We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great time was had by all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Kelseyville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great time was had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My eldest daughter was recently married at Playa Azul. There were 30 of us at the resort, and the staff was able to warmly and efficiently handle out group. The entire event went smoothly. We stayed for 6 days. Playa Azul is wonderful - big enough to have every amenity we desired, yet small enough that we did not feel lost in a crowd. The food is FABULOUS!!! The spa is terrific, and the golfers among us very much enjoyed the golf course. The all-inclusive package is an absolute bargain, especially given that the food is top-notch, and drinks are included. Breakfasts are buffet-style with a chef at the ready for omelets, pancakes, waffles, etc. Lunches and dinners are ordered from an extensive menu and served by an absolutely marvelous staff. Our rooms were sparkling clean at check-in, and remained that way every single day. Beds were comfy; towels were thick and plentiful. The resort is beach-front, and the beach is clean and sandy. There's a snorkeling area adjacent to the resort with a great array of sea life, and equipment is available, included in the package price. The resort has a crystal-clear swimming pool, too. I didn't hear one single complaint the entire stay.

Room Tip: Many rooms are suites. I believe that every room has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juniper2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    173
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
148
282
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Playa Azul is a great hotel. It's not the Four Seasons - i.e. don't expect luxurious accommodations - but the rooms are very pretty and look authentically Mexican and they are clean and comfortable. The pillows are down and there are flat-screen tvs in the rooms plus each room has a balcony and ocean view. We did the all-inclusive plan, and it is a great deal. The food is wonderful and there is a wide variety of options on the two menus, and the drinks are good (fairly strong). The tortilla soup is wonderful. We were there with our 2-year-old daughter, and she had a great time. Everyone was very friendly to her, and she loved playing at the beach and with the turtles in the front of the hotel. The spa is nice also. The main reason we loved this hotel is that my husband is a golfer, and he thought the Cozumel Country Club had an excellent golf course (and he's a pretty discriminating golfer). He said the service there was excellent and the course was challenging, scenic, and in great condition. One piece of advice I would give is to tip people - even though the all-inclusive deal includes tips - even just a dollar or two a few times a day. The staff works very hard and they deserve a little something extra, and they really appreciate it! Also, try the Lobster House across the street - great food, neat atmosphere, and the BEST key lime pie we've ever had. We ate in town one night at a simply fantastic restaurant called La Cocay - I'd highly recommend it for the atmosphere (romantic yet family-friendly with a beautiful lighted garden) and the excellent food. We live in downtown Chicago and are used to great food, and the food at La Cocay rivals the best restaurants here. Do yourself a favor and choose this hotel, especially if you're a golfer! Yes, the pool isn't great (not heated and no hot tub), but who needs the pool when you have a beach with crystal-clear water right in front of you??

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angela062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Next door to the hotel (to the right as you face the ocean) is a beach club with excellent snorkeling opportunities. We didn't stay at the hotel this trip, but knew to come here for good drinks, food (awesome guac and killer salsa!) and a place to hang -- no need to worry our gear might disappear while we were out in the water. Snorkel toward the north with the current and the sea life will amaze you. And back at the beachclub the view is to die for. Only wish we had a camera to capture the sunset. Very memorable day!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HollistonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

A buddy and I spent Christmas week at the Playa ... it was his first visit to Cozumel, my second (although my first visit was 35 years ago so it was hardly the same island I remembered!) We checked other Cozumel hotel options carefully before booking, and were impressed by the reviews, pictures, ocean view rooms and all inclusive option offered by the Playa. As others have noted, the hotel is clean and comfortable, located right on the beach, and the views are spectacular. The food was particularly good, and those of us on the inclusive option could order from the 'regular' menu (not always the case at all inclusive resorts). The restaurant seemed to be open continually, with friendly service. This is not a hotel for the 'party crowd' (which is why we chose it) but the perfect place to relax, collect treasures on the beach, watch the ocean, and take in the sun either at the beach (bring water shoes!) or the pool. Fishing, golfing, para sailing, and snorkeling are also available. Can't wait for next Christmas!


.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This was our first visit and can say with all certainty you won't find a better place to stay in Cozumel. The hotel is clean, comfortable and right on the beach with access to many activities including sport fishing, diving and GOLF!! The staff is beyond gracious and attentive, service is top notch and despite the small hotel size you could not ask for more.

You can't miss by staying here and you will be pleasantly pampered.

Room Tip: the master suite is worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackbear1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundance, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

This was our 4th stay at Playa Azul, and we have not been disappointed yet. Everything is clean and comfortable, beautiful views, nice beach and great food. The best part about Playa Azul is the staff. Everyone there just goes above and beyond to make your stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osceola, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

This was our first stay on Cozumel; our 7th stay in Mexico. We have tried adults only AI, large AI, and now a small boutique hotel...Playa Azul.

Our vacations are usually driven by a need for warmth, sun, water and GOLF! We love to play golf early, enjoy the sun and water in the afternoon, have dinner and drinks, and then repeat. Playa Azul was an early choice due to the free golf and my only concern was that it wasn't AI. When I saw that they were offering an AI option, we took the chance and booked our trip for the end of Nov.-beginning of Dec.

Location: Loved being at north end of island. Close to town, but away from cruisers and ships.

Hotel and room (305) are showing some age and could do with some refreshing of paint and decor, but everything was always clean and the staff was always working hard to make it look better. And when you step out on your balcony, and look at the beautiful blue waters stretching out before you, you realize this is what you came for, not the room. Our biggest disappointment was that there were no mini-fridges in the room. The bed was firm but not too hard. The shower was small and a little dark, but the water pressure was good. If you are showering right after someone else, wait a little while so you are sure to get more hot water.

Pool: Some loungers were broken around the pool, but there was never a crowd, so you could always find one that wasn't. If you want a quiet, less windy place to get some sun, the pool area is a great place. Was only out there one day.

Beach area: The small beach area with an entrance into the water was a nice area to lay by a palapa and read or sun. The sound of the waves can easily put you to sleep. However, on windy days, the waves can be quite powerful coming in and you may have to move out of the "spray" zone. Wear water shoes if you plan on going in for a swim or snorkel. My preference was on the other side of the beach in front of the dining area and near the beach side bar. Less foot traffic here, and less wind and spray... and of course much closer to the beverage service!

Dining: Since we paid for the AI plan, we ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner here many days. Wonderful food, wonderful wait staff! They remembered our preferences in drinks (ex. -that I like a Coke in the AM), our food choices (the onioins on my quesidillas, the hot sauce for my hubby), and made us feel like we were in a bed and breakfast not a hotel. Breakfast buffets were great, and everything we tried of the lunch and dinner menus was delicious and cooked to order...much different that the big AI resorts we were used to in Mexico. We did dine out three times and loved each restaurant we chose. We had lobster and steak at the lobster house accross the street from the hotel. We ate the best Lime soup while being seranaded at Casa Mission. And we had a nice romantic and delicious dinner at La Cocay.

Taxis: We took taxis everywhere we went, and for awhile we thought everywhere we went would be $8usd, but when we went to Casa Mission it was $10usd. Otherwise from the hotel to golf, to airport, to downtown, all cost $8usd.

Excursions: We took a jeep tour of the island with about 10 jeeps. Couldn't snorkle at Chankanaab that day because of rough water. Saw the San Gevaiso ruins. Had the Tequila tour. Swam for a little while and then ate lunch on the East side of the island. Toured the eco park and lighthouse at Punta Sur. Long day...quite rushed. Can't imagine how rushed it would have been if we had been able to snorkel. We had quite a bit of fun nonetheless and it was a good way of seeing the island on our first trip here.

Shopping: We shopped several days downtown. Typical stuff. Stay off the waterfront and away from the piers if you want any authentic Cozumel experiences. Check labels because a lot of the stuff is made in China or India. Do go thru the Cozumel museum.

Golf: This was what we came for...one of the main reasons we stayed a Playa Azul. We golfed 4 times while there. The first 3 times, our green fees and rental clubs were free and we only had to pay $30usd pp for the cart. The last day we golfed we paid for cart and rental clubs ($45usd pp). I really hate the trek thru the airport with my clubs and paying the extra baggage fee, so we rented clubs this trip. Next time, I will take my own. The rental clubs are not in very good shape - bent, dented, messed up grips. Each day we got a different set - and even though I asked for ladies clubs, I golfed with men's clubs a couple of days. The course is beautiful and challenging, and loaded with all kinds of wildlife. I teed off with a croc sitting just a few feet away and didn't even realize he was there until after I hit my ball. I was startled the most by a charging wild pig making snapping sounds as he ran right at our cart. You will lose balls, lots of balls. I went thru at least 6 balls each time we played. Sometimes I could see my ball, but because of the crocs, I couldn't get to it. And the back nine is much more challenging than the front. Lots of mangrove swamps to hit over and lots of sloping fairways and greens. We enjoyed the challenge and even made a few great shots. We would have golfed more, but we wanted to see some other parts of the island during our trip. The staff at the country club was helpful enough when the course wasn't crowded, but when golf club members were there, it seemed we were ignored while they fawned over the members - no cold towels after a round, no help cleaning our shoes or clubs, no one to call a taxi for the trip back to the hotel.

Two important questions: Would we come back to this hotel? Would be do AI again here?
I think we would come back to this hotel simply because of the golf deal. We enjoyed the beach, the room, the sunset views, the attentive staff, the turtles out front, and the wonderful food. I don't know if we would do the AI again. Dinners out on the island are extremely cheap so we could afford to eat elsewhere. We did that anyway, even though we had AI. I think the part of the AI that we didn't like or understand had to do with drinks. I was always unsure just how much we could drink at the hotel. The literature said 2 drinks pp per meal. That would be 6 drinks a day...3 of those we had with our meals, leaving 3 more per day?? If we drank while sunning and then drank at the bar later, we could easily drink more than that. You had to have a credit card on file and any overages were charged to it. Long story short, we didn't drink much at the hotel this trip, just because we weren't sure how many we had already paid for...not unlimited drinks like most AI. Ultimately, I am not sure it was worth the extra $$$ we paid to get AI.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors ending with 01 are on the end of the building closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank traininggoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,718 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing