We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some changes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here many times over about 17 years. Been able to see how economy affects service and quality of the facility. There are some new front desk staff as well as new waitstaff in the restaurant. Took a little getting used to. We had three days of el Norte (north winds), really rattled the glass in the sliding doors to the balconies. I guess it was either rattling or blown out under the pressure of the wind.

Internet service is not consistent, especially in the rooms. Best is in the lobby, but the secure connections sometimes lose the signal. The open connections are usually solid, but not all the time, and it depends on what part of the public space you are in, and also if there's a storm. Cell signals may be variable depending on the weather.

After Wilma, the resort was completely redone inside. This included new bed linens and towels. Well, the pillows need to be replaced as they are getting quite hard; the towels have mostly lost their fluff.

The bellboys are still the mainstay of the reception in the hotel. They can usually supply you with coupons for discounts at local restaurants, or a free drink.

If you arrive much before 2PM, your room may not be ready if it has to be cleaned from a previous checkout. The 4PM check-in time is pretty much it. BUT, go hang out at the Palapa Bar or K8, have some nachos, a burger, a cerveza, and that should take away the pain of inconvenience. The bellboys will keep track of your luggage. Better yet, change your clothes in the rest-room and hit the pool (but not very hard 'cause it's not very deep).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Rick,

Warm greetings from Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort!

We would like to thank you for taking your time and share your comments, believe me your feedback is really appreciated, and we are taking notes of your pleasant recommendations. I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and really hope to see you again on Coral Princess to keep enjoying the beauty of Cozumel.

I look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards,
Jose Antonio Rico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Coral Princess. It is not too far from the pier, my husband and I walked since the weather was so great. Otherwise, it is around $6 in a taxi. The highlight of the resort is the pepe dive shop and snorkeling. We saw such pretty fishes and sting ray too. Frank at the dive shop is very friendly and flexible with plans. We were also very happy with Steve (I think that was his name) from the concierge services too. He got us great scooters and worked with our schedule. The day we planned to rent, it started pouring and Steve did not force the scooters on us, we did not even had to ask him. And got us the scooters the next day in a moment's notice. The food is average. I was a little disappointed with our breakfast experience. We were given red color bands saying we have free breakfast and then when we had break fast in the buffet, we were told that our band did not include it. We had to pay the difference which was like about 100 pesos for 2, which is not too expensive. But I would have preferred them tell us that we have only Coral Princess breakfast free and that we have to ask for it. The service was good I must say, some staff were very nice and there were a couple who were not so great. It was a great place for the price we paid and we were happy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquablue_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

I hope you are well. Thank you for taking the time and share the experience you had at our Resort. I am sharing as well your kind comments abour our services with all the team and our friends from Pepe Scuba Dive Shop.

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Coral Princess Hotel & Resort.

I look forward to seeing you soon!

Regards,
Jose Antonio Rico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

our Christmas holiday for 2013 was spent at the Coral Princess. Great room, easy peasy checkin process, and great staff! only downside.. our room, with an ocean view, overlooked the place where they put the band :( not so cool when you have to get some sleep for that early morning dive.. spoke the hotel manager and offered suggestions as to how he could rearrange the space so the sound would not go into the rooms but away from rooms. they took the advice and the next night, slept well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCurtis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor and share the experience you had at our Resort. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to seeing you soon on Coral Princess!

Kind Regards,
Jose Antonio Rico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Sit back and relax. The staff here is great and will help you in everything you need. Remember that things are a little slower here and treat it like a vacation should be. Several things were closed by the government. No pool bars and part of the beach area. Also the hot tub was still not working. The staff had to work double as nothing was close for them. Again great staff. We have been members for over 14 years and the only problem we hasd was with Angel in reservations. My empression was that he wanted us to use more of our vacation coupons to upgrade. He put us in a jungle view room and after several conversations with him he reluctantly moved us to an ocean view in the hotel side. No refrigator and after another conversation fimally had one mover to our room. We were staying for two weeks and thought he could have done much better. The excuse that there were no member studio rooms available was simply not true. Bless the staff as they made up for his attempt to make our trip unpleasant. Hopefully management has this type of problem fixed in the future.

Room Tip: verify ahead of time the view you will have. All the rooms are adequate but I was there to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear guest,

I hope you are well. First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor, it is for us an excellent tool to read all our guest comments. We apologize for the inconveniences encountered with the pool bars, it is a documentation update requirement, that's why we had to close these areas temporarily, but we are working on it and expect it to come to normality very soon!

I look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,
Jose Antonio Rico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My otherwise positive experience at Coral Princess Cozumel turned disastrous when I realized that all the money from my wallet was taken when my luggage was in the storage room of the hotel. My friend and I checked out of the hotel in the morning and gave our bags to be stored in the hotel storage room. We received our bags from storage later that day and took a ferry back to Playa del Carmen. On the ferry I discovered that my wallet, which had about $100 US dollars in cash that morning, was completely empty of cash.

I called the hotel as soon as the ferry arrived in Playa del Carmen and reported this incident to a hotel employee, Hector. He asked me to call back in 10 minutes. I did so, and he said that he spoke with the staff and that no one took my money and that there was nothing the hotel can do for me. I asked to speak with the manager and was told that the manager was in a 2 hour meeting. I called again in the evening and was told that the manager left for the day and that I should call the following day between 9am-6pm. I called the following day at around 11:30am and was told that the manager was not available. I was advised to send the manager an email, which I did and received no reply. At this point I am not holding out hope of getting my money back, but wanted to write this review to warn others who are considering staying at the Coral Princess Cozumel as both the robbery and management's handling of the situation are troublesome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Alex,

I hope you are well. First of all I would like to thank you for let us know about your problem, it is important to us give the best quality service to our guests and help them in every way we can. As our guest service staff told you before, you did not let your luggage in the hotel, we think you forgot it in other place. Also I would like you to know that in Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort we don't have any staff called HECTOR. We would like to keep helping you with this situation, but you need to give us the correct information, please. You did not let your luggage in the hotel and we don't have anybody in our staff called HECTOR.

Kind Regards,
Jose Antonio Rico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Coral Princess is an average hotel......pro's are great ocean view, and very large suite rooms w/balcony, decent price paid for room, close to airport and town ($5 taxi ride). The con's........horrible internet connection throughout the place.......needed to go to the lobby to get a connection, and met plenty other guests that had the same issue. The hotel seems to know about this, but does little to fix the issue (very hard to understand in this day and age of technology/computers/etc)........but I'm sure they have heard the same issue repeated to them thousands of times. Also some items in room are very worn (like rusty lamp shades).......although the bed was very nice (most important to us). Seems to be a place were many scuba folks stay, as the beach/pool front is very small (a few chairs, no beach walking, rocky entry to water), but boats are picking scuba people up morning and night each day. We only stayed here two days, before our departure back to the States, after staying in Coz for the previous week at a rented house south of town on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert5857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Roberto,

I hope you are well and thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor. We are sorry for the problems with the Wi-Fi, I would like you to know that we are fix this issue including more MB on the Wi-Fi, therefore, the next time you visit us you can enjoy the best internet in the island.

On behalf of Coral Princess Hotel & Resort wish you an excellent day!

Kind Regards,
José Antonio Rico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My family has been coming here since 1993. The people are what make this place special. You will never find a more genuine group of folks with smiles that are inoculating. I feel like we are visiting old friends when we come here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Tony,

I hope you are well. First of all I would like to thank you for your preference to us for all this years, you are part of the family of Coral Princess Hotel & Resort. Thanks for recommending us, I certainly know my colleagues will be equally pleased to know their efforts are making a memorable stay for you.

I look forward to seeing you soon. Wish you a wonderful day!

Kind Regards,
José Antonio Rico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,143 reviews
5.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
1.7 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
4.3 mi away
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort

Address: Carretera Costera Nte Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Nte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £78 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront resort located on the North side of Cozumel Island, just 10 minutes away from downtown. Hosting 148 bright and spacious rooms with wonderful landscapes, outlooking the beautiful Caribbean Sea or the exotic jungle. We are a Golf Inclusive Resort, our guests do not pay Green Fees at Cozumel Country Club. As we stand on top of coral reef formations, snorkeling and diving experiences are just one jump away. Prestigious Pepe Scuba Dive Shop is on-site, they offer instruction, certification, expeditions and gear rental. At our Restaurant and bars it's always a pleasure to savor Italian Chef Toni Parente's creations. Raúl and his team will alleviate all the tensions with their magical body therapies at Spa Coral. Our commitment with the community and the Planet makes us follow positive environmental practices and promote conservancy programs to reduce human impact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Princess Hotel Cozumel
Coral Princess Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing