We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and afordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“comfortable and afordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained. I had an ocean view with a balcony. I like to sit out there after diving and just relax. The bed was very firm. Much more than I care for. But tolerable. The decorations were well place and maintained. You can tell the staff takes pride in the appearance of their hotel. The pool area was large and accommodating. Very clean while I was there in spite of all the rain.
The staff was excellent. Everyone I dealt with was friendly and would do what they could to assist us.
One of my biggest concern was with the phone system. It worked occasionally at best.
The food was just ok. A lot of it was left overs and concocted into other dishes. They did not waste anything. Breakfast was by far the best meal. Lunch was ok. Dinner was fair. For the price paid and location I was willing to over look the food. We were in walking distance to town and other eateries.
The rooms were always kept clean and supplied. There would be different animals made from towels on our beds everyday. It became a treat to see what would be next.
Water coolers were place everywhere. We were encouraged to use reusable containers to reduce plastic waste. I like this idea but...I kept leaving my water bottle in places. LOL
I will consider this location on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello Don, thank you for such a very well descriptive review of yours. I'm glad you have shared your good vacation experience with all the Trip Advisor readers. We are so pleased that you have had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to serve you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    687
    360
    144
    101
See reviews for
342
544
89
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Cozumel and Resort as part of a dive package, and we would without question return again, whether as part of another package or on our own.

This is by no means a world-class resort, but for what it is and tries to be, it represents exceptional value. I found the entire staff to be friendly, cooperative, and accommodating, and the facilities are more than sufficient.

Again, this was a dive trip, and the diving experience permeates the entire resort. There is a dive shop and a dock right across the street -- there is even a tunnel underneath the street to the dive shop and dock -- and there are drying racks outside on the balcony of your room for all of your wet dive gear.

The rooms are simple but sufficient, and are comfortable, with free Wi-fi, and a safe in the room.

We were not part of an all-inclusive package, so I can offer no comment regarding the food, but I found the prices and service at both the pool bar and the lobby bar to be excellent, again with very friendly and accommodating staff.

The hotel’s website claims the largest swimming pool in Cozumel, and it is indeed a nice setting.

All-in-all, I have nothing negative whatsoever to say about this hotel. We found it to be an excellent value, and significantly better than I expected at its price-point.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 41-38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and for sharing your experience with us with all the Trip Advisor readers. We are so pleased that you have found us suitable for your diving vacation. We truly hope to have you with us in a near future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moberly, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just got back from a stay here in October for my first dive experience. This hotel is in an excellent location both for diving (through Dive Paradise) as well as walking into town. It was clean, and the staff was friendly and always accommodating. As a single traveler (I was there with a group of friends, but staying on my own), I always felt very safe and had no issues with the amenities at the hotel. The food was good (although not 5-star quality), there was always a nice selection. (Make sure if you're out at the grill by the pool that you ask them to make up some fresh guacamole for you...muy bueno !!!!!) All in all, I would most definitely recommend this hotel and for the price, you just can't beat it !

Room Tip: We were there in the off-season so traffic wasn't too bad, but I would suggest a room away from...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MOMom9701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you have had a wonderful diving vacation with us. Thank you for recommending us to all the Trip Advisor readers. We hope to have you with us in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cozumel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

near to downtown clean with a nice oceanview. people is friendly local people its nice. i hope u go cozumel soon.go snorkl if u want to eat with a razonable price go downtown where the local people eats. you ll spend half of your ll spend on the main avenue

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM ALBERTO P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello William, thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy that you have had a nice vacation with us. We truly hope to see you in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkin NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cozumel Oct.26-Nov.4 2013. You cant beat the price for what you get. The rooms are spacious & clean. Beds are a just a mattress on a concrete platform but I like a firm mattress. Only negative things I can say are that the bathroom shower in a tub had to be stepped up into and then a large step down to get out of it. The sink did not drain very well. Also it rained for two days while we were there and the hotel had several leaks in roof which made tile floors slippery. But even with all that my hubby and I were happy because the rooms & hallways were CLEAN!
Food & drinks were good. You can see they recycle leftover food and incorporate into different dishes. I always found something good to eat. Soups were fantastic and as you would expect the fruit was fresh.
The pool was clean and Jacuzzi was dirty when we arrived after the rain but they shocked it and it was clean and fresh within a day or two.
For the most part we went to Cozumel to dive. After a day of being on the boat the resort was relaxing and comfortable. The staff was nice, accommodating and very friendly willing to tolerate my limited attempts at Spanish as well.
My hubby had a hair cut and massage at the onsite spa. Service was higher priced than services offered elsewhere on island but he said the masseuse got out the knots. Next time we will skip that part.

Room Tip: One suggestion: when booking a room if you are diving is to get a balcony with iron bars. It is easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2rac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello, thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry about the rainy days you had but unfortunatelly there is nothing we can do about the weather. However, we truly appreciate your comments about our facilities since they will certainly help us to improve them. We hope to see you soon in a near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We've been to Hotel Cozumel three times now and plan on returning as soon as we can.

I agree with other posters that the rooms are basic, but they are clean and spacious. My only complaint about the room is that the balcony lights come on at night and you can not turn them off. Many times I would like to sit on our balcony in the evenings, but with the bright light on, the bugs come out and you feel like you are in a spotlight.

I like that the Hotel is close enough to town to walk, and also within just a short distance of a large supermarket.

It is nice to have Dive Paradise on the property, and we have used them often. They really cater to divers with lockers, rinse tanks and places to hang your wet gear to dry.

The food is plentiful and the staff are friendly. We recognize the same faces each time we go, and some have been there for many years. We look forward to returning in 2014.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room if you want a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ariana_bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello Arianna, thank you very much for your valuable and continued preference. We all at Hotel Cozumel & Resort are pleased that you enjoy us while diving and vacationing in Cozumel. Thank you for your kind review, We are looking forward to your visit on 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel Cozumel is a great low cost and clean place to stay while on a dive trip. Not a good place for a princess. Rooms are basic but clean. The restaurants are good and have a good variety. Staff was very polite and accommodating. The hotel is within walking distance of town and there is a great dive operator on site. We have stayed here twice and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozumelResortSales, Director of Sales at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello David, thank you for your valuable and continued preference. We appreciate your kind review, and look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing