We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My wife and her families favorite breakfast spot”

Museo de la Isla de Cozumel
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.00*
and up
Cozumel History Walking Tour
Ranked #45 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small museum delineates the rich history of Cozumel: a must for first time visitors who want to become more familiar with the island's people and culture.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My wife and her families favorite breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I go to Cozumel to dive. My wife and in-laws do not so after i get on the dive boat each morning they walk to the el Museo as they call it. They have great food and service. I have been there with them a few times such as on the day we are to fly out and I cannot dive. I find that what they say is true.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank diver910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    86
    35
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
237 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum in Cozumel: Museo de la Isla de Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Although we had read that there was a museum in Cozumel, we are history buffs and did not expect to find much in a tourist town. While walking along the main street by the water, we saw the museum and decided to check it out. We were surprised at what an excellent museum it is and at all the artifacts they have as well as maps and explanations of the history, not only of Cozumel, but of the Maya and the Spanish invasion and conquest. (No point in being politically correct because that's what happened.) The signage is well done in English and Spanish and provided us with additional information that we had not seen in our previous studies of the Spanish conquests. Although I studied Maya Civilization in college, I learned a lot that has been discovered since then and got more specific geographical information with excellent maps. Photography is allowed, but as with any museum, it is not permitted, nor should you ever try to use flash as that degrades artifacts, particularly maps and organic objects.

One feature that we really liked what we initially thought were exhibits by local artists of their work in the lobby. However, after we asked the man at the ticket booth where we could find these artist's shops as we were interested in buying some of their work, he said the objects on display were for sale. We bought some of the objects as we had looked at many shops and found these objects to be much better quality and a good price compared to other shops in town. There is a restaurant up stairs that looks out over the water, but we didn't have time to eat nor drink there as we had stayed longer in the museum than we had planned. But in looking out, the view was very nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
705 reviews
308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Very Nice Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a nice little museum in what appears to be a former grand hotel with a huge staircase; bi-lingual throughout, nice local display on carnival when I visited, ship models, displays and information on the animals, reefs, and ecocycles, some history of the island, along with guns, canons, the usual. Well worth the modest admission. My only criticism is that the gift shop could have more English language books; what the island needs is a good couple of Mexican or local cook books in English and some local history, such as the Caste Wars. A real must see. I did not visit, but at least one US citizen that lives on the island recommended the restaurant on the roof, which was having a Valentine's day package when we were viasiting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
242 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Find in Downtown Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This museum was a real treat. It is located in the downtown area where the cruise ships line up and had a great exhibit of Mayan culture including as well as pinatas. It is fairly inexpensive yet has enough exhibits to interest children as well as adults.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel33871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good way to spend an hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Only 52 pesos, lots of cool things found in ship wrecks. The marine life section was dissapointing basically consisted of a poorly lit diorama of a reef. But all in all it was good for the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo de la Isla de Cozumel also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Museo de la Isla de Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing