We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay, still a great value - recommend this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Charlotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“2nd stay, still a great value - recommend this hotel!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is my second trip staying at Hotel Cozumel and Resort, and once again, it did not disappoint. On our next trip we are definitely going to stay here again!

To be clear, this isn't a high-end resort like El Presidente or the Iberostar, but if you are expecting this hotel to be that "fancy" at this price, you are setting yourself up for disappointment. With that said, this hotel continues to be a very decent, clean hotel at a great value and at a great location. The staff is always very friendly and ready to help. The lobby is nice, open, and clean. Our room was once again clean and good sized for 2 adults. We had a good-sized balcony that overlooked the main road in front of the hotel. We were concerned that it would be loud, but it wasn't as bad as feared. You could indeed hear traffic noise at times, but the view was nice, and last year when we overlooked the pool, we could hear pool noise, so I don't think it really matters one way or another. The balcony has both hooks and rails to hang stuff to dry (scuba gear, swim suits, etc.) The bath/shower is a heck of a step up and down (the bottom of the tub is easily 9" above floor level, so be careful!), and the bottom of the tub was peeling enamel a bit, but otherwise, the room was in good repair. The A/C unit will cool you to whatever level you like, from "meat locker" to "barely cool", and it's easy to adjust via a remote. My only other complaint about the room continues to be the mattress itself. Man, are they firm! Otherwise, the rooms are great, and the housekeeping service was excellent.

The pool area is nice, with lots of chairs and options for full sun, partial sun/shade, or full shade depending on what you want. This hotel does have the biggest pool on the island, so it rarely feels crowded, and there is a snack and drink bar right next to the pool. Waiters also roam the pool area during the day to get you drinks on request. Do note that because this is the biggest pool on the island, it appears that local schools sometimes use it for activities. In the past, we've seen swimming classes in the afternoon, and during our stay, on several days it looked like there were large numbers of young school kids at the pool for several hours in the morning for a field trip or something of the like. They were active in the pool and made noise, but I didn't notice them disrupting the guest all that much - the pool was just way more occupied than normal. I don't think this is a regular thing, but just be aware that this is possible.

Towels are made available to guest - you exchange a card for a towel (and they are pretty decent sized towels) when you arrive, and you can exchange for a clean towel at any time the pool activity center is open (8am to 6pm) - you may also be able to exchange at the front desk, but we never tried, we just planned to exchange during regular hours. At the end of the trip, you exchange your towel back for the card and return the card at checkout. If you do not, there will be a charge added to your bill for the towel. Trust me, they are nice towels, but not worth the $30 you'll be charged for making off with them.

There is also a safe in your room that is free to use during your stay. To be fair, this isn't a safe that's going to stop a really determined thief, but it is nice to put tablets, spare cash, phones, etc. in to keep yourself a little safer from petty theft. They aren't big enough for laptops, but we fit 2 tablets (kindle 10" or so and a 7" nook) along with various envelopes, passports, wallets, phones, etc. As with the towels, there's a fee if you don't return the key at the end of your stay, I think it's around $150. So hold on tight to your key!!

There is a tunnel under the street to the beach club/beach area/Dive Paradise shop and dock across the street. Use it whenever possible, crossing the street during a busy traffic time is an adventure to say the least. The beach area isn't great - nice white sand, and there are some chairs under palm trees. However, access into the ocean is a little tricky, as it requires the use of swim ladders. If you do get in, the snorkeling in the hotels lagoon is pretty nice. Watch out for boats, though, as the lagoon is shared with the Dive Paradise boat dock. This is very convenient if you are a diver, but not so much if you're trying to swim. Also, we tried to hang out at the beach one day, but there were two cruise ship activities going on at the same time, and there was so much yelling over microphones that I went back to the pool to hang out with the school kids, they were quieter! =0)

If you are a diver staying at this hotel, I recommend booking with Dive Paradise. It's a good operation, and they are super convenient, as the shop is right across the road and accessible from the tunnel.

We again did the all inclusive, and were not disappointed this year either. All inclusive includes as much food and beverage as you care to eat (including any sort of alcohol that you want - there may be exclusions to this, but we pretty much stuck to beer and your typical tropical mixed drinks) from 6:30am to 2:00am (locations vary during this time). The drinks are good, the food is decent and plentiful. It's not gourmet by any means, but it's perfect ok, filling food, and there's typically a good variety to choose from. NOTE: All inclusive DOES NOT INCLUDE TIPPING THE STAFF!!! Do make sure that you tip everyone, and try not to be too cheap about it. Many if not most of the staff make their living off tips, so pony up people! I'm shocked by the amount of people handing by the pool all day that didn't appear to tip the servers a single time. We tipped with every drink and at every meal, and I don't think I spent more than $15-20 a day in tips. Seriously, this is an inexpensive hotel, so don't be a complete cheapskate!

Finally, if you are interested in shopping or other activities, this hotel is an easy 15 minute walk to Punta Langosta (the mall at the end of the cruise ship dock near "downtown", and another 5 minutes beyond that to the town plaza. Lots of shopping to be had there. If you don't want to walk, it's a 5 minute taxi ride, will cost you $3 per person (don't forget to tip!). There are also several travel agents and rental desks that are staffed in the lobby during the day. We've never used any of them, but they appear to be reputable.

Hope you stay here, and if so, hope you enjoy it!

Room Tip: If you have a physical disability and will need to use the elevator regularly, make sure you ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    699
    371
    151
    104
See reviews for
357
554
90
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was there just for the day so I cannot rate the rooms, but Melinda, Gia, Emmanuel and Norberto gave some excellent Zumba classes, both in and out of the pool. They all have different styles which made for an exciting and varied dance combination. Best hotel Zumba classes ever!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Calle3Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We check in and I was a little disappointed in the lobby as it wasn't super nice. They did give us an arrival drink though. I travel to Cozumel pretty often, but I have only stayed at the Cozumel Palace and the Fiesta American a few times. I suppose I was expecting nearly as nice as Fiesta Americana, which is OK but nothing special. It wasn't that nice though.

The Hotel Cozumel seemed to be a little run down as far as a maintenance perspective, it also seemed to attract some lower end clientele. It also seemed like it was a resort for mostly people from the main island of Mexico.

The staff were pretty helpful, but I was just a little let down by the lobby. The room itself was a little nicer than the lobby, but one of our friends we were traveling with (on our reservation) was in a room that smelled horribly of smoke. They changed their room, but it still shouldn't have smelled that way. Our room had an ashtray but it didn't smell bad. Also in our room sound traveled really bad from the room next door of "adult noises" and it was REALLY LOUD AND BAD. I couldn't have imagined having a child in the room with us hearing that.

The dive shop personal were nice, but the dock and water entry areas for snorkeling were run down and pretty treacherous. It looked pretty bad. The dive staff was great and super friendly though and the dives were great.

The food was decent overall.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are smoking, and if you have noisy neighbors you are in bad shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We are a group 4 girls that have been going to Hotel Cozumel for 4 yrs. now . And sometimes we allow the hubby's to tag along . lol This is our home away fr. home . We are treat like family , and what ever we ask for is done . We did notice this yr. the staff was more relaxed and seemed happier . Probably due to the fact that Roberto had been let go. And we were very happy that he was. He was their only bad waiter . We have become friends with pretty much all the waiters .... Just to name a few ...Javier , Daniel , Israel, Cornelio , I know I am missing a bunch of names and I'm sorry for that ,we also meet some new waiters who were very good . All the staff are very friendly and polite . That is why we love Hotel Cozumel and why we can't wait to go back and see everyone . This yr. we were joined by 4 other girls , And of course just because we think it is the only place to go doesn't mean everyone does , and you are always little worried that the people you invite will not like it .
But the Hotel Cozumel did not disappoint them . They to thought it was a great Hotel and had a great time. And they will go again also .

Having said all the good things . There's only one thing I we would like to see. It is some music being played in the evening by the pool when there is nothing going on .It gets a little boring sitting there by the pool having a few drinks after supper . It doesn't have to be loud I know there are a lot of divers who have to get up early and want it quiet .... but some of us don't have to get up early. So maybe we could get some not so loud music and have it shut off at a decent hour.
Here hoping for next yr.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barneysteeves49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Wyoming
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just returned from a week in Cozumel staying at Hotel Cozumel. This was our first time staying there and will return on our next dive trip to Cozumel. From the time you arrive the staff is there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible the service is outstanding. We purchased the all inclusive package and did not regret that. The food was certainly not 5 star restaurant but it was good and there was always a number of choices at every meal to include a few Mexican dishes. It appeared that many of their customers are from the US and prepare the meals with that in mind. Bottom-line we did not get bored with the meals, even if we had there are number of restaurants with-in walking distance. As for the rooms nothing fancy but clean and the daily cleaning was outstanding another area we have only praise. The hotel grounds are always clean and with the amount of guests staying there along with cruise ship customers using it there is a large amount of traffic most every day. I can say I have stayed in hotels with better beds but the one in our room was just fine never had a problem getting a good night’s sleep. As for the entertainment we never attended any of the shows but the shows ended by 10pm and the grounds were quite all night providing for a restful environment. I recommend Hotel Cozumel to anyone who is looking for a good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zmanwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okc
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for four nights the week before easter. The hotel was very busy with locals on spring break, but you wouldn't have known it, The staff did great and I even saw Javier making drinks around the pool. Food was good as usual. Lines weren't long at all. Most of the locals were not divers so getting an early breakfast was never a problem. For the price I cant find a better deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okdiverokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have been to Hotel Cozumel many times but not normally with a group. We were hesitant to go w a group as we are pretty much about relaxing-diving (w Deep Blue), eating, read your book by the pool, a few drinks and in bed by 10 pm. But the price was right so we signed up. We arrived on Saturday 3/8 and checked in w Dive Paradise to dive the next day, 8 divers, 2 non-divers. We skipped the pier check-out dive- too tired although always a good idea. Weather was in the 80's most of the week with a mild breeze Saturday-Thursday.
In my opinion, Hotel Cozumel is a 3 star hotel w a big pool, across the street from the water. It is a great bargain for the all inclusive. There is a tunnel to the beach side, where the pier, dive shop, rinse tanks, drying racks and dive gear lockers, beach and lunch restaurant are located. You can get picked up by most dive operators on the pier. The service is good and we always bring a bunch of $1 bills to tip.
Contrary to some comments on the board, the food was pretty darn good this trip. All meals are buffet style w an omellete station at breakfast and a carving station at dinner. Lunch is at the restaurant by the pier. On different nights, there was roast turkey, roast pork, roast chicken, beef roast etc. There is a "pasta cooking station" for lack of a better term, where they make your pasta the way you want it. Plus, with a good package price, you don't feel guilty eating in town one or two nights. We are not gourmands. At the pool, waiters come around take your drink orders and there is a bar at the pool (not in the pool). There is a locking safe in the room. You can also walk into town and then walk or cab back. The only thumbs down is the beds- a little on the hard side!

Room Tip: The hotel is across the street from the water. Folks who upgraded to a water view room said there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpringLakeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,041 reviews
2.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
4.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cozumel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cozumel and Resort

Property: Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur, Km 1.7 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cozumel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous resort is one mile away from the newly renovated center square with shopping, local restaurants and bars, and just minutes from the colorful and abundant coral reefs that have made Cozumel one of the world's top snorkeling and diving destinations. The largest swimming pool in town with two diferent meal plan options: All inclusive and European plan. 180 newly remodeled air conditioned rooms in 3 story buildings, including 6 superior rooms with jacuzzi and 1 two bedrooms Master Suite, all with flat screen tv, Wi-Fi free access, direct dial, touch tone telephones, bottle of water on arrival, radio alarm clock, safety deposit box, iron-ironing board, hair dryer and toiletres, adjoining rooms availables. the 180 rooms are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cozumel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cozumel Cozumel
Hotel Cozumel Resort
Cozumel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing