We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We paid $650 for 7 nights in January with breakfast included. Hotel is nothing amazing but it's perfectly fine. It's clean, no complaints, just don't expect the four seasons. Pool is great, breakfast won't blow you away but it will definitely fill you up, location is perfect. All the dive ops will pick up at the dock at this hotel and it's a 15 minute walk into the heart of town. We ate out every lunch and dinner in town and didn't cheap out, total cost of hotel and food for 3 adults came to $150/night average. Less than half what the cheapest all inclusive would have cost us and we got to try some great restaurants. Only downside is there's no beach, just steps into the ocean. We were diving all day so we didn't care but if you want the beach this isn't the place for you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ironman224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    696
    369
    150
    103
See reviews for
354
552
90
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
176 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We come to Cozumel for dive vacations and have stayed at this property on multiple occasions. The lactation and piers are very convenient for diving activities - most, if not all, dive operations pick you up from the resort piers on their beachfront. The hotel is adequate, generally clean, has a nice pool area. The hotel management can be a little difficult to deal with if you don't have everything in writing but I suspect that this pertains to people who do not go with the "all inclusive" package for the most part. I would strongly advise against getting a room on the road side (I think they call this "ocean view") due to the noise of traffic going by almost constantly. The pool is surrounded by the hotel with most rooms having a pool view and shielded from the noise of the road (which is between the hotel and the beach). As far as the food services that go with the "all inclusive" package, I have never taken the deal because there are many good restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel and I prefer the variety of dining options that this provides. We sign up for the European plan which just includes breakfast. The breakfast offering is quite nice with an egg station, fresh fruit, cereals, breads, rolls, etc. The staff is helpful, efficient and quite friendly.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed 10 nights at the resort. The pool area was very nice with good seating and plenty of shade. The area at the Oceanside provided nice loungers but all were broken and would only lay flat which made it tough for reading. There are several entrances to the water there as will as a very large pier where the dive boats pick up passengers. The step areas at these entrances are very mossy and extremely slippery and dangerous so be warned. The Dive Paradise dive shop is located there for your convenience. Because of the location of the resort we went ahead and did the all inclusive after the first day. There are absolutely no restaurants convenient to the hotel so unless you want to walk a long way it is necessary to take a cab to town which is $8.00 each way. Plus the inconvenience of getting dressed and going for lunch and dinner. There are three eating areas. By the pool is a bar and fast food eating area. The food there was the same every day, pizza slices, chicken nuggets and a couple of other items in metal warming trays and they were luke warm at best. The cook would prepare you hamburgers and hot dogs, chicken or beef fajitas. There was also a large server with French fries that were a little greasy and cold. Also a selection of fruits and a salad or two. This menu did not vary and after several days became pretty monotonous. The bar was very good and the service excellent. This area was open from around 10 AM until into the evening. The main dining area is inside where the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet are served. The food was very average and became burdensome as the days went on. The wait staff was excellent and very good to deal with, drinks and wine were served with a smile. They took away used plates and such, we were very happy with the staff in the restaurant. The chef at breakfast will prepare omelets and eggs to order, that was good. Several days they had real sausage links but most of the time it was like cut up hot dogs. Lunch was the same every day also, the chef would have some items that they cooked to order like hamburgers and fajitas, that was it. The same for dinner, mostly chicken and pork, one night roast beef, pretty boring. Again, the staff was great. There is a buffet area by the ocean which I think they use when the weather is great, our weather was not. To get to the ocean you walk across the street or use a tunnel, not a long way. To sum up the food I would call it adequate but not outstanding.

Our room was in the main building on the third floor serviced by two elevators. Never had long waits for the elevator and our view of the pool area was pretty good. The room was kept very clean. My only complaint would be that the exhaust vent system for the bathroom did not work and it is nice to have odors removed after using the toilet. There was not an exhaust fan but that kind of built in type that never seem to work. Our bed was typical, very firm as there is no mattress. Pillows were pretty good. The AC was very good, a mini split type with pretty quiet operation.

It was almost impossible to change currency at the desk as they had no pesos, they sent me with a $10 bill to the poolside bar for change.

Forgot to mention that there is an inside bar that opens at 5PM until midnight or so where you can sit and watch TV, no food available there. Great service for drinks.

The television in the room had about 12 channels, only ABC in English and a movie channel in English, ours was an old style box tv but we noticed that some rooms had flat screens.

Room Tip: We were in the main building which meant that we did not have to go a long way across the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We are a highly traveled couple visiting Mexico 2-3 times per year.

Property:
The hotel appears to have been built in the early 70s but it is well kept up and staff was cleaning constantly during our stay. It’s a bit off the beaten path with not a lot in the immediate area. You will either be walking a fair bit or taking a cab ride ($8 to the square). The pool was large and clean. However there is virtually no waiter service at the pool. If you want a drink you will have to get it yourself. During our week I saw a waiter maybe 3 times working the pool area.

Beach:
They have a boat dock for the divers and there is not a “beach” in the sense of what you have in Cancun where it goes off into the surf. Instead, you have a sandy area with palm trees and lounge chairs, most of them broken, on a sea wall with steps leading into the sea. You can snorkel in the area but you won’t see a lot of fish, what little coral reef is there looks dead and you be constantly avoiding boat traffic coming into the dock. If you are looking for a sandy beach and/or snorkeling this is not the place for you. If you want a drink while lounging on the beach you will have to get up and get it yourself.

Food:
The buffets are mediocre bordering on totally sucking. The food was cold, not even warm. Most of the food was so bad we could not eat it and ended up walking into town for lunch and dinner. I ate at the buffet twice, once for breakfast and once for dinner. The dinner buffet was stone cold and I got an upset stomach that night. Lucky for me I packed some Pepto Bismol.

Room:
We had booked a King bed. However they gave us two twin beds. They moved us the next day into a room with a King bed but that meant we couldn’t unpack until the following day, and that really sucked. The rooms were fairly Spartan. The TV was an old style tube type with a handful of channels, 2 of which were in English and no English news channels. The TV reception was bad, every 5 seconds or so the TV picture would get all fuzzy etc. The AC was very noisy. Every time it turned on at night it would wake us both up. We didn’t get much sleep the first 3 nights.

The room staff was particularly good and kept the room spotless, but we needed extra pillows. It took 2 days to get the extra pillows. I called the reception desk 3 times. Eventually I had to visit the reception desk and wait in the lobby area for the pillows.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get a room next too or across from the ice machine. You will be up all night with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nucking F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The location of this hotel cant be beat. It is a safe 15 minute walk to the town center for shopping and restaurants. We didnt do all inclusive so we ate out every night. We walked around during the day and after dark and always felt safe. The hotel grounds are very nice as well. The pool is fantastic...largest pool on Cozumel!! Walk under the tunnel and over to the water side and they have a nice little man-made beach area that sits up off the water. They have provided a shallow lagoon for beginning snorkelers and if you are brave you can go right over the top of the ridge out in to the deep water. It is crystal clear and fabulous! The food was fine and water dispensers are provided. Their resort activities were a joke but at least they tried. We loved that it never was crowded and the pace was nice a slow..a great place for families. Milton at front desk was super friendly and helped me order pizza. We left our holiday vacation pleased with our hotel stay and would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 852laurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I found the hotel room, grounds and resturants to be "Very Clean". I could tell the staff took pride in their hotel and jobs. Everyone was very friendly, tip them well... they are worth it!
We didn't have issues with the WiFi like everyone else.. not sure what we did right. In the room all I had to do was go out on the patio, reconnect and it was fine. I was able to upload photos, email and FB without an issue. All I had was a Asus tablet, nothing fancy.
Entertainment and activity staff was very attentive and pleasent to be around. The beach club was very nice.
The food was average, I didn't mind seeing the same stuff. I re-purpose food for meals all the time at home.. I don't know why it would bother me on vacation. Somethings are better the 2nd time around! Have to say... The best Pasola I've ever had!
The hotel did a very nice New Years show, great food and music. We got party hats, horns and our grapes!
Pool area was beautiful!
*** Hotel didn't seem to ever be able to make change... bring smaller bills and their ATM was not working when we were there.***
Short walk to shops and people watching!
Over all an Excellent Value.

Room Tip: We were in pool view room 3rd floor on the Southeast side of the hotel. I had no issues getting con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubafreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We got it at a good price thanks to a discount that Hotels.com was offering. We were pleasantly surprised as we had seen mixed reviews. The reception was nice, the pool very clean and with a clever design, the room was big, air con worked perfectly. The beach has a small reef so it is great for snorkeling. I was extremely happy with the locker they provided us with at the beach. Very big so made our lives so much easier with the snorkeling gear, leaving money locked up while we were in the water, snorkeling trips, etc.

There was a safe in the room which was great and a balcony with view to the pool. The TV wasn't working properly (a tube was making a loud noise). Unfortunately they did not get to fix it/change it during our stay.

Room was cleaned daily and we found our beds made perfectly. Towels changed as requested.

Internet worked only closer to the window, not from the bed.

The bar was great. They had drinks made to order and you could choose which brand you wanted to use (excellent to avoid hangover headaches from cheap tequila). One of the waiters, Alfonso, was very good. He recommended a couple of drinks that were great.

Food was so so. Breakfast was ok but lunch and dinner are in need of serious improvement. The food did not taste good except the white fish, which seemed very fresh and thanks God, present in most of our meals. The dining room was freezing cold and the lighting is just terrible. Looked like a depressing cafeteria from the 60's. This would be the first thing I would suggest they revise. Lunch is served at the beach restaurant which has a beautiful view and plenty of shade.

Night entertainment was almost non-existent but considering 95% of guests are divers, it is understable that there is no incentive to work on this. Most of them are in bed by 8:00 PM and don't care for noise. Maybe a solution would be moving the entertainment to 6:00 PM?

I would vote for the lady on the speaker carrying on the morning activities at the beach to move somewhere else as it makes it impossible to relax.This was the only really annoying point.
Sun beds were always available and the shade provided by the palms is just brilliant. Some people complain that there is a road between the beach and the hotel. It didn't bother us. We used the under bridge once but most of the time we just crossed the road. Not a biggy.

We had a great time in Cozumel and the hotel provided a good base for exploring it. The Dive shop on the beach arranged our first snorkeling trip. The second one was arranged through a friend of someone from the entertainment team as the dive shop did not offer trips to El Cielo. Thanks to his help we got to see everything we wanted. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocota13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
4.0 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with flat screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing