We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mayan ruins in middle of Cozumel island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site

San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Mayan Ruins and Beach Time
Ranked #25 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although not as popular as Chichén Itzá, these ancient Mayan ruins are noteworthy in their own right, as this is the site where Mayan women paid tribute to the goddess of love and fertility.
Rutledge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mayan ruins in middle of Cozumel island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

These were the only Mayan ruins we saw during our trip due to various changes in plans. Having been to Greece last summer, there was a definite difference in looking at ruins there and in Cozumel. It's clear that there is less known about the Maya. The signs suggest what archeologists DO know, but it's vague. Still, Las Manitas (an altar with handprints) is pretty cool. Best part were the iguanas, who ranged from small to massive. It can be buggy here (and even more humid than along the coast), so wear/bring repellant. If you've seen Tulum and/or Chichen Itza, this site will seem truly tiny. If you're not going to those sites, at least you can get a small taste of the ancient Maya.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank musingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    464
    221
    39
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun morning side trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place to walk arround and see the Mayan ruins, probably the best on the island. The best wild life too if you like the big lizards, they were fun to watch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

As others have shared, these ruins are a bit out of the way. We were on the island for a week and had a rental car, so getting the San Gervasio was not a problem for us. We drove around the south end of the island and up the East coast, then to San Gervasio. We enjoyed the walk around the ruins. We did purchase the tour guide service, and Silvia was lively, knowledgeable, and articulate. She held our interest as well as adapting her presentation to our energy levels. She pointed out local vegetation and her dog, Maya, went with us on the hike. We had been advised to use bug spray prior to going, and we heeded the advice. Thankful we did. No problems with Mosquitoes for us! The iguanas were everywhere and we enjoyed getting to photograph them. We also enjoyed the historical aspect of the guided tour while we viewed the structures. Silvia gave us time to explore. And, she really made us feel welcomed by connecting with us on a personal level, especially the youngest member of our group. Thank you, Silvia.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Historical ruins but a bit out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I'm a bit of a history buff so a chance to visit these historic Mayan ruins was a real treat. My wife wasn't quite as excited but was good sport. The trip out there is a bit of a hassle so you'll either need a rental car or to book it as an excursion. It's not terribly cheap and they charge you an extra fee to take your video camera inside.

If you are intrigued by ruins or Mayan history then you'll really enjoy them. They are the most expansive and well preserved I've seen, aside from Chichen Itzen which is on a whole other scale.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank us2travellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very interesting and photogenic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We did a self-guided tour. There weren't too many signs explaining everything, so I wish we had purchased a guide for $7. Entrance fee was $9 total. We had to pay 2 people and pay separate entities. The cab ride there was $70 that we split among 4 people. It was a nice drive from the port.

The ruins themselves are very photogenic. You can explore everything and climb on lots of stuff. Our taxi driver said he'd be back in an hour. I wish that we would have asked him for more time to explore more.

There are many sites to explore and a lot of waling to view some of the sites towards the back of the area. Wear comfortable shoes.

There are iguanas, butterflies, and birds everywhere. Beautiful jungle walk. There were some mosquitoes biting in the very back of the park by the "Big House" but this is the only place we encountered mosquito.
Bathrooms were surprisingly very clean.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank thehippoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing