We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while diving.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay while diving.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel Cozumel is a great low cost and clean place to stay while on a dive trip. Not a good place for a princess. Rooms are basic but clean. The restaurants are good and have a good variety. Staff was very polite and accommodating. The hotel is within walking distance of town and there is a great dive operator on site. We have stayed here twice and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello David, thank you for your valuable and continued preference. We appreciate your kind review, and look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    705
    381
    153
    107
See reviews for
364
561
91
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Arkansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were there in January and everything was perfect. We are planning the dive trip for my boyfriend and his son (who has never been to Cozumel) and the only place we are looking at staying is Hotel Cozumel. I feel comfortable staying at the Hotel while the guys dive and it is convenient for the guys to dive there. The food is pretty good and the drinks are good too. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is great. We stayed at another hotel on the island in May and the entire time wished we are back at the Hotel Cozumel. We will not make that mistake again. We are looking forward to our January trip and hope it is memorable for my boyfriends son.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello Melissa, thank you so much for your kind review. We all at Hotel Cozumel & Resort are pleased that you have had a wonderful stay with us. You will see that your boyfriend's son will enjoy his stay with us as much as you did last January.
We are looking forward to have you with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel Cozumel is our go-to hotel on Cozumel. For SCUBA diving, across the street or under the street via the tunnel, Hotel Cozumel has a relationship with Dive Paradise. Lockers and rinse tanks are located within 100 feet of the dock. Dive Paradise is a good choice for a dive operator. Hotel Cozumel provides keys to the lockers for free. For those family members that do not SCUBA dive, they have a very large pool, activities, and it's just a short and safe walk into town. All inclusive is an option we always choose. It's nice to have lunch in the open air patio by the docks. Food is served buffet style for all meals and they usually have one hot item that is made to order (eggs, omelets, chicken/fish tacos, turkey/roast beef, etc...). We never had a problem finding something to eat. We usually eat out once or twice for dinner but the price for all-inclusive is so affordable, it just makes sense to purchase it. It's not 5 star dining but it's not 2 stars either. It's just basic good food. Rooms have safes in them with a manual key (not programmable). The rooms are quiet, TV is basic (mostly in Spanish but you are in Mexico), and the beds tend to be on the firmer side (which I like) but if you like a soft or medium firmness bed, this is not the place for you. Staff is friendly and helpful. Bring a refillable water bottle as they have drinkable water fountains in the hallways. Overall, for the price, service, and activities, we have found this to be the best value on the island for families on a budget. I have been to Hotel Cozumel 4 times out of my 6 trips to Cozumel. Once with my family and 3 other times with SCUBA friends. I will return to Hotel Cozumel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for your valuable and continued preference. We are so pleased that you choose us as your home away home.
Thank you for your kind review. It'll certainly help future visitors to choose us an unforgettable and affordable vacation.
We are looking forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryson City, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I had an excellent experience at Hotel Cozumel and Resort. The staff was very accommodating, helpful, and friendly. I am looking forward to going back again to see more of Cozumel! My favorite part was the access to the boat dock, just right across the street . That made it so convenient for lugging around my gear! There are lockers there to store your dive gear in. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
We are so pleased that you have had a wonderful dive vacation with us. We truly hope to be your first accommodation option when you return to beautiful Cozumel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hotel Cozumel specializes in catering to the scuba diving group. It is connected by a tunnel to the Dive Paradise shop across the street so you don't have far to walk carrying your gear. Bathrooms are all tiled with sloping floors, water barriers, and floor drains to prevent dripping wetsuits from getting the bedroom floor wet. All-inclusive plan makes this a very reasonably priced place to headquarters your dive vacation in Cozumel. Hotel is very clean, nice towels and clean sheets on the beds (which are very hard), and the employees are super nice. Even the maids and gardeners are friendly. Restaurant waiters (my favorite was Cornelio) bend over backwards to help you, and the service is great. The food is ok, nothing special, but the fish and the deserts are always tasty and the pineapple juice with breakfast is really good. The bar is small but the bartender is helpful. English is spoken everywhere in Cozumel, but if you want to make friends quickly, use your rudimentary Spanish and you will always be welcomed with smiles. We certainly appreciated the air conditioning in our room, and the pool is huge with lots of lounge chairs, tables, and shade if you want it, and a bar and grill that is open all afternoon and into the evening. Important: take smaller denomination bills because the front desk does not have change. They will take US dollars everywhere, but not at a favorable exchange rate. We did take a day trip to the Atlantic side of the island, but it was disappointing as there is very little to see, and none of the 3 bars we spent time at had air conditioning or even ceiling fans (no electricity on that side of the island yet), and the shade was a bare minimum. Food was good at the last place we stopped, but unfortunately I can't remember the name of it. It was the furthest from the main road from the west side of the island if that helps. Keep in mind that all of these bars/restaurants close at sunset since there is no electricity to light up the place. Nice beach at the last place also. Very informative visit to the tequila tasting place in downtown Cozumel. Prices are high for take home bottles, but I learned a lot about tequila and how to drink it right. Airport personnel were very courteous and pleasant, unlike some I have run into in the states. We will return to Hotel Cozumel again for our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side as these are away from the pool and traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolHarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello Carol, thank you so much for your comments on Hotel Cozumel & Resort, and on our beautiful island. We all at Hotel Coz are very pleased that you have had a nice diving vacation with us. We truly hope to see you soon with us again. Cornelio says hello (with that big smile of his).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

It has been a few years since we have been to Cozumel but one of our most favorite resorts is Hotel Cozumel. We have stayed at both the Iberostar and Occidental Grand, while both are nice resorts, probably our favorite is this hotel. It is located on the edge of the down town area, walking distance to restaurants and shopping. But the food is always delicious and I can't say enough about the friendly, sweet employees. We are all divers and this resort has a very reputable dive shop across the street. While their beach isn't large, they have the largest pool in Cozumel. If we go back to Cozumel, I'm sure this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patlong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We all at Hotel Cozumel & Resort are pleased that you've enjoyed our facilities and services. Most of our staff has been working for Hotel Coz since many years now, so they definitely know what it takes to make you feel home. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I are just back from a trip to Cozumel, Mexico, where we stayed at the Hotel Cozumel. My husband is a diver and Cozumel is one of his favorite destinations. We always stay at the Hotel Cozumel, because it offers the best bang for the buck! You just walk across the street to meet the dive boats and can make your arrangements for dives there as well. The packages the hotel offers can include diving fees, if that suits you. The wait staff has been there a long time and they aim to please. Great food and drinks (if you do the all-inclusive) make the vacation stay a relaxing, yet festive break in routine. And it's "affordable." I love the pool. Everything there is immaculate. This place is hard to beat. My only advice, other than to check into the hotel's latest offerings, is DON'T USE THE PHONE unless you absolutely have to. You are charged every time you pick up the receiver, whether you connect or not. Local calls are free for two minutes, but nothing gets done in two minutes, so you can end up paying $6 or $8 U.S. for a couple of brief exchanges. As long as you know this beforehand, no worries. Kick back and enjoy yourself. You only go around once!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillFitzpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 53 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
4.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with flat screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing