We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation At Unbelievable Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Vacation At Unbelievable Spot”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We found this hotel through TripAdvisor and were so glad we stayed here. The place was everything as described and more.

Clean, affordable hotel - best part is probably the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and several staff went out of their way to tell you about their families, learn your name, etc. It was also nice that there were always so many around to keep the property in great shape and serve guests. I say that because the hotel was practically empty, and while many properties would have cut back on the staff to save money, that clearly wasn't the case at Playa Azul.

The staff was also extremely helpful through some difficult problems. We lost our camera in a cab two days into vacation. They called the depot for us and within an hour, it was back in our hands. My wife also damaged her insulin pump and when needing medication, they promptly called a pharmacy for us and had the proper prescription dropped off - again, within an hour! I can't say enough about how helpful everyone was.

Property has a nice beach area, unlike many places in Cozumel, and if you walked down a bit further, you could go into a cove area with calmer water for some good snorkeling. We saw several varieties of fish even in water just past our knees.

Food was very good and even while trying several different things over the course of 10 days, we didn't have one bad meal in eating there for breakfast, lunch, dinner. The free breakfast always had a large variety of things - meats, fruits, cereal, etc. and was sometimes served buffet and other times, from the menu. Same high quality of food each time with great service - waiters constantly checking if you needed juice/coffee refills, etc.

Maids did a phenomenal job cleaning the rooms, things like AC and the TV worked fine, and the internet was pretty reliable.

I only had two small complaints about the trip:

1. The drinks were pretty high - if I remember correctly, $8 for mixed drinks/cocktails and $4.50 for a beer. I'd definitely consider the all-inclusive option if you plan on drinking even a little.

2. The other slightly annoying thing were the influx of cruise ship folks. The beach club next door welcomes them on many days and even though that area had an abundance of chairs and a restaurant/bar, many of them came over to the hotel to use that bar/restaurant along with the beach chairs. It was a bit of a letdown to go into your room after spending some time on an empty beach in the morning, and come back out to find several dozen folks there - many with pent up energy after spending several hours on a boat. While no one was out of control, they were a bit rowdier than the few hotel guests that were there.

The good part is that they generally were gone after an hour or two and things were 'back to normal.'

Other than that, this was the perfect vacation and if we end up in Cozumel again, we'd definitely not hesitate to stay here. Looking forward to hopefully another stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DondeEstaLaPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    178
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
161
291
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed for four days and it was a good place to stay. its only a couple of miles from the plaza (8 dollar cab ride). good breakfast buffet included with stay. Cozumel is a laid back place to enjoy the water and rest. A really good place to unwind away from the craziness of Cancun. THe service was above par at the hotel. My only complaint was that the AC wasnt cold enough, ut we acclimated to climate after a couple of days

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wearytraveleratlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Besides the snorkeling, the employees have been there forever and you can TRUST these people instead of wondering if your valuables will be safe or your credit card will get misused. This place does not have the "latest" and isn't the fanciest, but I've stayed at 9 others on Cozumel and the peninsula and this is the one I will return to. Very quiet, relaxing, laid back and the reef right out front (and next door to either side) will provide you all the pretty little sea creatures you could ever want. Loved it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This was our third trip to the Playa Azul, although it was booked for a wedding for the weekend. We had to start with a stay at the Melia and were anxious to get away from there and to the Playa Azul. I hate to move, so it says a lot that we were both so willing to go to that effort. The Melia is a typical all-inclusive--it is beautiful, but the people there are largely concerned with assuring they get their money's worth out of the free drinks. The Playa Azul is much more laid back and relaxing, and the water is much prettier. There is great snorkeling right off the beach, which does result in there being lots of coral (rocks) on the beach. Don't miss the huge moray eel that lives just north of the beach in front of the abandoned restaurant (?)--the structure with the thatched roof. The wifi was spotty--worked best on the balcony so if it is high priority for you, this could be a concern. Also, we found the room to get warm during the night, but we are from Houston and are very accustomed to a cool room at night. You definitely could leave the doors open (they are screened) but we are used to climate control and that is not an option for us. The staff is wonderful (the waiter recognized us from 2 years earlier), the breakfast is great, and free golf is a true bargain (yes, it's $30 pp for the cart, this is still a great bargain). We love it there and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank np111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The best recommendation we can give in that
we plan to go back. The wonderful staff make the place great!

It is located about 2 miles north of the city. It is super easy to drive
into town or cheap to get a taxi. The place is very clean and the people are quite friendly and helpful. We stayed in rooms 404 and 303. We moved from 404 which had two full beds to 303 which had a king size bed. If you like hard mattresses get the fulls. When I say hard, I mean hard, not firm. They are barely softer than a carpeted floor. The king was firm but definitely softer than the fulls. There were plenty of pillows in the room (6) and plenty of linens for the beds. There was a television but we did not use it. Beach towels were in the room. There's a $30.00 charge if you lose one according to the card with them. There is a room safe and it's free to use; just get the key and lock from the desk when you check in. The air conditioner in both rooms kept the room very cool although the unit in 404
was a bit noisy. Each room has a balcony with two plastic chairs and plastic table. It appears each room has an ocean view.

The pool is between two connected buildings. It is very warm and only three and a half feet deep. We used it only twice as we prefer the ocean. The ocean at the Playa Azul spot has two points of entry. In front of the pool there is some iron shore on the left and submerged rocky plateau on the right. The water is calm and quite clear. There is a raised sitting and bar area on one side and a small boat pier on the other. On the other side of the pier is the second entry point which is also rocky on the bottom. A raised sitting area is past that entry point. A restaurant sits behind that area. This area is used as the Playa Azul Beach Club. A very small number of cruise ship tourists day trip here. There's no more than a small bus full and it never feels crowded.

To the south of the Playa Azul property is an uninhabited beach. Past it is another small dock used by a Parasail and Jet ski outfit. Only twice while we were there did anyone use the jet skis. We have to say they were the quietest Jet skis we ever heard. This uninhabited
beach to the south had some iron shore as well as some rocks. It also had a gently sloping very nice sandy area to swim in. The sandy areas past the rocks in front of Playa Azul was too deep to stand in but this area the sand was much closer.

The people working at Playa Azul are their best assets. Everyone at
reception; Hernan, Salvador and Yassir speak Spanish and English very well. Everyone in the restaurant and bar speaks both languages too. The bar seemed a little pricey. 80 Pesos for an alcohol-free daiquiri. We bought our own beer and soda at the grocery and used a cooler at the beach. The restaurant staff graciously filled it with bagged ice each day we stayed at the beach.

Playa Azul provides an included breakfast. It was served buffet style every day but one and it was to order then because the hotel was not very busy that day. There were various fruits, breads, cereals available. There was coffee, orange juice, milk and water to drink. There were waffles, pancakes, omelets and eggs to order. There was bacon, sausage links, potato hash-brown wedges, tortillas with red sauce, onions and cream, each day. There were other variable dishes such as cheese quesadillas, mashed black beans, chicken with peppers and onions and a few other dishes rotated in. The breakfast was quite substantial for being included and we were quite happy
with it.

We ate at the beach club restaurant and hotel restaurant once each for
lunch. The prices at the beach club are better on some items. A hamburger at the hotel is 100 pesos and 85 at the beach club. We don' know if they are served the same. The food was simple for lunch. Good but not exceptional.

We did not have our kids with us but the staff was great with the kids that came through. They were packed on the weekend with locals and you never felt crowded on the beach or at the pool. We loved the place and the people and are hoping to return early next year.
Pictures: http://www.flickr.com/photos/thunderingherd/sets/72157626642776715/

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beau377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Playa Azul from April 22 to April 30 2011. Located north of the airport, it was an $8 cab ride to town. We did lunch on the beach which had a very nice menu and you could do a nice lunch for 2 for about $20. Dinner we went into town and found very nice resturants in Casa Mission, Hard Rock cafe, Charlos and Charlies and Palmerjas. The room was very clean, although the bed was firm for us. It was nice to have free internet. The staff was particularly helpful and very friendly. The facility is small, which we liked. Very quiet. The beach was small and a bit rocky going in , but we enjoyed the sun and snorkeling was good too, right off the beach. The included breakfast was very good with a variety of fresh fruits, toast, eggs, omeletts made to order, juices, yogurts, cereals etc....My wife took advantage of the Spa and I golfed on 2 days and went diving for 3 days. Staying at this hotel, you get unlimited daily golf for $30 cart fee. Best time to go for golf is 7am, catching breakfast and a cab with other golfers worked great. Cuise ship golfers start to arrive about 9:30 or 10. You could get in 36 holes by 2pm. It is a tight course, but very manageable although there is jungle off the fairway , so hit em straight! The diving was excellent and the Pro-Dive Staff was the best! Thanks to Chris, Joey, Richardo, Chrystal, Ivan and Marcos for some outstanding dives. The boat ride to the southern dive sites, which took about an hour from the dock. this was ok with me because we got to chat, go thru the dive plan, see the sites of San Miguel as we went by and the huge cruise ships as well. Overall a great trip, and looking forward to a return trip!

Room Tip: Go with the Ocean Front Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carlwoodland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Everyone in Cozumel knows Playa Azul for the quality location that it is. The staff is friendly and helpful. Thier lack of turnover speaks for the quality operation that it is. If you want a quiet get away that is not isolated but isn't a huge all inclusive. This is a fantastic spot!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KFettig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,083 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,711 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing