We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Problems with Pool Bars” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Problems with Pool Bars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have been going to Coral Princess for about 15 years. The staff and water are fabulous, the greatest assets for the hotel. Recently i have noticied a few things change that have jeopordized the atmoshere. The "pool bars" not being open have really made a negative impact . During Happy Hour (one of my favorites) Guests always sat and shared Cozumel stories and had a chance to get to know each other. With the bars not open this did not occur. I visited in early March and was told the bars would be open in 2 weeks. I came back in April and still they were not open. They really need to figure out what is going on with this.

Room Tip: Always ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Katy,

Greetings from Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort. Regarding the closing bars issue, I would like you to inform you that due to a documentation update requirement regarding the functionality of some areas like pool bars, had to be closed temporarily, but you can still be receiving service from these consumption areas. Please be informed we are working on this situation to continue offering you an excellent quality service.

We thank you in advance for your understanding and hope we could welcome you again very soon at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort!

Kind Regards,
José Antonio Rico Cacillas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    371
    97
    38
    31
See reviews for
267
435
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I've been staying at the Coral Princess for over a decade. I've seen it go through some changes and upgrades, and they constantly strive to be the best place to stay in Cozumel. Staff is much friendlier than at some of the larger resorts, and you're not forced to do an all-inclusive package. The food there is very good - we eat there at least half our meals and don't tire of it. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Definitely stay in one of the ocean view rooms - the view is amazing! And if you're in Coz to dive or snorkel, Pepe's Dive Shop is on site so it couldn't be more convenient. Snorkeling right off the hotel beach is excellent - you'll see eels, rays, and tons of fish. All around great place to stay!

Room Tip: Definitely Ocean View rooms - if you want a kitchen the one bedroom suites are lovely and very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest,

Warm regards from Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort! Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor as well as recommending us. I am glad you enjoyed your vacations at our Resort.

I look forward to seeing you soon, and thanks again for your wonderful review!

Kind Regards,
José Antonio Rico Cacillas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Overall a good place to stay. Noticed a few discrepancies once we got checked in to the room. "Pool bar" show in pics has been out of service for a year, according to employees. No plans to refurbish. Miss-communication at checkout, paid for room through southwest.com, said we did not pay for room and owed regular, non discounted rate. Spent half hour sorting that out, missed ferry to Playa. I chalk it up to language barrier, no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Ryan,

Warm regards from Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to close bars, the hotel was ordered to close due to a 1988 federal law concerning presentation of an Ecological Impact Study for the building permits. To avoid a lengthy interaction, we have conducted and presented the ecological impact study to the appropiate authorities for their approval. This process is quite slow and is currently pending in the Mexico city Federal Courts. In the meantime we have been awarded the MARTI (International Ecological Certificate) proof of ecological sound business practice. The management apologizes for the unpredicted present inconvenience.

Regarding your booking through southwest, we are sorry for the inconveniences but according to our system we did not charge anything to southwest, only we asked for a guarantee stay, but we did not charge.

I look forward to seeing you soon

kind Regards
José Antonio Rico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The room was very clean...the view of the ocean from our balcony was awesome. The free breakfast was great...hot and fresh, not the typical "free" breakfast. This one was a full breakfast and was hot and fresh. The staff was t very very friendly. Alex and Pedro, the concierge's, were the best and had perfect recommendations. I'll stay there again.

Room Tip: top floor with the ocean view was an awesome view. worth the $20 per night upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billrthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest,

Warm regards from Cozumel Island. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor as well as recommending us. I am glad that you enjoyed your vacations with us at our Resort.

I look forward to seeing you soon on Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort!

Kind Regards,
José Antonio Rico Cacillas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent one week here for our Spring Break 2014. Rooms are nice, we had a one bedroom. Had a nice Oceanside view with patio. Our daughter slept on the couch, she thought the fold out bed wasn't very good so slept on couch which wasn't that comfortable but she lived. Kitchen wasn't very well equipped if you planned on cooking a lot of your meals compared to most timeshare units we have been in in the past. We only cooked breakfast so it was ok for that. Nice pool but was a little chillier than we would have liked. Hot tub wasn't working. No computer for public use. Could snorkel right off the property which was nice. Bring your own snorkel equipment the Dive shop didn't have snorkel equipment. Ate at the restaurant twice and it was good. Pedro at the activities desk was awesome. We had a rental car which I'm glad we had. You are a ways from the shopping area. We drove to the other side of the island on three of the days but everything closed at 6pm so if you want to eat dinner over there, go early. We liked Coconuts on other side. Booked a trip to Xcaret thru Pedro on mainland by Playa del Carman. Is worth going an all day place. Was a quiet place but I'm sure it depends on what time of year you go.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Lori,

Warm regards from Coral Princess! Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor as well as recommending us. Also I appreciate your feedback, it is really important to us to improve our service.

On the other hand, I would like you to know that Coral Princess follows a stantard about its Kitchen Articles as many hotels in Cozumel follow as well. The kitchen has: microwave oven, toaster, blender, pans, frying pans, fridge, water jug, past drainer & vegetable drainer, cutlery, can opener, ice tong, knives, chopping board, gloves / oven mitts, stove, crokery, dish drainer, washing up-liquid, freezer, coffe maker, salt shaker, and tea.

The hotel has two heated pools, and Pepe Scuba Dive Shop rent the snorkel gear for 10usd / 24hrs. If you had a problem to rent a snorkel gear, please send us an email and we'll check it out. We don't have public computers, but if you need to print a document or you need it for something important, please let us know, and you can use one of our desk computers. Remember that we have Free Wi-Fi at public areas.

Thanks again for comment and I hope to see you soon on this beautiful Resort!

Kind Regards,
José Antonio Rico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higden, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks here , had a great time . My room was very clean the entire staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make my stay great . The food was good and not over priced the free breakfast was very good each morning . The motel is very laid back . Pepes dive shop is there which was great . My bill was as quoted to me earlier in the year . I'm not a time share member but I had a very time there .

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank WW2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest,

Greetings from Cozumel island. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor as well as recommending us. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your vacations at our Resort.

I look forward to seeing you soon on this beautiful hotel.

Kind Regards,
José Antonio Rico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Will make this a factual review:
-Arrived yesterday at the hotel. Front desk girl gave us the wrong room. So we had to come downstairs, change in the Lobby bathroom and leave our bags. 1 hour later, we get our keys.
-Breakfast is supposed to be included and you need a bracelet that we were never given. So our super rude waiter Lorenzo tells me to hurry up bcs he is busy and has other tables to take care of. Had to ask 3 times for my coffee. Was given a disposable container of used jelly for my bread. Eew
-Pool bar is closed. Hot tub is also closed. Mind you this is Easter weekend and busy season.
- Hotel is def under staffed, because either at the restaurant, breakfast and front desk, they all look slammed and barely have time help you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleATL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO R, Gerente at Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Michelle,

Warm regards from Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort! I would like to thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor and for your feedback, it is really important for us to improve our service.

On behalf of Coral Princess please receive an apologize for the inconvenience with the wrong room, this never happen. I would like you to know that it is really important to us the bracelet to control the breakfast included and Coral Princess is proud to say that it's an Eco Friendly hotel, we use eco friendly containers for our jelly.

The hot tub and pool bars are temporarily closed due to a documentation update requirement regarding of their functionality, nevertheless you can still receiving service on this areas. Please be informed we are already working on this situation to continue offering you quality service as you deserve.

Our staff is the best in the island, you can read the previews comments on TripAdvisor, they are helpful and very friendly.

I sincerely hope you consider stay with us on your next vacation to Cozumel, so we can demonstrate you the level of service that we are known for.

Kind Regards,
José Antonio Rico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
5.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#8 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
6.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
2.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort

Property: Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Nte Km 2.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront resort located on the North side of Cozumel Island, just 10 minutes walking distance away from downtown. Hosting 148 bright and spacious rooms with wonderful landscapes, oceanfront or jungle outlook balconies, merge you into nature. As we stand on top of coral reef formations, snorkeling and diving experiences are just one jump away with famous Frank, Abdias and Carlos from Pepe Scuba's dive shop. Buenaventura Terrasse Restaurant will offer a delightful breakfast, El Cayuco Bar refresh your sunny days, while K8 Karaoke Bar will keep you busy for a while. If you want to pamper yourself, Raul's magical hands will alleviate your stress at Spa Coral. Eco-friendly activities and efforts bring us all closer to create a balanced and harmonic ambiance. We are well known for a kind and friendly staff who will make almost anything to show we care about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Princess Hotel And Resort
Coral Princess Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing