We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at Hotel Cozumel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Second stay at Hotel Cozumel”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Very convenient for divers as well as anyone else. All inclusive. The omelets at breakfast are wonderful and I love the "green drink". They have a huge pool and a dive shop connected by a tunnel under the street. The beach area is man made with a sea wall and lunch is served on the beach side as well by the pool area. The rooms are basic with plenty of hooks to hang wet gear outside on the balcony. The beds are a little hard. The pool side rooms are quieter then the street side, that is after the evening shows are over. Dinner had a great pasta bar and a different main meat every night. Rooms are very clean and air conditioned. For an all inclusive resort this was very affordable and we didn't feel like we had to eat there every night. The resort is within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and the square. Being a diver, this is the best place to stay. I will be back.

Room Tip: Pool side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaboVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    706
    381
    153
    107
See reviews for
364
562
91
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shapleigh, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Several years ago, my wife and I began traveling to Cozumel for vacations. We have been coming to the island for almost twenty-five years. This year, we wanted to have more of our family join us for the second week of our vacation, wanted all-inclusive and at a decent price. We found that at Hotel Cozumel and Resort. Although neither of us scuba dives, we return to the island because of the people, the culture and the wonderful friends we have made, through Rotary. Each year, we have the pleasure of dining out with many of our friends, and seeing ow their families have grown, seeing how their businesses have grown and prospered and returning to the "haunts" of years past.
This year, when making our reservations, I spoke with the hotel manager and inquired about a young man who had been particularly caring and solicitous of my mother who used to travel with us. The last time we stayed at this facility, it was known as La Fiesta Inn and the bellboy was named Rudi. I asked if she had ever heard of him, and she said not only had she heard of him, but that Rudi was now the manager of the warehouse and also the assistant night manager! Wow! We were so pleased and wondered if perhaps he might remember my mother.
We arrived in Cozumel on the 15th of March to be staying here for two weeks. Friends met us at the airport and even the chief agent of United Airlines, Daly Negron, remembered us and was glad to see us.
The hotel had not changed a great deal and could use a hit of sprucing up. However, almost without exception, the people staying here were so pleased with the facilities and the staff, to say nothing of the Dive Paradise business across the street. Although the dining room (restaurant) in the hotel could use a total makeover, by and large, the staff is very accommodating, especially the wait staff (NOT some of the managers). The servers are the ones we get to see every meal, every day, and it is they who make the stay so very pleasant. Allowed to do their jobs, without interference, the servers would do a fantastic job and certainly do NOT need to be spoken of as "just waiters". The dining room tables are decorated with old, tired garish colored fake roses in plant pots. These and the hanging baskets should be replaced with LIVE hanging plants, with a simple glass or small vase of LIVE leaves on each table. The chairs are abysmal and need replacement.
The pools are more than ample for the guests, as well as the beach, although new entry steps into the ocean would be a great improvement.
WiFi connection is "sketchy" at best and that seems to be the biggest and most consistent complaint from guests. Offer a stronger connection or have direct access.
This should be a top-rated hotel/resort and I would highly recommend that you try it out. Memories can be created here and re-created as well.

Room Tip: Make sure when taking a taxi from here, that you establish your rate BEFORE you get into the cab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Hotel Cozumel costs are very affordable because it is an all inclusive hotel and resort. The food is very good although they can improve the variety of the buffets. I bought the room and diving package and the service was very good since the hotel has all the facilities for this sport. The island of Cozumel is a paradise and the beach is really beautiful with a crystalline sea. The price to quality relationship is reasonable. The service was very good, the pool is very large and the all inclusive package is very comfortable since you do not have to worry about anything else. Except of course going clubbing and SHOPPING. We went to Carlos and Charlie's and had a SUPER time. Don't forget to buy some of the local crafts and have fun as you bargain and get some real deals; the locals are truly friendly!! I highly recommend Hotel Cozumel for diving and just enjoying some authentic Mexican hospitality. Although, in our room we could begin to hear the sound of cars early in the morning. You can't have it all, LOL

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the main street unless you're an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletchcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This was our first stay for my dive buddy and me at Hotel Cozumel. We had adjoining rooms on the ground level. I had two double beds and she had a king. We both thought the rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. The bathroom has a sink in the outside section and toilet/tub & shower behind a closed door. The shower was strong with plenty of hot water. The tub tile was fairly new, as was the rounded shower curtain bar and shower curtain.

The room had a table with a chair, dresser with six ample drawers, and a TV. The night stand between my beds had a drawer and storage below. There is a closet opposite the sink with plenty of room for hanging clothes. There is a small covered balcony with two chairs and a small table. There are pegs and two large bars for wet suits or dive equipment. Nice touch!

The room is equipped with air conditioning that is relatively quiet. You control the AC. I rarely used it during my stay as it wasn't that hot. I needed it more for the humidity rather than the heat.

I was pleasantly surprised by the food and drinks. I'm not a fan of all inclusives, but very glad I took that option. Fresh fruit every morning and at lunch. Yogurts, breads, cereals, eggs, meats - lot's of choices! Lunch was served on the ocean side, next to the dive shop, which was great. There is food and drinks available from 6:30 AM to 10:30 PM daily. You won't go hungry or thirsty.

Some things I would change at Hotel Cozumel are the loud music played all day poolside and the endless announcements of poolside activities. During poolside activities they "broadcast" each play by play. Obnoxious. I chose to spend my days on the quieter beach side to swim/snorkel in the ocean. Which brings me to another thing I would alter. Almost daily, there are afternoon open air "classes" for cruise ship patrons near ocean side dining. For 2 - 3 hours, dance lessons and cooking demos are "broadcast." Again - obnoxious and inconsiderate for guests who pay to stay at Hotel Cozumel. Once or twice is OK - but every day? UGH. PLEASE tone it down!

Besides that, the value, food and location is very good. It is an older resort, but clean and well maintained. The staff go out of their way to make you feel special. So please, tip your wait staff every meal. A buck or two goes a long way to say that you appreciate their efforts. And please make sure you leave tips for housekeeping, too. Your generosity is appreciated by the staff.

Room Tip: I had room 1032 and it was quiet and convenient. Take the tunnel to lunch and the dive shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooksie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have been diving at Cozumel for more than 20 years. For 12 of those years we have stayed at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, and we love it. This hotel is perfect for divers. Their rooms are large and comfy and perfect for divers. Every room has a balcony for wet dive equipment. In addition, there is a tunnel to the dive pier. Dive Paradise is onsite at the pier. Also, diving off the hotel's pier is great shore diving. Perhaps the best feature of Hotel Cozumel is the buffet breakfast. They offer made-to-order omlets, fruits, breads, meats, sweat bread, juice, and anything else you could want for breakfast. We are planning on returning to Cozumel this summer, and we will definitely stay at Hotel Cozumel and Resort.

Room Tip: We like to stay on the first floor so that we do not have to lug dive equipment upstairs even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Over the past 5 years my wife and I have visited this hotel about 2 times a year. We have always booked the European Plan through a 3rd party website. The European Plan has always included breakfast. We were very surprised to find out that Hotel Cozumel changed their policies and the only way to get breakfast included is to book with their website. We only found out about this when we checked in. However, I do need to thank Hotel Cozumel because without the surprise policy change my wife and I would have never ventured out and tried different places for breakfast. We tried a few different places for breakfast that offered a far better meal for a better value! We ate breakfast at Prima, Rock Java and Jeanne’s. All were much better than Hotel Cozumel and they were not the previous night’s leftovers like Hotel Cozumel tends to serve. Plus the breakfast was hot, fresh made and the coffee was awesome.

Over our many stays there we have had many meals, mostly breakfast, several lunches and some dinners. Breakfast by far was the best of the 3, then lunch and last dinner. Overall the food is very poor quality. It is mainly buffet style and most of the time the food is lukewarm at best. I would suggest to only using this as a place to sleep, however the beds are very uncomfortable. The all inclusive is not worth it. You can easily walk to better places to eat and drink. Plus you can purchase adult beverages at the local grocery store much cheaper. I will advise that if you do not get the all inclusive, you are pretty much invisible to the staff. I don’t understand why, because I would think the non all inclusive guests would tip better, which we tend to do.

We also noticed a change in the quality of the amenities. In the hotel room, they only gave us one small bar of soap and a tiny bottle of shampoo. Then the rooms no longer have the floor lamps or lamps on the dressers. The rooms were not well illuminated unless the sun was out. For those fellow divers, sometimes we need that extra light for log book writing, working with our equipment or even more important…making sure we have clean o-rings for our camera housings.

There are many other places to stay on the island and we visited a few that we intend to stay at for future trips.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel. There are no "good" rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeTheDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed with a dive group 3/9-13/13. The hotel was part of a package, not selected personally. The place was very clean throughout (grounds, lobby, rooms, halls, pool-area). Good service in the restaurant and cleaning the room. The pool-side bar service was under-staffed (one or two people working, and generally only one of them in direct customer contact). The hotel was very convenient to the dive boat arranged (across the street). They even have a diver operation 'on-site' (that being across the street by their cafe). The food was plentiful with lots of selections, but a bit boring.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,077 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
4.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with flat screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing