We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to return but could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Shapleigh, Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good to return but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have been traveling to Cozumel for about twenty-five years now, and we have stayed in many different hotels and condos over that period, including Sol Caribe (now the Park Royal), Sol Melia, Occidental Grand, Casa Martillo and Hotel Cozumel ( used to be Fiesta Inn and then Las Brisas).
One of the reasons we keep returning to Hotel Cozumel is its location (easy walk into town) but more so, that the staff has been there for so many years - Rudy was the bellboy and now is the head of security; Cornelio and Israel are our two favorite waiters... They always go the extra mile for their customers. When we arrived nearly three weeks ago, we walked into the restaurant at the waterfront and Cornelio walked over and said, "just three days ago, I was thinking of you and wondering when I was going to see you again, and now, three days later, here you are!" When these people who enhance our visit remember us and call us by name, it is indeed a special experience. Every morning, except Mondays, Bertha prepares literally hundreds of orders of eggs and does it with such flair and skill that when she is not there, people just know they are not going to have eggs that day! Javier is a great host in the dining room and has a great sense of humor. Fernando is a treat as the head bellman - and if he isn't, he definitely SHOULD be
Now, down to how they could improve...
1) put floor lamps in the rooms, so if someone actually wants to read, they can see.
2) learn how to promote the resort - GIVE each person staying there one of the tee shirts which if ordered in bulk would cost very little but would do a HUGE service in promoting the facility
3) install some kind of solar blocking shades in the corridors in order to keep the heat down, and also reduce the need and cost for air conditioning
4) respect the majority of the clientele by enforcing QUIET TIME after 10:00 at night. If guests do not keep from getting falling down drunk and shouting profanities until 3:00 in the morning.
4) get rid of the fake flower arrangements on the tables in the dining room - totally NOT necessary
and they look cheap.
5) provide whatever the staff needs for uniforms - seeing frayed collars on the waiters' shirts is a disappointment and then to hear that they have not been given a new shirt for over 18 months - come on... Show you care for the people who make the hotel look good!
6) repair the steps at the ocean beach entry and install a NEW LADDER!!! This has gotten worse and more unsafe in the past three years. Trust me you do NOT want a lawsuit from someone falling and injuring themselves.
Would we go back??? Damned right! We are already making reservations for next year.

Room Tip: You pay extra for ocean view rooms but you also have to deal with the constant traffic 24/7. Take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LakeRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    686
    359
    143
    101
See reviews for
342
542
89
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Township, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights. Beds are firm but not bad. Hotel is very clean. Great pool. Clean and large so you don't get in someone's way. Pool volleyball at 4 every day. Dove with Paridise Divers. Good outfit but we dove on a different boat every day with different dive masters, but all were good. The food is adequate but not fancy.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Although clean and well maintained by "local standards" the Hotel and facilities where lack luster. Pool and beach are smaller than what photos would lead you to believe. You can checkout any of the broken 10 bikes if you want to find yourself stranded. The food on the all inclusive was ok on day one....but by day six I had to wonder if that was the same pan on retried beans I tried on day one. It was hard to tell since they offered the same unflavored food meal after meal. drinks where watered, As a matter of fact I notice the seals on all the "unopened" bottles of alcohol in the back bar had been broken....tells me they are not what they apper to.

I would not recommend this hotel for a weeks vacation.

Room Tip: Outside front rooms where quiet at night with no pool party noise, the trade off is the traffic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffyoungs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have used Hotel Cozumel and Resort for 10 years. Every year they have improved their services and accommodations. I am welcomed by name each time I arrive. I have taken groups to this facility for many years and the staff always go above and beyond to provide a wonderful experience. We are scuba divers who enjoy the pier, rinse stations and dive lockers provided! Thanks for a great time, year after year!

Room Tip: Ocean view and pool view are equally fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days and have no complaints really. The staff was very friendly and always available. The only bad thing was the HARD beds, but in reading other reviews, we knew we could ask for foam pads. We had 3 on one bed and 2 on the other. Bad backs beware. The pool was nice and there was nightly entertainment and day time events for the kids. Not a lot of kids there for our kids to play with. I think the majority of people do AI and we didn't do that. We did do the breakfast buffet one morning and it was around 350 pesos, good selection and good food we thought. Not really a problem getting a chair by the pool. The snorkeling across the street was great. Can't complain about the location at all. We walked into town every day and it was about a 15-20 minute walk. 2 grocery stores really close by as well, which was nice for liquor and snacks. I recommend bringing pesos by the way, better bang for the buck for sure. We would definitely go back. If you needed something, staff would bring it up to your room. You always saw people cleaning . We loved it!

Room Tip: We had a pool view on the 3rd floor, ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 800jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at Hotel Coz. Employees were friendly and we were NOT put through a time share sale when we arrived. The food was good. The shore diving and snorkeling were a great feature. Lots of sea life to see right next to the resort. The night shore dive even revealed octopus. Boat diving is available right from the pier attached to the hotel. Dive Paradise is on site and they are an excellent outfit for boat diving. Thanks to the maids who kept the room clean and neat throughout the week. The room was nice and the air worked well the whole time. The hotel does not have an actual beach (just a waterfront) but does have a nice large pool and activities are offered throughout the day and into the evening. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardy, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have stayed at Hotel Cozumel & Resort three times and our fourth will be this July. Excellent service, good food, huge pool, & Dive Paradise is right there on the property to satisfy all the diver's needs. For a 7 day stay, all meals, drinks, etc. throw in a couple dives per day all for around $900.00 plus airfare. We usually rent a Scooter for the week also (around $70 for the whole week). We love it!

Room Tip: Stay on the second or third floor, ocean side to watch the cruise ships come in every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vamike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing