We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colombia shallows”
Review of Columbia Reef

Columbia Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.99*
and up
Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs
Ranked #5 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Giant sea turtles and groupers await those with the courage (and the experience) to brave the fierce currents at this diving site.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Colombia shallows”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great for beginners. Quite clear and lots of rays -- yellow and sting -- and very little current. IT's a great shallow dive with a diversity of species.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    128
    30
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Enjoyed a Catamaran Sunset Cruise, and snorkeled the reef! As many times as we've been to Cozumel, this is our first time snorkeling here. It was a wonderful evening!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank along0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My Favorite Reef!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

While I love all of the reefs in Cozumel, Columbia Reef has stolen my heart. It is incredibly majestic and peaceful. The water clarity is usually pretty good here and we have seen more eagle rays here than anywhere else. During the dives, I have to remind myself to breathe as I take in the vastness of all the coral!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited this reef on our snorkeling tour with Chac Choc tours. It was beautiful and we saw a great variety of sealife. The guide pointed out things as we went along.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murphs122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to snorkel!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Columbia Reef is beautiful! Has lots of fish and a few turtles...but they are pretty spread out, so you might not see a whole lot of fish... but it's definitely worth the trip for the under water scenery!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbia Reef also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Columbia Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing