Dive Hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at Casa Del Mar for 7 days and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Clean rooms, food was decent, drinks were great. The staff were always kind and smiling. They have free wifi in the lobby and a small fee for wifi in your room, although some people in our group were able to access the wifi free from their phones anywhere in the hotel. They do have a computer set up in the lobby if you would rather just use it to check email or facebook. I can't think of a single complaint that I have about Casa Del Mar. They are conveniently located across the main road from a great shore dive spot, as well as the Cozumel Marine World dive shop remote location. There is a foot bridge that crosses over the top so no worries about playing frogger with the taxi's. lol! Had a great time, will stay here again on my return trips!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandii B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for taking your time for sharing your comments through TripAdvisor.
We are delighted by your review, because comments like you have sent us, allows to motivate us to improve our services. Thank you for your confidence.

We will continue to strive by providing the best customer service possible.
Once again, thank you. We will be happy to see you very soon!

Best regards,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    210
    95
    30
    22
See reviews for
96
150
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have always found Casa del Mar a nice place to stay in Cozumel. The resort is older but we found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food is good but they have been using the same menu for years it would be nice to have a different special each night that wasn't on the menu.
Casa Del Mar is definitely for divers because there are no other activities at the hotel besides the pool (which has a nice walk up bar), the small beach area to lounge or dive/snorkel out front. You can walk to town about 30-35 minute walk.
It's definitely not like the mega resorts at the southern end of the island but it also doesn't have all the crowds of people. We have stay at Casa del Mar several times with our groups but this time just the two of us ....all good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDiver8841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor site. Your time and your comments are very valuable due this allows to improve our services.

We appreciate the preference that you have given several times to our property, Thank you for your confidence and because you are part of our family.
Certainly, we are a hotel & dive resort and we are proud of this due the many features that our hotel has, as well as divers we have.

We hope to welcome again in a near future!!

We send you a warm hug!

Sincerely,
Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The property is small and fronts a pier where cruise ships tie up each evening. While the property is old, it is also clean and well run. There is a restaurant, pool overlooking the sea and well-tended landscaping. My room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The "beach" is actually a series of raised platforms with sand hauled in, lounges and palm trees. Since the area is well above sea level, it makes for interesting views of the cruise liners, and the boat traffic. There is no access to the water for swimmers but the hotel offers access to a beach club if you're willing to pay taxi fare every day. Many of the guests are repeaters, having stayed here for years. It's inexpensive and comfortable, but certainly not on a level with all inclusive resorts up and down the beach. Still, it's a real value and there are other places to eat in the immediate vicinity. The property offers a $39.00 a day meal package, but I would not suggest more than a couple of days dining exclusively at the restaurant as the menu grows very familiar in a short time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest:

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about our facilities and experience through TripAdvisor. For us, it’s very important to know your opinión.

Certainly we are not an all inclusive resort, however we appreciate your preference and your confidence given during your stay.

We are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family.

Once again, thank you for all your comments, and we hope to be on your service again in a near future.

Best regards,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great little dive resort in Cozumel - We have been coming her for 10-12 years- It is getting better all the time. We rent scooters and travel all over the island. We pick up the dive boat right out front

Room Tip: Go for a superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 592patriciam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest:

We would like to thank you to be part of our family at Hotel Casa del Mar, Cozumel.
We appreciate your kind review and we will look forward to seeing you again in the future.

We invite you also to keep in touch with us through Facebook and Twitter. You can find us in Facebook like: Casa Del Mar Cozumel and Twitter: Casadelmarczm

We send you a warm hug from Cozumel!

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Totally loved this place! Very welcoming and friendly staff in every department. Perfect location. Great food. Nice restaurant and bar. The location is right across the street from the dock where Cozumel Marine World divers leave from, which is the best diving on the island. It's about a five or ten minute cab ride to downtown, which is perfect (Cozumel doesn't really have resorts or hotels right on the beach in downtown, because there is no beach downtown -it's more of a marina situation with the ferry pier, promenade, rocky shorefront, etc. The best beaches are north and south of downtown.). I hope to return to Casa Del Mar later this year. Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest:

Behalf all our staff at Hotel Casa del Mar, we would like to thank you for your nice review about our facilities. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit in Cozumel especially in the Hotel casa del Mar and with dive operator Cozumel Marine World.

We will be happy to see you back very soon at home.

Have a wonderful weekend and see you soon!.

Best regards,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Spent a week here for a dive vacation with Phoenix Scuba. Love the staff (they remembered me from last year.) The rooms are clean, the food is good and the entire hotel is great for both divers and non-divers (I stayed on after the group left and a non-diving friend joined me.) Will not consider another hotel in Cozumel again since Casa Del Mar totally spoiled me.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room and the food plan. A really great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest:

In name of the Casa del Mar, Cozumel employees, we want to thank you sincerely for all your comments about our efforts. We appreciate the time invested for sharing your review through this media.

Casa del Mar is your home and you will be always welcome, because you are part of our family.
Thank you for your confidence and for your friendship.

We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Best regards,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My partner and I and our family went on a weeklong vacation to Cozumel and stayed at Casa Del Mar. My father in law is a diver, which was the main reason we stayed at this resort.

The rooms were fine, the staff were courteous, one bartender (darn if I cannot remember his name) was so incredibly sweet and awesome, and drinks were decent as well. Location was good, and walking distance to many excellent restaurants (my favorite one being Blue Angel).

However, please know that this is most definitely a DIVING resort. There will be many large groups packing in for breakfast in the morning, so educate yourself on dive times via the whiteboard in the dining area to avoid packed meal rushes.

The one major thing that I think this place could improve on, regardless of rush times or time of day for meals: staff organization in the restaurant.

Holy moly, it was disorganized. We would often wait a good 15-20 minutes to get a cup of coffee after sitting down, even if the restaurant was empty. After we'd eaten at the breakfast buffet, it would take serious work to try and flag anyone down for the bill.

This isn't to say the staff weren't friendly and that their hearts weren't in the right place, but they genuinely looked like deer in headlights most of the time I saw them serving.

All in all it was a lovely, awesome vacation, but I think a little bit of organization/prep could go a LONG way in the dining area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest:

We would like to thank you for have taken your valuable time for sharing your review about your experience and our services through TripAdvisor.
We are sorry for the service of our Restaurant, but thank you for your feedback, because comments as yours are vehicle to improve and make the relevant adjustments in our operations.

We hope you can give us a opportunity in a future. Thank you for the confidence provided. We will use your feedback in order to improve our facilities and services to our guests.

Have a great day.

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
5.8 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
5.6 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort

Property: Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabanas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing