We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked the hotel as part of a scuba diving package. We had an all-in daily rate including food and drinks. Food was good, drinks were good servings and the staff very friendly. The rooms were a good size and clean so no complaints. Overall a great stay and the diving on Cozumel is outstanding!

Room Tip: Upper floors have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so mucho for taking your time for sharing your review through TripAdvisor. Your comments are appreciated.

We are glad to know that you had a great time in Cozumel and Hotel Casa del Mar and that we meet your expectations. We hope to see you at home for many more years and make your stay more enjoyable.

Once again thank you for your preference, we look forward to seeing you very soon..

Best regards,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile


Whatever you do, stay somewhere else. The staff is rude and the food sucks. The restaurant adds on food and drinks you never ordered. The wifi is spotty and doesn't work. Jorge the desk manager stole my credit card. Enough said.

I'm half way through my stay as I write this review, and were I not finishing a diving cert I would end my trip early. Jorge the front manager is a POS scam artist. When we rented vehicles for a day he made us leave a card. Upon returning our mopeds he tried to claim he never took my credit card.
I had a friend that's staying at a hotel up the road spend a night in my room because they were too intoxicated. Jorge said he would have to charge me for an extra person for the week. The cleaning staff is polite.
There is also some sort of highschool group from canada here. They are always drinking and vomiting all over the place. The walls are thin so we constantly hear them fight and be obnoxious.
My advice. Stay at the park royal next door. It's much nicer and almost the same price.

The only nice thing I can say about this hotel is Signor Santos the bartender is one of the best I've ever met. That's coming from someone who tends bar in Vegas.
If you want a dive hotel there are plenty of better ones on the island.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Nik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and impressions of your vacation through TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry because we didn’t satisfy your expectation during your stay.

Kindly be advised that your comment was exposed in our operations meeting. According with the credit card: Our partners at front desk department, only offer the information about rent a vehicles or tours, they don’t make charge to the credit card due the agencies are who collect to the guest directly. We reviewed with the guy that rented a car to you and he specified that some of your friends was the contact for make the contract about the rental car; he explained that your friend gave to the guy of the company his credit card and also it was returned in the same time to your friends. After of finish to fill the contract, they left and another day your friends was looking his credit card but when they come back to the guy of the company (car rental) he asked again to your friend if he found his credit card and your friend said yes, he found it fortunately. After this confusion, our partner at front desk department didn’t took in any moment the credit card. However, we are very sorry for this inconvenience.

In other hand; about the extra person in your room: our front desk staff talked with you and they tried to explain you that there is an extra charge because of the reservation was under 2 people. Due to the policies in our property, we must collect the person that is not considered in the information of the reservation.

Finally, we would like to thank you also about your comments of our bartender. Once again, receive our apologies about the inconveniences in spite of the confusion, and thank you for the confidence. Your comments are welcomed and we will make an effort to improve our services.

Have agreat day,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Came here with a scuba diving club with an all inclusive package. The food was very good, and the staff were as accomadating as could be to us. Some of our people had a problem with their room, and were moved right away to an upgraded room. I was impressed with this hotel and the way they handled any problems. The pool was a great stop on our way back to our room after diving. Swim up to the bar for a refreshing Cuba Libre or Margarita or what ever your hearts desire and relax after a fabulous day of diving in some of the best diving reefs.
They are hooked up with some great diving directly across the street, Del Mar Aquatics, just a short walk on the pedestrian bridge over the road away.
A great diving hotel, would, and will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time that you invested for sharing your comments through TripAdvisor community. Also, thank you for your preference in the Hotel Casa del Mar in Cozumel.

We make the efforts to satisfy the stay of our guest, and we are happy that you are sharing your experience. We will continue to strive to make a memorable vacation for our guest like yours.

We will be glad to see you again in your second home: Casa del Mar, Cozumel.

We send you a big hug from Cozumel!!

Sincerely,
Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Came down with my family. The rooms are decent the food is fair the staff is very nice and the grounds are very clean and well-kept. The pool seemed a little murky they advertise a private beach across the street but it's really just concrete with some sand in a few palapas on it.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sharkiteuthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest,

Behalf all our staff at Hotel Casa del Mar, Cozumel we would like to thank you for sharing your review through this media, additionally thank you for your preference in our property during your recent visit in Cozumel.
We will expose to the Maintenance Department about the pool area. About the beach area, we are sorry for don’t satisfy your expectations; However we have prepared it the best possible to offer to our guest a good area to relax. Certainly is small, however we are proud to have a great beach in front of the hotel because of the reef is spectacular to do snorkel.

We would like to invite you during your next visit in Cozumel to visit a bech Club Nachi Cocom, we have an agreement with this private beach club, this is a paradise too. All our guest have 20% off in their consume and their entrance is free.

Once again, thank your for your preference and we will be glad to see you again in a near future.

Have a great day,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and i stayed at Casa Del Mar with a diving group in June 2014. The rooms were clean, towels always replenished. We had a problem with our air conditioner, and when it couldn't be fixed quickly, we were moved to another (better) room right away. We had a large group, and the hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate us all. Not much of a beach in front of the hotel, but the pool area is very nice, and if you are looking for a nicer dive hotel this is perfect.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best-larger and with bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

Greetings from Casa del Mar, Cozumel!!

We are very happy hear from you again and we would like to thank you for sharing your review through TripAdvisor community.

We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and to make their stay a memorable vacation and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your dive vacation at Hotel Casa del Mar, Cozumel. We would like to invite during your next trip in Cozumel to visit a beach Club named Nachi Cocom, this is a wonderful beach and where you can have a great time and all our guest have 20% off on their meals and free entrance.

We hope to welcome you again to Hotel Casa del Mar, Cozumel, your home away from home.

Sincerely,
Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Belated review! June 2013 with a group dive trip

My husband and I really enjoyed Casa Del Mar last June. We went with a friendly group of fellow divers and had a great time!

Pros:
Front staff and wait staff were friendly and helpful
Rooms were clean
Towels always replenished
Beds were comfortable
Food was really good for it being all inclusive/for the price- chicken dishes and queso was tasty!
Dive service with the hotel was outstanding!
Nice area on the patio to hang dripping gear

Cons:
No beach. There is a mini manmade sandy spot on the pier (take the bridge across the street) three to five beach chairs but that is it. This seems to be a hotel for divers.
Gear lockers were across the bridge/street and extremely accessible from the street with only a lock and plastic basket for protection. Made us nervous so we ended up carrying our gear to and from the hotel everyday.
Liquor is not included. Like I said. Hotel for divers.

All in all, if there were a few drinks included and Casa had a beach, the rating would be higher. But we went for diving, so as a dive hotel I give it a great rating!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorelai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your time to send us your review through TripAdvisor.
We are happy that you have choosen Hotel Casa del Mar for your dive vacation. Certainly we are an hotel dive & resort and we are proud to receive each year several groups of diving.
As you mentioned, we have a manmade sandy spot, now we have more beach chairs in the area. We are aware that our beach are is small, due this, we have an agreement with a bech club named Nachi Cocom that is located 12 km to the south from the Hotel, where all our guest have 20% off discount in their consume. They have a wonderful beach, natural sandy, palapas, beach chairs, jacuzzi, pool are and amazing restaurant service… I recommend you to visit during your next trip in Cozumel.
On other hand, the meal plan package that we offer includes liquors, I’m impress about why in your package wasn’t included, however, I invite you to look our website in the section of meal plan information, there is mentioned what kind of liquors are included in the package and that we are the only Hotel that serves brand name alcohol and beers in a bottle.
However, we are happy about the rating you have provided and we will make an effort to improve our services and facilities.
Once again thank you for your preference, we will be glad to be at your service again in a near future and we hope your stay will be even more enjoyable.

Have a good day,

Iliana López
Public Relations & Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

DON'T STAY HERE IN JULY!
When I stayed at Casa Del Mar in early July of 2014, there was around 40 high school kids staying there for the entire month, taking a course for a summer credit. The girls were well behaved and quiet, but the boys were out of control! It was like being in a frat house! Constantly slamming doors, cigarette smoke wafting into rooms from all the smoking in the courtyard, yelling, passing footballs from floor to floor across the courtyard, and ridiculous noise levels at all hours of the day and night.
We complained to hotel management several times, but they only offered to move us to different rooms. This would have accomplished nothing, since all the rooms open to the courtyard! Otherwise, management would only refer us to the kids' chaperones.
It was clear than since this group had booked a large number of rooms for an entire month, the money the hotel was raking in from it weighed more importantly than our measly 7 day stay.

I personally talked to one chaperone twice with no results. Then a couple of days later, after being awakened by a football slamming against the room door and awakening him, a friend was totally fed up. He went down to the lobby and absolutely went off on one of the chaperones. The result was said chaperone coming to the room later that evening with an envelope containing $1000 pesos, saying the money and accompanying apology note were “from the kids”... The money was refused, and it was politely explained to the chaperone that the issue was not about money, it was about simply wanting a relaxing vacation.
That night things were quiet but the noise resumed again the next night and continued until we checked out the following day. So much for that apology being sincere!

The chaperones and one of the hotel MODs admitted there had been a lot of other complaints from guests about the noise (though probably few as angry as my friend's) and yet we were told by several employees that THE SAME GROUP IS ALREADY BOOKED AGAIN FOR NEXT JULY. To me, that says the hotel is more than willing to let the vacations of their other hotel guests be ruined in order to score a big group booking during slow season.

I booked at CDM based on TA ratings and recommendations, so the place is probably great the rest of the year, but if you are booked to stay at Casa Del Mar during the rest of July 2014 or in July 2015, do yourself a favor: Cancel and stay someplace else!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Eno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENTAS C, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time for sharing your review and impressions about your recent vacation through TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry because of the bad experience that you had at the Hotel. These observations will be treated with the utmost interest with the Group Coordinator over again, due this group is a Academic group and it is not a spring breakers group. We had a several meetings with him before and after arrival of the students. Unfortunately we can see again through your comments that the students didn’t respect the policies we have; We will expose to the coordinator about this and the consequences that we have had.

Kindly be advised that our guest are the most important and We care about the comfort, safety and accommodation of them, is for this reason that we make a plan in advance to avoid complaints from the guests. I’m taking note about your review that it will be exposed to our General Manager and we will improve the plan to use with this kind of group.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. Once again, thank you for your confidence. Comments from our guest is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention on to improve.

We hope you can give us a new opportunity to be at your services in a near future.

Best regards,
Iliana López
Hotel Casa del Mar, Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 53 in Cozumel
1,179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
4.1 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#23 of 53 in Cozumel
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort

Address: Carretera Chankanaab Sur Km. 4 | Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £50 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar Cozumel is a charming Mexican hideaway facing the magnificent Caribbean Sea. Situated across the main boulevard with 98 comfortable rooms and eight recently restored Deluxe Cabanas, the property is surrounded by beautiful and exotic garden area with a Mexican town feeling. Casa del Mar Cozumel is located two and a half miles south of downtown, less than five minutes away from the famous "Paraiso" reef. Our hotel is ideal for vacation, business, honeymooners and divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Cozumel
Casa Del Mar Resort Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing